We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn Columbia to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Columbia
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Rockland Rd, I-20 / Bush River Rd, Columbia, SC 29210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #30 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Aiken, South Carolina
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Mostly Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Beyond the bad first impression of the entryway sidewalk strewn with cigarette butts, the lobby and dining area of this Sleep was pleasant, bright, clean, and tasteful. Check in staff was friendly and professional. Small elevator had absolutely filthy carpet, but the room was very clean, spacious, and well appointed with a microwave, refrigerator, flat screen TV, and an easy chair in addition to the usual desk chair. Staff immediately replaced a broken bedside clock. The bed was a dream of comfortableness, but the pillows were small, lumpy, and inadequate. Free breakfast buffet in the morning was hot, fresh, and well stocked. Morning staff was again friendly and professional, handled check out speedily. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devin G, Manager at Sleep Inn Columbia, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Property AGM
Devin Glover
SC021
803-731-9999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    47
    15
    13
    6
See reviews for
41
29
35
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here for the second time last night while in town for my birthday. Located off of Bush River road by Interstate 20. Plenty of restaurants nearby within a very short drive. Very clean hotel, nice rooms and continental breakfast is served daily. Plenty of free parking spaces also. Bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devin G, Manager at Sleep Inn Columbia, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Good Morning

First, Let me say "HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY TO YOU". We value our guest and had we known it was your birthday we would upgraded you to one of our suite. Next year we would be more than happy to have you here for your big day. Thank you for completing our survey and providing us with feedback. Please stop thru again anytime

Devin Glover
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Good value, excellent service, bfast area could improve with some additional space, and additional health alternatives for the continental breakfast: yogurt, banana, etc.
I would hope the repairman checks the toilet in room 111, it needed shims. Very close to I 20, and I 26.
Yes, we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devin G, Manager at Sleep Inn Columbia, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Good Evening

Thank you for completing our survey and providing us with your feedback. I am thrilled we were able to meet your expectations. In the near future we will be making additions to breakfast so we hope you will stay with us again. I also would like to apologize for the maintenance concerns you experienced. We hope to see you again

Devin Glover
AGM @ Sleep Inn BushRiver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Older motel but has been kept up as much as possible, very accommodating, mostly clean and serviceable. Tammy, behind the desk, could not have been nicer or more helpful. Good breakfast and great chocolate chip cookies. We were in the area for a bridge tournament next door at the Hilton which was full when we decided to attend. The Sleep Inn was steps away, provided a good hot breakfast, rate was good, service excellent and was adequate in most ways. Only negatives were the small size, thin sheets and rather lax daily room cleanup which was left unfinished but taken taken care of when reminded.

Room Tip: Rooms are small and don't think one is better than the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devin G, Manager at Sleep Inn Columbia, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I decided to stay here because it was close and convient to downtown Columbia. The hotel staff is amazing sweet, especially Devin, and Tammy, and the breakfast staff. The hotel is quite and peaceful, and The staff is always willing to going above to meet my every need.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devin G, Manager at Sleep Inn Columbia, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Clean, family friendly, seems very safe, well lit parking areas, great hot breakfast choices, priced fairly, great friendly staff, especially the night staff. Located near Interstate 26 in Columbia, SC. We stayed here on our way to Jacksonville, FL for a carnival cruise.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devin G, Manager at Sleep Inn Columbia, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Ok, where do I start. Stayed here to save a few $$$ while visiting the Riverbanks Zoo.

First, the non-smoking room smelled like stale smoke and there was no remote. Got a replacement remote and hotel staff apologized for stale smoke smell. I got over that until a couple of roaches decided to stop by and say hello. That is not acceptable at all. At $100 a night, those are things that cannot be ignored. Overall a bad hotel and I would never stay there again!

Room Tip: A tip to find a good room i s to stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
Green Features: they are very environmentally friendly, they let roaches live for free.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnColumbia, General Manager at Sleep Inn Columbia, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. The top most floor of the hotel is a dedicated smoking floor. For the remaining floors we institute a stern $150 fine for smoking in non-smoking rooms. Also, like many of our counterparts in this region, we have a contract with pest control for regular inspection/remediation. We really appreciate your comment and time and hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sleep Inn Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Columbia

Address: 1901 Rockland Rd, I-20 / Bush River Rd, Columbia, SC 29210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Columbia
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off I-20 at Bush River Road, near I-26, the Sleep Inn Columbia places you right in the heart off all that is Columbia. You will find at your doorstep a wealth of different attractions such as Downtown Columbia, Riverbanks Zoo & Botanical Gardens, University of South Carolina, the home of the Gamecocks, and the town of Lexington and beautiful Lake Murray. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Sleep Inn Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Columbia Hotel Columbia
Columbia Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.