We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanliness next to....We don't care” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   7329 Garners Ferry Road, Columbia, SC 29209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cleanliness next to....We don't care”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The suite we booked was extremely spacious! It had a ceiling fan and was very clean. The kids liked the room a lot. There was a lot of noise all night long, the next morning we saw the reason, a basketball team was staying there, they looked like teenagers. A call to the front desk at 10:30 pm was met with a prompt "we will take care of it" which they did. Thank You! The part I cannot get over is Sunday morning on breakfast and checking out, we saw lots of debris in the hallway, common bathrooms etc. I'll take a clean room every time, and the room housekeeping staff did a fab job, no idea why the common areas were missed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRHIE, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to you all staying again. We've addressed the problem with the common area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    33
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
36
22
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Petoskey, MI
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to Florida. There were 4 adults and two teens. We had a two queen bed suite with a fold out couch. It was perfect for us, hey also had a great breakfast, pancakes, cinnamon rolls, biscuits and gravy, and more.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRHIE, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We would like to thank you for staying with us. We are glad that your family enjoyed your stay. We look forward to you all visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albemarle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at the holiday inn at two notch. My tv wasn't working so I called the front desk. Within minutes Steven showed up and repaired it quickly. I also asked for extra blankets, which he brought. Courteous and quick service!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRHIE, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We apologize that you had issues with your tv. Yet we are pleased that the problem was resolved immediately. We look forward to staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I book this hotel for myself and two aunts to attend a function at a nearby military base. We booked a suite and upon arrival inside the room I felt like I was in a cave. Although the suite was spacious, it was very dark in paint color, furniture and decor. Furniture in the suite was torn and well worn with stains and tears. The kitchen bar stools were about to fall apart, the floor was sticky and the remote controls (two total) had no batteries and the back to secure the batteries were missing. We were told by staff that this hotel was remodeled in the recent years but is used very frequently by military contract. Maybe they can use a little of that money and get some new furniture and lamps.

Room Tip: Suites are very large, face the front of the hotel but walls are thin and furniture is well worn and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRHIE, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and also for writing this review. We apologize that you were not fully satisfied with your stay here. We hope that you will consider staying with us again and may your next stay be more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I went to the front desk about a fridge that froze my milk and potato salad solid. A maintenance worker named Steven switched it out within an hour. He was very courteous and gave a very good impression of the hotel and their maintenance crew.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRHIE, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for writing this review. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We received a warm, friendly welcome from the front desk. We were very pleased with the cleanliness and size of our room. Decor is modern. The beds are comfortable and pillows amazing! The bathrooms don't have any ventilation. The walls are thin. The complimentary breakfast is better than some places and not as good as some others. There were eggs (made from powder?) link sausage, cereal, pancakes, biscuits and gravey...so a good selection but the quality had room for improvement. But, for our rate of $80 we thought it a decent value.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRHIE, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased that you were happy with our property. We look forward to you visiting again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

After a long day of travel it was pleasant to arrive at the HIE for an evening of rest. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was a pleasant surprise. Very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was limited in variety of choices. The location is close to many restaurants and other hotels. Access to I 77 was super easy.
One slight problem....we wanted a park to walk in and there is not one close by. Also, we discovered the windows do not open for fresh air.

Room Tip: We had the top floor for quiet. However, the windows do not open for fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRHIE, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We would like to thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson

Address: 7329 Garners Ferry Road, Columbia, SC 29209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Columbia hotel is surrounded by businesses and attractions. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Columbia-Fort Jackson, located 14 miles from Columbia Metropolitan Airport (CAE) and 5 miles from the CLB Amtrak Station, puts you only minutes away from the major business and culture districts of Columbia, SC. Business travelers lodging in this Columbia hotel are less than five miles from the Vista and Five Points business districts as well as the State Capitol. You'll find our Columbia hotel is one of the closest accommodations to both Fort Jackson and the University of South Carolina. Both the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center and the hotel's three meeting rooms are available for you to host an event while traveling. The area offers a vibrant cultural life. You can check out the art galleries in Five Points or relax at Finlay Park in the Vista near our Columbia hotel. Downtown Columbia hosts multiple art shows, free concerts, and cultural events throughout the year. You'll also find the peaceful Riverfront Park ,as well as Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Gardens within seven miles of the hotel. This Columbia hotel shows you true southern hospitality by offering amenities such as a 24-hour convenience store and an indoor, heated pool and whirlpool. You'll enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast bar and a 100% non-smoking hotel room when you stay at the Columbia, SC Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson
Holiday Inn Columbia
Holiday Inn Express Columbia
Columbia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.