We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Military Classic - management questionable but employees great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Charleston Marriott to your Saves list
Charleston Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Lockwood Boulevard, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #40 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Military Classic - management questionable but employees great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I had my issues with this hotel at first. This is the first Marriott property that told me no. My son's school was playing basketball at Citadel and they told us they were getting rooms for a special rate. The hotel told me at first that we could have the same rate as the school as soon as the school sent in a contract. After weeks of calling and calling I was told that the rate was only for the team. Usually when a company likes Marriott gives you incorrect info, they still honor what they originally told you. They didn't. I complained to Marriott HQ and they contacted the hotel. Well basically the manager didn't give me the rate or a decent rate. I went online and got a much lower rate (not the original rate the team got). The hotel staff provided excellent customer service.

Room Tip: All rooms I saw are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
progersCharlestonSC, General Manager at Charleston Marriott, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
I am sorry for the confusion, but to clarify the issue...The University basketball team staying at hotel contracted rooms and signed contract for a specific number of rooms they would be responsible for. In exchange for agreeing to pay for specific number of rooms, the hotel offers special group rate. Group rates are not available to general public...only available group. The basketball team contracted only for their coaches & players - and did not contract rooms for parents or students.
I apologize for the confusion, but this is typical of any groups reserving blocks of rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    236
    120
    60
    26
See reviews for
140
219
27
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed 5 nights, arriving late Xmas Day. Beautiful lobby area, featuring a wonderfully constructed gingerbread house. King room was clean and spacious, although the bathroom was small as compared to some Courtyards. It's an easy 10 minute drive to downtown attractions and the Visitors Center on Meeting Street (we rented a car at the airport), so if you need a location that is walking distance from downtown, choose elsewhere, but it was fine for us, being located outside the "hustle and bustle" with ample free self-parking. Our "stay for breakfast" rate included a very good hot buffet breakfast in including expertly prepared made to order omelettes with unusual ingredients. All in all, a fine choice for us.

Room Tip: Although the king rooms appear identical, some rooms have tub/showers while others have showers only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I recently spent 4 nights here and it was a very good experience. The lobby decor is beautiful and room was very nice and clean. The best thing about this hotel was the staff. In all of my travels, I don't think I've come across a nicer group of people. They are more than willing to help you out with anything you need (tour reservation, personal favorite restaurant recommendations, directions, taxis, helping remove stubborn tags off your luggage!). The only negative about this hotel is the location. Although in walking distance from downtown, it's not exactly in the heart of the city. There is a free shuttle that stops right outside the hotel however (DASH). The hotel provided free hot chocolate in the evenings and fruit infused water during the day which was a nice touch. I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Dated and rooms not clean. Food in restaurant limited and poor quality. Wings cold when we sent back, one less returned. Bar closes before midnight on new yeara eve. Too many nice places in town to experience poor service

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Don't stay here and then complain if you wanted a walk-around-town location -- this isn't it. For access to the city you can use Charleston's free trolley (Brittlebank Park trolley stop just below the hotel driveway) or buy a day ticket on the Marriott shuttle @ $6pp. Or drive into town and park, it wasn't difficult to find space even over the holidays. Marriott's in a very good hub location if you're driving elsewhere in the metro area or need to be nearby the Citadel. Bellman/doorman was the first staff member we met, he gave us a very warm welcome; checkin desk staff were friendly and efficient. Public areas pretty with Christmas displays and live plants. Retro lobby decor/architecture gives a first impression of a much earlier 20th-century-modern hotel, sorta '60s-70s though this was built in 1980. Typical Marriott guestroom looking eastward over the park & marina, nice sunrise/moonset views. Hotel could use improved ventilation, windows, drapes and nearby carpet frequently wet from condensation, bathroom fan was very loud but ineffective and looked as if it had never been cleaned. Shower doors frequently jammed, shower tiles mildewed. Elevators and hallway carpets a bit shabby. In-room wifi $10/noon-to-noon. One printer and two-out-of-three pcs in the biz center down off and on. Two self-service washers and two dryers on 2nd floor @ $1/load, very handy. Didn't use the bar or restaurant. Overall a good holiday in Charleston and a good location for what we were doing, but not up to Marriott standards.

Room Tip: high floor, check carpet, drapes, and bathroom for mildew
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We just check out from the Marriot at Charleston, SC, I was surprise about the condition of the room, the toilet was linking, so, the floor was always wet, and smelling bad. There was an empty bottle of something behing our pillow, the room had a humidity smell, the windows were linking and the carpet in that area was wet.
Very poor Gold Members Lounge.
We asked to several people at the front desk about events for the New Years Eve and no body was prepare with information.
Definitly very poor and not satisfied with the service neither the condition of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is my third visit to Charleston and each time we have stayed at the Marriott with good reason. The service is impeccable, the rooms clean, the beds comfortable. They have a consierge lounge at the penthouse floor, and the views from there while sipping a drink and watching the sun set were spectacular. Also, just a short drive to the historic downtown area, where the shopping was fun, and the restaurants were amazingly good.

We were 1 1/2 hours driving distance from the hotel when I suddenly remembered that we had left money in the room safe. I called, and the manager, Ed, assured me that he would send me a money order for the cash ASAP. And YES, we will certainly continue to stay there.!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Address: 170 Lockwood Boulevard, Charleston, SC 29403
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern comfort at the finest hotel in Charleston, SC, Charleston Marriott. Our downtown Charleston hotel’s beautifully redesigned guest rooms and suites are coupled with excellent service and sophistication. Conveniently located on the Ashley River, we boast easy access to Charleston International Airport and many historic neighborhoods. All of our hotel's Charleston, SC, rooms are spacious, stylish, and alive with color and energy, and feature high-speed Internet access and shuttle service. Enjoy a sensory dining experience at Saffire Restaurant & Bar, serving innovative American-fusion cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Visit Aqua Terrace, a rooftop lounge offering cocktails with brilliant views of Ashley River. Relax in our landscaped courtyard or workout in our modern fitness center. Our accommodations measure up to the best hotels in downtown Charleston and feature 50,000 square feet of event space, ideal for social events, including unforgettable weddings and gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.