We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Rooms with Helpful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Charleston Marriott to your Saves list
Charleston Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Lockwood Boulevard, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #39 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable Rooms with Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

First, we went to the Marriott Courtyard since that's where we thought Marriott had us booked which is only a few blocks down from the Marriott. The hotel accommodated our early check in at noon to allow us to attend a wedding. Upon check in, the front desk changed our room to a waterfront room with a balcony since we are Marriott Rewards members. The room was quite nice with a large balcony and chairs overlooking the water. The bed was very comfortable. I would recommend changing the cable TV signal to HD since the room already had a flat screen HDTV. The pool area was nice, but not as nice as the one at the Courtyard since it looked directly over the water. The shuttle was handy, and charged us $6/person for daily service in the downtown historic district.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit to our hotel. I'm happy to hear you appreciated the service...we strive to be an excellent service hotel. We are also in process of upgrading our TV signal to HD and we just completed the renovation of our pool and courtyard areas...Hope to see you again in the future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    238
    120
    60
    26
See reviews for
140
221
27
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you stay at this hotel, try to get a room at the end. It overlooks the bay. I was here for a conference, so was trapped inside for many meals. The restaurants here are ok, but no more than that. If you can get away and taste some of the food for which the city is famous, do that. The service at the hotel was gracious and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel...we're glad you enjoyed your stay and our service was excellent...thank you and have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I went to Charleston and was attending a wedding and they reserved rooms at the Marriot for our party!
It's a very nice hotel and close to downtown a real nice walk but they have shuttle s all the time!
I liked the hotel very well with good overall service and hospitality!
A nd great beds!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel...sounds like you had a very enjoyable visit and wedding celebration went well. Have a great summer and hope to see you again at Marriott Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I recently stayed here for a professional conference. The facility is easy to get to, the rooms are ample, the staff is friendly and the food is good.

The view from the upper floors is incredible and the hotel is convenient to the historic district. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your visit to our hotel and your conference. I appreciate the kind words and will share with our staff. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Charleston Marriott as our daughter was looking at the College of Charleston. The rates were more reasonable than the hotels closer to the college. We liked the hotel. The staff was professional and friendly; the rooms were clean and updated, and the fitness center was fine. We also liked that the hotel is in walking distance of the downtown. In short, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind words about your recent visit. We are located just outside of the historic district and price ourselves accordingly... Thank you for being a customer of Marriott hotels and hope to see you for the next 4 years as part of your child's college travel plans.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a couple nights. The rooms are average rooms at best. Interior of room was dated and in need of refurbishment. Things didn't appear to be as clean as one would expect. The pillows were nearly none existent even though foam had been requested. Internet was very slow. The equipment in the gym was disgusting. Mold and rust over the machines. Didn't appear to be cleaned very often. Not up to your standard expectations of a Marriott hotel as seen through the eyes of a Lifetime Platinum member.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback about your stay...yes, our rooms are standard size (nothing over-sized) and we are planning to complete a rooms renovation in fall/winter 2013. I apologize for the gym equipment. Our fitness center is cleaned twice daily and has some rust spots due to moisture (no mold)...this equipment is used often and also is scheduled to be replaced this summer. Thank you for being a loyal Marriott customer and taking the time to give honest opinion...it only helps to make us better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I frequently stay in Marriott hotels, and this one is pretty average compared to the others I've stayed in. I was surprised at the lack of customer focus at the Starbucks, and the food quality in the premium lounge didn't meet the usual Marriott standards. Next time, I would try the Courtyard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I apologize for your disappointment with service at our "Daily Grind' coffee shop and our Concierge Lounge food quality...our food quality has been ranked very high amongst all Marriott hotels and we stay very busy with Marriott customers...I will be sure to share your comments with our Executive Chef.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Address: 170 Lockwood Boulevard, Charleston, SC 29403
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
#37 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern comfort at the finest hotel in Charleston, SC, Charleston Marriott. Our downtown Charleston hotel’s beautifully redesigned guest rooms and suites are coupled with excellent service and sophistication. Conveniently located on the Ashley River, we boast easy access to Charleston International Airport and many historic neighborhoods. All of our hotel's Charleston, SC, rooms are spacious, stylish, and alive with color and energy, and feature high-speed Internet access and shuttle service. Enjoy a sensory dining experience at Saffire Restaurant & Bar, serving innovative American-fusion cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Visit Aqua Terrace, a rooftop lounge offering cocktails with brilliant views of Ashley River. Relax in our landscaped courtyard or workout in our modern fitness center. Our accommodations measure up to the best hotels in downtown Charleston and feature 50,000 square feet of event space, ideal for social events, including unforgettable weddings and gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.