We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In love with Charleston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Charleston Marriott to your Saves list
Charleston Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Lockwood Boulevard, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #40 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“In love with Charleston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Love this location, friendly professional staff, beautiful public spaces. You can't beat happy hour on the 3rd floor terrace. WOW, what a divine experience sipping a margarita with a good book and enjoying the sunset breezes. Carpet and wallpaper a little tired in the guest room but overall a very nice space.

Room Tip: Request high floor to maximize view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Room had usual policy requesting towels be hung if reuse is planned. I did so but they were removed and replaced anyway.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your visit...Our Aqua Terrace is a great spot this time of year. Thank you for sharing your experience and hope to see you again in the future...We have full refresh of our property planned to begin in November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    236
    120
    60
    26
See reviews for
140
219
27
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We went to Charleston for the weekend and loved this hotel. It was clean, the people were so nice, it was in a great location, and just fabulous! The pool is beautiful and they have lots of nice lounge areas. I've been to Charleston many times and this is by far the best hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for the nice comments and very happy you enjoyed your visit. Our pool area was freshly remodeled in spring of 2013 and our fitness center just received all new equipment. We will be remodeling the entire hotel this winter... Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The good: Lobby was clean and welcoming. Breakfast buffet was nice, and the service was fantastic. The pool was great, clean, and our daughter had a blast. Hotel staff helped us plan our quick stay to make the most of the short time. There's a shuttle that will take you from the hotel to Waterfront Park, however it's $6 per person (seems like that should be part of the hotel perk). For an in-city taxi, it's almost always $8.

The "Eh": The bed wasn't comfortable, the wallpaper was stained, and there was mold on the shower curtain. We're Marriott Rewards members, and booked a room for 3 people (it did say one king or two queens in the rate description). I called the day before check-in to request an early check in and 2 queens and we were told to call back the morning of. When I did so, they were sold out of queen rooms. They offered to add a rollaway, but that would have made the room impossible to move around in. We weren't very happy about that. Our view of the parking lot didn't help at all...

Overall: We likely wouldn't choose this location again, unless it was at a deep discount. It's too far from anyplace you'd want to spend time to make it worth it, unless you have a car.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel...we appreciate the feedback. We do offer a shuttle that is $6/pp roundtrip (all day) - taxis will cost you approximately $6-$8 each way.
Our hotel is located about 1.5 miles from historic district and we price ourselves significantly below hotels in downtown due to our location...plus we provide free parking!
Our hotel will be completing renovation of property beginning in November that will provide new rooms, lobby, restaurant and meeting space. Hope you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

this hotel has great views, wonderful service, but the food was awful! we were caught in some rather nasty weather and basically stayed at the hotel for cocktails until the weather permitted. unfortunately this never happened and we decided to stay put and eat at the hotel in one if the most awesome cities for fine cuisine! the restaurant was a major dissappointment, but the after dinner drinks in the lively bar helped tremendously. also, beds were very comfortable.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the ashley river.
See more room tips
Green Features: fun, upbeat bar crowd. service at front desk was exce
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments about your visit and my apologies for the poor experience in our restaurant. We do receive good reviews about our food quality and our restaurant/food service is ranked very high amongst Marriott Hotels. Please give us another opportunity in the future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

the room was comfortable with a view over the pool area. the pool itself was a great place to hang out, as was the adjacent courtyard with comfortable chairs. a BIG shoutout to Marcus Poinsett, the bellman, who took care of us on a daily basis: from getting us settled in our room, to greeting us warmly each day, to his lunch recommendation in the historic district (poogan's porch: try the fried green tomato BLT!). Marcus made a fine, comfortable stay even more terrific with his genuine hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for the great comments and so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. Marcus is a true "service ambassador" and enjoys assisting our customers. I will be sure to pass on your comments to him. Thank you for your business and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I recently stayed at this Marriott and the hotel is quite nice. I enjoyed the outdoor space and our room was very nice. We stayed on the concierge level and I was disappointed that the concierge lounge was closed all day on Saturday and did not open until 5 p.m. on sunday. Considering that we were only there for a weekend and were paying for the concierge service,

I was also disappointed in the service at the bar. The hotel had two seminars going on and the lounge/restuarant were both busy and they only had one bartender on duty. It was a bit of a wait for service and then it was not the friendliest of service. I understand that the bartender was probably overwhelmed, but someone should have anticipated that they might have needed additional staff with that number of people staying.

Room Tip: unless you are traveling during the week, don't pay for the concierge level service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments and I appreciate the candor about our concierge level. We do not open our lounge on weekends with the upgrade being the balconies with all those concierge level rooms.
We appreciate your business and hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Good hotel, clean room, good service. Convenient free shuttle every half hour to historic city center. Live music, full service restaurant. Stayed for 2 nights over Memorial Day using marriott rewards. Room was on 6th floor, ok view. Comfortable beds and spacious room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback...we appreciate it very much and glad you enjoyed the holiday weekend. Hope to see you again in future visits to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Address: 170 Lockwood Boulevard, Charleston, SC 29403
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern comfort at the finest hotel in Charleston, SC, Charleston Marriott. Our downtown Charleston hotel’s beautifully redesigned guest rooms and suites are coupled with excellent service and sophistication. Conveniently located on the Ashley River, we boast easy access to Charleston International Airport and many historic neighborhoods. All of our hotel's Charleston, SC, rooms are spacious, stylish, and alive with color and energy, and feature high-speed Internet access and shuttle service. Enjoy a sensory dining experience at Saffire Restaurant & Bar, serving innovative American-fusion cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Visit Aqua Terrace, a rooftop lounge offering cocktails with brilliant views of Ashley River. Relax in our landscaped courtyard or workout in our modern fitness center. Our accommodations measure up to the best hotels in downtown Charleston and feature 50,000 square feet of event space, ideal for social events, including unforgettable weddings and gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.