We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still not action to clean up this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Cheraw

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Cheraw to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Cheraw
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   820 Market Street, Cheraw, SC 29520-2645   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Cheraw
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Still not action to clean up this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Every year for three years I have volunteered to work a fund raiser for Wounded Warriors just outside of Cheraw SC in the H. Cooper Black State Forest. Every year I have to stay in the Days Inn since the other hotel in Cheraw was non available. Last year I wrote the President of Days Inn complaining about the condition of one of his hotels. After several letters back and forth with photos of dead roaches, a swimming pool turned into swamp and other problems, I received a one night refund from management.

This year I tried the Days Inn again. The photo on the hotel's web site of a beautiful blue swimming pool is a lie. Last year I wrote about the swamp of a swimming pool that an alligator wouldn't swim in. To correct this, management has covered the pool with a tarp with some old concrete out door furniture on top to keep the tarp from blowing away.

Last year I complained about the juice machine being broken for two years with a faded hand written sign taped on the outside stating "out of order". To correct this, management has replaced the sign with a new hand written sign but still the machine is "out of order".

The room was cleaned with some very strong smelling deodorant that masked the smoke and musty smells but we had to open the door to get some fresh air into the room. Checking in to my room at night I didn't notice the rotting concert and metal stair well. My boot heal caught on some rusting metal causing me to almost fall face first into the side walk. I caught myself but twisted my ankle. The next morning I looked under the stair well to see a 1X4 inch gap of rotted stairs.

On the bright side, the free coffee was hot in the morning and the wifi internet worked well.

This hotel is an embarrassment to the Days Inn Hotel chain but they don't seem to care. With not much else in Cheraw the owners will probably continue to make money but never fix anything.

Room Tip: Try the Jameson Inn first but if they're booked, be warned about the Days Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    3
    8
    17
See reviews for
10
5
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

I should have trusted the poor reviews of this hotel. I always check out reviews before I book a hotel and understand that you cannot make everyone happy all of the time. Also, my parents had stayed here a few years ago and said that while it was an older motel it was not bad. Unfortunately, times change. I reserved 2 rooms for my family while visiting relatives in the area. My first clue was while walking to our rooms I noticed the large black stains on the back of the curtains in the rooms we passed. In general, our rooms were filthy with mold in the bathroom, peeling paint on the ceilings, broken door locks, very very loud airconditioning units, I could go on and on. The "breakfast" consisted of two kinds of cereal, english muffins, bread, small donuts, coffee and juice. I complained to Days Inn corporate about this establishment when we got home. It is unfortunate that they have let this motel get to this condition.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cheraw hotels

Simpsonville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Flys in the room, no remote control for the TV, the air conditioner was very noisy, and the dogs at the house next door barked ALL NIGHT!!!!! Remember: You get what you pay for!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheraw, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

The bathtub had embedded dirt in it with rings and filth. We could not take a shower during the whole stay. Family stayed in the area thank God. There were roaches in the room and the carpet was filthy as well. I would stay outside of the building before I would stay in that room again. First impressions are lasting impressions and word of mouth is a large part of any business. The manager was more concerned about getting his money than being clean safe and fair. The towels and washclothes were yellow and dingy and hard and dry. I would not have washed my car with one of them. I am very uspset with my stay and would not recommend that any of my family or friends stay here for the next family reunion. EEEEEWWWWHHH!!!

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

My reservation was for a queen, non-smoking room. They tried to give me a standard double bed in a tiny room. The door lock wouldn't work. So they had to move me to another room and I got a king room. It was okay. Their web site said they had an exercise room, but there wasn't one. So it was definitely less than advertised. But ended up being cheap and adequate. If that's what you want, it's okay. Just keep your expectations lower than what their web site suggests.

  • Liked — Price vs quality of room
  • Disliked — They didn't offer what the reservation promised or what the web site claimed they had.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't expect anything but a cheap, decent room.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Cheraw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Cheraw

Address: 820 Market Street, Cheraw, SC 29520-2645
Location: United States > South Carolina > Cheraw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Cheraw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Cheraw 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Cheraw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheraw Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Cheraw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.