We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lobby and Bar. Rooms outdated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Charleston Marriott to your Saves list
Charleston Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Lockwood Boulevard, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #40 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Anderson, South Carolina, USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Lobby and Bar. Rooms outdated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food was good at the lobby bar. Breakfast was good but pricey. 37.00 for two buffets. Parking was bad so we valet. Valet was very good and fast. Rooms are small and the bathroom was a little dirty. I would stay again though. Oh bring your own pillow, theirs are horrible!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    236
    120
    60
    26
See reviews for
140
219
27
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed at this Marriott for 3 nights for business. Huge mistake. Like other reviewers have noted, the lobby is beautiful but once into the room it's very disappointing. Rooms are small, have no ventilation. I went to wipe off the large windows after showering and noticed black mold above the window that is growing due to the poor ventilation. The hallways smelled awful. The hotel is not consistent with what other Marriotts offer to those with frequent stay status. The computers In the concierge lounge would not even connect to the Internet to print boarding passes. If I had to do it over again, I would probably have stayed at the courtyard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampton, Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the Charleston Marriott for 6 nights. Part of the hotel is currently under construction (they are putting in a new pool and patio area) and even though we were on the 12th floor and could look out onto the city quite well, it still was a bit messy to view the construction scene below, but that's what happens when hotels do construction. I had requested a high floor and a river view (both sides of the hotel face either the river or the city) and we got one (the high floor) but not the other (although if we looked to the south out of our window, we could see the river). I have to highly compliment the staff at the hotel as they were all very nice and accommodating to us, especially the bell-hops. Nick and Clayton especially were wonderful as they drove our group back and forth between the hotel and the historic downtown district daily/nightly in the hotel's shuttle vans and were full of good tips on where to eat and where to go while visiting the downtown area. They were very friendly and fun and everyone in our (big) group had nothing but praise for the drivers/bell-hops. I also would like to thank one of the front-desk gals (I'm sorry I don't remember her name) as she helped my husband and I in the business office when one of their printers would not work to print out our boarding passes for our flight home.
One bad thing I have to say about this motel however, is the doors to the rooms had a lot to be desired. They seemed old and did not fit snug or correctly into the door frame, thus they were hard to close and lock at times. We also did not like the lighting in our bathroom as the lightbulbs were the pale, peachy kind and putting on makeup with that lighting was frustrating each day.
We had plenty of pillows on the beds though and the rest of the room was adequate for our needs. The lobby was pretty and as I said, the staff was the best part of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed here one night in the middle of the week at the end of January. I knew prior to booking that there were some renovations taking place (pool and patio), but that wasn't going to affect my stay. The hotel is beautiful, and so is the view across to the marina (which, is also a nice, simple, walk). I had breakfast at Sapphire, and it was delicious. The staff were all very friendly, as well. My very short stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

When we stayed at the Charleston Marriott we were treated like royalty by the staff especially Marcus Poinsett. We spent a lot of time traveling to and from different points of interest and Marcus would bend over backwards trying to get us where we wanted to go. He was always cheerful, gracious and fun. Nicholas was also very entertaining and helpful. They made our stay very enjoyable.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked our room at the Marriott for a weekend get-away to Charleston. When we arrived at the hotel we were very please. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel lobby was beautiful , as was the restaurant. They also had a great rooftop bar. However, when we arrived to our room an opened the door we were absolutely appalled! The room was extremely small. It was dirty and smelled of mildew. We did not feel comfortable there at all and for what we were paying there was no way we were going to stay the weekend. We called the front desk and told them our concerns and they let us check out with no charge. It seems that they spent more time and money updating the hotel and amenities than they did the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stay at a lot of Marriott properties and this one is on par. Unfortunately it's showing it's age. They are renovating the pool, so that it a plus. The rooms and meeting rooms are showing serous signs of wear (carpet). Bathroom was very small, so don't plan on sharing the mirror. Beds were up to par as well.

Now, for the best part. The bar. Great & friendly staff and the SWORDFISH is AWESOME! Get the three course meal and order the swordfish as your entree. For dessert choose the chocolate and chase it with a cappuccino. The bar/restaurant and friendly hotel staff make up for signs of wear.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Address: 170 Lockwood Boulevard, Charleston, SC 29403
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern comfort at the finest hotel in Charleston, SC, Charleston Marriott. Our downtown Charleston hotel’s beautifully redesigned guest rooms and suites are coupled with excellent service and sophistication. Conveniently located on the Ashley River, we boast easy access to Charleston International Airport and many historic neighborhoods. All of our hotel's Charleston, SC, rooms are spacious, stylish, and alive with color and energy, and feature high-speed Internet access and shuttle service. Enjoy a sensory dining experience at Saffire Restaurant & Bar, serving innovative American-fusion cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Visit Aqua Terrace, a rooftop lounge offering cocktails with brilliant views of Ashley River. Relax in our landscaped courtyard or workout in our modern fitness center. Our accommodations measure up to the best hotels in downtown Charleston and feature 50,000 square feet of event space, ideal for social events, including unforgettable weddings and gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.