We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Tiger Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Clemson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Clemson to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Clemson
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Canoy Lane, Clemson, SC 29631   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Clemson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Tiger Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

There are loads of great, reasonably priced hotels in Clemson and extending farther out into Seneca and Anderson, but none compare to the quality, cleanliness, amenities, and overall experience you will find at the Courtyard Clemson. The room was spacious, nicely laid out, and decorated well. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is convenient to shopping and restaurants (many within walking distance) and just a short bus ride or drive to Clemson University. My only hesitation in recommending this hotel is that it will be tougher for me to book there in the future because once you stay there, you will most definitely want to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    33
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
15
5
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here for a campus visit. The hotel is clean and seems new. Overall, we would probably stay here again.

The pro: clean, safe, neat, easy to find, close to campus.

The could-be-better: The hot water from the sink never got hot. The shower did - is there some kind of safety? More annoying that really a problem: they recently discontinued free coffee in the lobby - after all, if you sell coffee, I'm sure nobody would care whether coffee was free or $2? I hope someone was paying attention: while I was in the lobby working on paperwork, I heard the explanation that they don't offer comp coffee anymore 10 times (literally). Management: this means 10 people saw the free coffee note in their room, got dressed, went to the lobby and were told they could buy coffee or make some in their room... I've already typed too much about this, but it was annoying.

Overall, the room is fine, especially for one person who isn't planning to grab breakfast at the hotel before starting their day (like all Courtyards, no hotel breakfast here).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Really nice rooms - bar in the lobby is open until 10pm - which is nice after traveling. Same area serves breakfast - be sure to get up early on busy weekend so that you do not have to wait too long. The gym is small but is enough for workout on the road. Has a small pool and fire pit area.
You will need to make reservations far in advance if you want to be there for a football game. Like as soon as the football schedule is released. Be aware - on busy weekends this hotel will be about $450 a night - crazy - but otherwise you will be in Greenville! You can walk from this hotel to the stadium if needed.

Room Tip: Pretty standard Courtyard with nicer finishings - higher floors are better for sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have stayed at this Marriott on more than one occasion. It is close to the Clemson campus as well as nearby shopping and restaurants. There is no breakfast included but the lobby had a nice little quick "restaurant" that also served drinks in the evening. If you are here during football season be prepared to pay a higher price and don't be surprised if it's booked.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Relatively new Courtyard. The staff is friendly and helpful when questioned about area restaurants and take- out, also offered shopping and sightseeing advice. The layout of the lobby and outdoor area was very relaxing well kept. Most importantly my room was immaculate. Everything was very well maintained, no curling wallpaper edges, lightswitch plates were very clean and not painted over (yes Marriott-we do notice these things),no carpet stains, no mildew in bathroom-the place was immaculate! One of my pet peeves is always poorly functioning AC but that was not an issue here at all, the AC couldn't have worked more perfectly. The outdoor pool and firepit area was so very nice to sit and have a glass of wine. I travel about 3 weeks a month for business. Someone is paying attention! Lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My family and I took a quick trip into the Upcountry to go hiking at Table Rock and Caesar's Head. We stopped at the Marriott Clemson overnight and were so glad we did. The best part was a very large glass shower with great water pressure. Just what we needed after a long, hot day of hiking. The staff were very friendly and helpful, suggesting places to eat dinner and giving us directions. They spoke to us each and every time we passed by the front desk. With 2 adults, a tween, and teen, the room had plenty of room for everyone; which is not usually the case.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardClemsonGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Clemson, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We certainly appreciate your feedback and I will pass your comments on to our staff. It is my hope that your stay with us has complimented your hiking experience and that you will return to stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Erin Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere Warm
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

It's football season so prices are super high and the rooms are all booked well in advance. The room seemed clean, except for the mold in the shower grout that grew while I stayed there for two nights. The bed was comfortable. The room small but enough. Overall, since I was expecting less, I was impressed. The "bar" in the lobby has a breakfast feel to it so even though it is the lobby, it's clean and comfortable. Starbucks products were available for purchase in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardClemsonGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Clemson, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take great pride in the cleanliness at this hotel as we have won the Marriott Cleanliness award three years in a row for having the cleanest Courtyard by Marriott in the world as rated by our guests. I have reviewed your comments with my housekeeping staff and hope that this was not an inconvenience to you. This Marriott sits about a mile and a half away from Clemson University's Death Valley and is in extreme demand for home football games. We do market research in other football markets and price our special events based upon our quality, proximity to the university, and demand. It is our goal for you to have the best possible experience for your football weekend and stay as close to the stadium as possible.

Best regards,
Erin Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Clemson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Clemson

Address: 201 Canoy Lane, Clemson, SC 29631
Location: United States > South Carolina > Clemson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Clemson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Clemson 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you travel near Clemson check in to the BRAND NEW Courtyard by Marriott located off of Hwy. 93 and US 123 , within a mile of Clemson University. Ideally situated between Atlanta and Greenville, the Clemson Courtyard adds vitality to the hotel experience with an impressive new lobby design. Comfortable & productive lounging & work areas are now indoor and out. Modern technology surrounds as you explore the lobby, meeting space & business library- featuring a state of the art, 52" touch screen "GoBoard" which displays up-to-date news headlines plus more! Eat. Drink. Connect. Enjoy breakfast, dinner and beverages onsite, at The Bistro, Starbucks and our full bar. As always, the Market also provides meal options, 24/7. Guest rooms and suites are comfortable and functional with plush bedding, separate work spaces with free wireless internet throughout the hotel. Be sure to take in popular sites such as Clemson University, Fort Hill, South Carolina Botanical Garden & Hanover House while in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Clemson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Clemson Hotel Clemson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Clemson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.