We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Meeting Street Inn

Save Saved
You added The Meeting Street Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Meeting Street Inn
173 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 44 Charleston B&B and Inns
Whitby, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very nice inn right in the heart of old downtown Charleston. Close to everything and right across from the market. Rooms are clean and rustic with 4 poster beds and comfy high mattress. Enjoyed the complimentary wine and cheese every afternoon. Breakfast is great with many fresh pastries and two hot dishes varying everyday. Front desk were helpful when needed.
A few rooms had private balconies as ours did #401. I think that #'s 301 and 201 would be the same. Ask when booking as it was very nice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    93
    23
    16
    5
See reviews for
54
157
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had only one night in Charleston but thoroughly loved this Inn. We usually stay in nationally known hotel chains but decided to try something different this time. From the time we checked in until the time we left, service/hospitality was impeccable. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. I had a question as to whether or not a particular restaurant was open on Sunday and the gentleman behind the desk (I forgot his name) offered to call them and also made a reservation for us. The Inn is located in the heart of the historic district next to City Market. Our room was clean and lovely with period furnishings, including a four poster bed. There is a $14 valet parking fee; their parking lot is about 2 blocks away from the Inn. We didn't have to walk to/from the parking lot; we were driven over in a golf cart. The wine and cheese reception at 5PM in the lobby was lovely, as was the deluxe continental breakfast. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend with my girlfriend. The perfect romantic getaway....the location is awesome and is within walking distance to everything in historic downtown Charleston. Rooms were clean and very comfortable but the best part is the staff...they are the epitome of Southern hospitality...if you stay there, ask for Darren...he is the best of an already top notch friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia Area
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and loved the convenient location on Meeting Street next to the market. The "period" rooms are very nice with high four-post beds and ours (like many) overlooked the courtyard. We thought the lighting in the room is a bit dark when you are dressing/changing clothes and have the blinds closed for privacy.
The breakfast was good with both hot and cold options ... we were especially impressed by the super-fresh pastries. We also enjoyed the evening drinks/snacks after a long day of walking the city. This was perfect timing for us to come back to the hotel to freshen up before a later dinner.
If you are looking for a hotel in a great location for a good price, The Meeting Street Inn is your place!
A tip.... if you are flying to Charleston, don't bother with a car and save $14/day for the valet parking. We combined this visit with a trip to Hilton Head and Savannah, but got the rental car on the day we left Charleston.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Beautiful rooms with wingback leather chairs in the sitting area. Beautiful canopy beds and old, dark wood floors. Love the decor. The courtyard is gorgeous, the jacuzzi is huge and just the right temp, the breakfast is delicious (especially when they have the spinach and bacon casserole). The wine and cheese reception is very nice (especially when they have the meatballs in Alfredo sauce). We stayed two nights and paid about $400. The staff was friendly. It reminds me of a b&b only larger, I would guess that they have about 100 rooms. They have palm trees in the courtyard and I just love the style of the buildings in charleston (like the meeting street inn), the buildings are sideways so you don't have all that road noise. The short end of the building is on the street. This is a great location, perfect for walking to the market and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Can't beat the location. Basically walk out the door and you are at the Market. Decent breakfast and a wine happy hour. Walk anywhere in the historic area. Our room was nice, but a little dark inside (Room 205) Had a little balcony. Atmosphere was great.

Room Tip: Our room was 205. It was a little dark. I imagine the same room on each floor would be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Recently spent five days in Charleston and location couldn't have been better! Half a block from the market and in the middle of the historic area. Breakfast and wine and hors d'oeuvre hour make the inn a good value, but the service seals the deal!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Meeting Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meeting Street Inn

Address: 173 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn in the center of historic Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your The Meeting Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meeting Street Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meeting Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.