We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property and convenient for visit to Clemson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1381 Tiger Boulevard, Clemson, SC 29631   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Clemson
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent property and convenient for visit to Clemson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed at this hotel 1/23/14 and 1/24/14 while in town for college visits to Clemson and another university. The hotel is spotless. Check-in was fast and easy. The room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. There were soft and firm pillows on each bed.
The breakfast buffet had a lot of choices- pancakes, bacon, sausage, cereal, bagels, eggs, etc.
That area was kept very clean. The pool was out of service while we were there, but the fitness center was very nice. Would definitely stay here again. Its location is very convenient to Clemson and the downtown area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    23
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
9
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed here for a few nights while visiting Clemson University. The front desk was extremely helpful, the rooms were very clean, and the staff was attentive to our needs. The hotel itself is easy to miss when driving but it is very close to the University. I would recommend to a friend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Being that it is winter and there were no Clemson games. We basically had the hotel to ourselves. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Although somethings in the rooms need to be upgraded. I was expecting a little bit more for what I paid. Overall experience was ok nothing very bad or good just in between.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Dee B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note that you liked our hotel and friendly staff. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I apologize for any shortcomings you may have experienced in your room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stay here once or twice a month on a regular basis.The rooms are nicely decorated and super clean, quiet, and comfortable. The staff is always cordial, and as others have stated, Marty is the friendly face at the front desk who is always cheerful and greets me by name. He is a great resource for questions and recommendations about the area. I have stayed at several other hotels in Clemson in the same price range, but since finding Holiday Inn Express, it's now my preference,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Holiday Inn the last three years. We continued coming back because of the service and the friendly atmosphere created by the employees. Marty and Candice have always been great to us and accommodating. We highly recommend the Clemson Holiday Express.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I love how they incorporated Clemson University into the hotel decor and has every amenity you could want. The staff, especially Marty, are southern hospitality at its finest. Check in was quick and easy, which I was thankful for. I slept like a baby on the comfortable beds and will definitely stay here the next time I visit the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I recently stayed here for my third time and I was even more impressed than the past times. The front desk clerk, Marty, remembered my name and face and greeted me with a Welcome Back before I could set down my bags. I was upgraded to a suite and I was very pleased with the accomodations. Being a priority member does have its perks. The breakfast food could use some help. Although there is a variety, the eggs seemed just barely warm. I recommend this hotel to everyone! The indoor pool is a hit too!

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms near the ice machine. They can be noisy. The corner suites are large and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear notredamefan1965,

Thank you for submitting a review on our hotel, we appreciate your kind words about our hotel and staff. We also appreciate the feedback on breakfast, we will look into that and definitely make some improvements. Thanks again for taking the time to submit a review! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area

Address: 1381 Tiger Boulevard, Clemson, SC 29631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Clemson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Clemson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson, SC. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is conveniently located just one mile from Clemson University, home of the Clemson Tigers and the Brooks Center for the Performing Arts. This Clemson hotel is minutes from Lake Hartwell, Southern Wesleyan University, Fort Hill Plantation, the Oconee Nuclear Power Plant and the Blue Ridge Mountains. Additional points of interest include: Hanover House, South Carolina Botanical Garden, Ashtabula Plantation, Woodburn Plantation, and the T. Ed Garrison Livestock Arena. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is located in the heart of Clemson, recognized as one of four sites on the South Carolina National Heritage Corridor. Within four miles of the hotel, visitors will enjoy golfing, tennis, water skiing, racquetball, nature trails, jeep tours and white water rafting on the Chattanooga River. At the Holiday Inn Express & Suites we consider ourselves a step above the rest and enjoy accommodating specific needs for our guests to ensure a satisfying stay. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff will ensure that every stay to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel is convenient, easy and relaxing. We look forward to your next visit to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson, SC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Clemson - Univ Area

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.