We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate - aside from location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Town & Country Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Town & Country Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Town & Country Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2008 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$15 in F&B Vouchers
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First rate - aside from location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is well outside the 'old town' of Charleston, so you can't walk anywhere interesting and there is no view except of the parking lot. :)

But if you are driving, and are looking for a really nice place to relax/sleep while touring Charleston during the day, this is actually first-rate. Everything is new as of December 2012.

I personally use a hotel as a place to rest up after a hard day of 'tourism', and don't care about the hotel itself as a destination. Fantastic bed, bathroom, bubbly tub, etc., all new.

Go here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our new hotel guestrooms and services. As you pointed out we are not located in downtown Charleston but we are a short 7-10 minute drive from downtown Charleston. In exchange for that short drive, we provide downtown amenities, services, and guestroom comfort for hundred of dollars less per night. As a result, our suburban location allows us to provide the total level of experience that we do for such a low price. Thanks again for your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future and continue to earn your business.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    167
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
170
347
29
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hotel had recently undergone renovations which were carefully thought out, and well-executed....with attention to details, and consideration for customer convenience! Our room & the public areas were very clean, and the staff was friendly & helpful. There is a very nice restaurant right off the lobby of the hotel -- a bit 'pricey', considering ambiance & location, but great food....& very nice to have close by after a busy day of sight-seeing & shopping in Charleston!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
The title of yoru review says everything that we would hope to hear from our guests..."Very Impressed." I also very much appreciate you pointing out that our renovations have been carefully thought out and well executed with attention to details and customer convenience.
If there is anything I can do for you in the future please let me know.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Va
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a really good hotel, the seafood buffet on a Friday night is awesome, and the breakfast buffet is very very good, a real cooked buffet and the link sausages are spectacular, wish I could buy them in the grocery store. There is also a shopping mall right next to the hotel, complete with liquor store.... don't be misled by the construction work going on out front...

Room Tip: Gave the spa an excellent rating because I had to, to get the review accepted. But didn't use th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thanks for your loyal business and for returning to see us! I am pleased that you enjoyed the Friday night seafood buffet and the gigantic breakfast buffet we serve in Trotters Restaurant here in the hotel. Also thanks for pointing out that while we are finishing up our $12,000,000 renovation we are making every effort not to disturb our valued guests.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folly Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I recently stayed at the Town & Country Inn & Suites in Charleston SC. I was greeted at the front desk with a warm smile and southern hospitality. The lobby was very attractive with Trotter's Restaurant welcoming diners just a few steps away from the reception desk. Upon entering my suite I noticed the pleasing color sheme and the cleaniness of the room. It had a "spa" feel to it. The attention to detail is obvious and everything was new. A small but welcome amenity was the closet light activated by opening the closet door. A safe was also provided to store my valuables. The comfortable chairs and foot stools beckoned me to sit and relax under the gently turning ceiling fan while browsing through the complimentary new and interesting local magazines on the nearby desk. While lounging in the chair I noticed the beautiful window treatments and the large flat screen television on the lovely furniture piece that would be welcome in any fine home. Pulling back the drapes I was treated to the view of the inviting courtyard pool area complete with cushioned lounge chairs. The bathroom was spotless and stocked with plush towels.
The glass enclosed shower with double shower heads was a treat after a day of travel and meetings. I loved the green accessories and complimentary high end bath amenities.
The bed and linens were extremely comfortable and provided me a sound night of sleep.
Although I didn't take advantage of the bathroom garden tub or the lovely pool area I sincerely will do so on my future stays at the Town & Country Inn & Suites in the beautiful city of Charleston SC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Wow! What a tremendous review of our new hotel! Thanks for taking the time to let us know how impressed you were. I am glad that you pointed out that our new suites have a "Spa" like feel to them and that the attention to detail was obvious in our new guestrooms.
If there is anything I can do for you in the future please let me know.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, USA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We knew the hotel was under construction but boy, pulling up in our car on a rainy, dark night, we didn't know what we might be getting ourselves in to! Front of hotel didn't have much lighting (perhaps because the exterior is under repair) and I thought maybe we had made a mistake. Especially because the hotel's website (what we used to book) was quite lacking for this day and age.

But when we got to our room, we were very happy and could see why other travellers wrote good reviews. The room was spacious, clean, very up-to-date, and comfortable.

Overall pros:
- nice room, great bathroom for a $100/night hotel
- friendly enough service
- within 10 minutes of downtown Charleston but far cheaper than downtown hotels
- near Piggly Wiggly grocery store
- great potential to look nice on outside too once construction is completed in early 2013
- cost low, and we got a voucher towards Trotters, their hotel restaurant

Cons:
- Trotter's breakfast was overly priced and not that great. Service not good. Cold pancakes. It's a buffet for $9.95/pp, which they didn't even tell us when we arrived. It was sort of assumed we knew what we needed to do, which we didn't! Would have been sorely disappointed if we hadn't had the voucher to cover part of the meal cost.

Overall, we'd go back and just avoid the restaurant! Panera is 4 minutes away.

Room Tip: There's really no view anywhere so it doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thanks so much for pointing out how happy you were and for being patient with our renovation to be completed by March 2013. I am also glad you felt our new guestrooms were spacious, clean, very up to date and comfortable. Our new website went live just after you booked so please re-visit our new website.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. The new rooms are spacious with the best bed I have found in my travels. The location is convienient to Historic Charleston -appx 10 min drive. The Trotters Restaurant offers great food at resonable prices. I will stay here again and know you will enjoy your stay as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are genuinly honored that you said we have "the best bed you have found in my travels" as we have gone to great lengths to make sure our new hotel guestrooms are supremely comfortable for our valued guests. Thanks also for your praise of our convenient location to downtown Charleston and our onsite restaurant, Trotters. Thanks also for saying that you would definitely stay with us again!
If there is anything I can do for you in the future please let me know at 843-329-3302.
Erin T. England - Director of Saler and Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was an amazing hotel! The comfort of the beds were outstanding! My girlfriends and I keep talking about how wonderful the comforter and the pillows were. I am even asking for an exact comforter and pillow for Christmas!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks for sharing your thoughts about the comfort of our beds, comforters, and pillows and that you were asking for them for Christmas!!! That is a great compliment indeed!
If there is anything I can do for you in the future please let me know at 843-329-3302.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Town & Country Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town & Country Inn and Suites

Address: 2008 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Town & Country Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completed in May 2013 a $12,000,000 total guestroom rebuild!! Guests will be blown away with the level of comfort and attention to detail in new The Town and Country Inn & Suites. Convenient onsite dining featuring locally renowned full service Trotters Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in our smoke-free hotel. Enjoy a lush outdoor pool and courtyard, extensive hot breakfast buffet with servers, free wired and wireless internet access and a modern meeting 6,500 square foot meeting facility. Wide variety of room types and suites available to accommodate every need including Family, Luxury, and Extended Stay Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Town & Country Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel Charleston
Town And Country Charleston
Charleston Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town & Country Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.