We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decadent, homeade desserts with true Southern hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rivers Edge

Rivers Edge
162 2nd St, Cheraw, SC 29520-2728
843-537-1109
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Cheraw
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Decadent, homeade desserts with true Southern hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We were in town visiting family and they introduced us to the River's Edge. I've never been to a restaurant where the owners were so down to earth and genuine. The hospitality and service they embody is the kind you hope to receive in the South.

All of our lunches were delicious. My husband had the steak and collard greens while I had the chicken salad on a croissant. The sweet potato fries were a highlight as well. But, we had to save the best for last--desserts! Who could turn down the scrumptious looking tower display of every dessert imaginable? All made from scratch with love, cakes, pies, cookies and brownies abound. My husband had a generous slice of chocolate peanut butter cake while I tried the toasted coconut and caramel creamcheese pie. We loved my pie so much we bought one to take to friends we were visiting. The owners even sent us on our way with free cookie samples!

Go for a warm Southern welcome, great food and delicious desserts.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    11
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheraw, South Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Some of thebest steaks we have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

On Thur. and Fri. nights The Rivers Edge serves some of the best steaks you will ever get! The are cooked over an open charcoal flame. You do not find that just any where! Also on Fri. nights only they have some of the best ribs we have ever had. We took my family here while they were visiting us over the Christmas holiday. My brother from CA said he would have paid $50 for the premium ribeye if he would have had to! It is a 16 oz. ribeye with two sides and delicious homebaked rolls with honey butter for $18.99. We eat here often and it is always good!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stopped there last Friday. I had the country fried steak. My wife had chicken salad on croissant. Everything is homemade, tasty, and reasonably priced. Menu is Southern/American. We didn't have the salad bar so can't opine on that. The space was a furniture store when I was growing up there and they haven't done much to change that other than put the tables out so ambiance isn't great but very kid friendly...lots of room to spread out. We didn't have dessert but their cakes seem to be a specialty and looked good. Service was very friendly and quick.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful home-cooking, warm and friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We first discovered this little gem of a restaurant about eighteen months ago and eat there at least every two weeks. It is over an hour's drive from our home and we have taken friends and family with us each time and they love this place as much as we do. Located on a side street in Cheraw, SC, "the prettiest little town in Dixie," Rivers Edge is owned and operated by a Mennonite family, and the food is always fresh and delicious. All the breads are homemade - including the buttery croissants, which are incredible when stuffed with the cranberry-pecan chicken salad. Everything is homemade, actually, and it is hard to choose what to try, although the fork-tender pork chops, corn casserole and mashed potatoes and gravy tends to be the meal of choice most of the time for our family. The salad bar is incredibly fresh, and the potato salad, made with red potatoes and sour cream is the best ever. Friday night is steak night, and the ribeyes are grilled to tender perfection.
The dessert tray, loaded with at least a dozen varieties of cakes and pies, is brought around by friendly servers just before you push yourself away from the table, thinking you cannot possibly eat another bite. Whole cakes, pies, breads and casseroles are for sale as well. The service and atmosphere is just wonderful - the friendliest folks you would ever want to meet, always kind, always smiling. After dining at Rivers Edge, you will leave with a smile on your face as well! NOTE: Before making the drive, be aware this establishment is only open for lunch five days a week, and on Thursday and Friday nights.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.P.N.C.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“worth a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

I have eaten here a few times on my way to GA. The food is pretty good. It is a small town place with home style food. Different specials every day. The plates are about $7 each. They have some good and pretty desserts but a bit pricey. ( 3 of us -3 plate lunches, 1 drink , 3 pieces of cake-$43).We had porkchops and 2 veggies. It was good but not incredible. The decor is simple-homey. I noticed that a lot of locals eat there. If you wand a good, healthy meal -try it out. Keep in mind that the desserts are good but not cheap.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rivers Edge also viewed

 

Been to Rivers Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivers Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.