We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Indigo Inn to your Saves list
Indigo Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Maiden Lane, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

this hotel has friendly staff, charming lobby and rooms; beautiful hidden courtyard with ample seating to enjoy plants, flowers and fountain and talk about our trip; queen room was very comfortable, sofa for seating, clean and nicely decorated; our bed was turned down with chocolate left for us; cocktail hour - lemonade, tea, wine, fruit and cheese, as well as crab dip available each afternoon; enjoyed relaxing in courtyard after exploring city; location of hotel is convenient to King St shopping, exploring architecture of Charleston and a lot of wonderful restaurants nearby; breakfast was also included with our stay - scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, fruit, yogurt and cereal, as well as juice and coffee were provided. Rather than take to our room, we enjoyed our morning meal in the beautiful courtyard. An extra fee required for parking but we paid it to have guaranteed parking if we decided to do any driving during our stay. It was worth it. This hotel is a fabulous value and a hidden gem! Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: our room on 2nd floor corner was quiet, overlooked parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you, Pamela L, for your review of the Indigo Inn's atmosphere and amenities, and of Charleston!!! We are pleased that you enjoyed the courtyard at different times of the day, and we look forward to your next visit when you visit Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    160
    33
    12
    6
See reviews for
103
256
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Indigo Inn was absolutely fantastic. Every staff member we met was friendlier than the next. We arrived before check-in and the folks at the front desk offered to watched our bags and gave us tons of sightseeing tips and recommendations. They had fantastic tips and directed us to a hole-in-the-wall locally sourced restaurant where my husband and I had the best crepe we have ever eaten. One day, we were chatting with the front desk staff about going to a restaurant for lunch and the gentleman offered to drive us in the hotel's golf cart. Southern hospitality is alive and well.

The room was lovely and really felt like home. It had all of the amenities of a modern hotel room, with the charm of B&B. There is a very pretty courtyard in the center of all the rooms with lots of foliage and a nice fountain. We enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast as well as cheese and wine that was offered daily in the early evenings. The rooms were clean and the maid service came every day; including a turn-down service, which is always a nice touch. There was coffee, iced tea, lemonade, and water available all day in the lobby, which was extremely helpful to come back to after a hot day walking around the city.

The location cannot be beat. It is right in the heart of historic Charleston, so everything is walkable. We flew in and did not rent a car, and it was no problem at all! The hotel is only about 30 minutes from the airport, so the cab ride back and forth was not too expensive (our only cab ride of the trip!) In addition to the open air market, which is basically steps away from the hotel, there was also a Farmer's Market just a few blocks away. We really enjoyed our time there and got some goodies to take home on the last day.

I highly, highly recommend the Indigo Inn to anyone who is traveling to Charleston. We were so sad to leave it, but we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of the Indigo Inn, and of Charleston!!! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and in Charleston. Thank you for the recommendation, and we will see you again on the next go-around!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My Husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Indigo Inn in June. We had taken a 5 day cruise and then 4 days of pure enjoyment in Charleston. The Indigo was the best fit for our stay!!! I had contacted the Indigo to see if it was possible to have an early check in. We were there about 10:30 AND our room was ready!! We would have been happy to have dropped our bags, BUT they were as good as their word- the room was open & ready for us!

This hotel is right where we wanted to be! PERFECT LOCATION! We were able to easily walk to where ever we wanted to go. The trolley does stop right in front of the Indigo if you needed a ride. We didn't use the trolley- but we thought about it- we enjoyed our walks. We sometimes wandered back to the hotel just to get an ice cold Lemonade or Ice tea and to sit in the court yard to decide what we wanted to do next.

The front desk was SO helpful!!! We often asked what they would suggest for dinner, lunch, or what to see. The front desk was great telling us what they would recommend. Hymann's is VERY CLOSE and we were given a free appetizer coupon from the front desk when they helped us call for reservations. SO appreciated and unexpected. (THANK YOU Indigo INN!) They also took care of us when we had to catch a very early flight- 6:00 AM flight out. The front desk asked if we needed anything to eat- they would have gotten something for us. Again a nice surprise!

Breakfast was so nice We enjoyed seeing what was for breakfast and every day there was something different. We also enjoyed the nightly wine & cheese reception. We enjoyed the selection of snacks and it was a nice way to unwind after a fun day of exploring. Again every night there was something different for us to try.

Our room was great! Yes, it was small. Bathroom was small.... BUT we really only slept there. It was a prefect place for us. Quiet! we were in a corner on the 2nd floor. We were close to the elevator- we rarely heard much noise. traffic noise was really rare. This was SO surprising since we were right off of a busy street.

I can't say enough good about the staff and the hotel. My husband said he would enjoy going back to Charleston and quickly added that it would be the Indigo inn. He told EVERYONE about how much he enjoyed the Indigo... he generally doesn't do that.... This was so much fun I would not hesitate booking this hotel.

Room Tip: We liked the 2nd floor you can enjoy seeing the courtyard and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
And we LOVED having you stay at the Indigo Inn, Gabe63!!! Thank you for your overall assessment of the property and of Charleston, and for your recommendation. We are honored that you enjoyed your time with us after your (5) day cruise, and we look forward to booking your next reservation when you choose to revisit Charleston!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My sister-in-law and I stayed in Cahrleston for 4 days last month and after much research, I chose to book the Indigo Inn. It was exactly the location I wanted, and was less expensive than many of the hotels located downtown. The staff at the hotel were very knowledgable and helpful in assisting us with planning our days to best advantage, as well as very warm and friendly, which made us feel at home right away. Both Todd and Brian were really great and deserve mention for their hospitality. The rooms were nice and comfortable. The bathrooms, however, were not user friendly. The sink and vanity were large, and split from the toilet and shower, which did facilitate 2 people getting ready at the same time. My beef was really with the toilet and shower room. It was so tiny that it was annoying. There was not really enough room to put the toiletry articles I needed to use, and the lighting was extremely poor. They need to get more light in there....not really such a difficult thing to do. Other than that, I would definitely recommend this place. Perfect location, welcoming lobby that always had nice cold drinks when we came in from a really hot day, and a wonderful staff. I was glad we had a room facing the courtyard, not the street, which could be noisy at times. All in all, good job Indigo Inn!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard on the 2nd or 3rd floor for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
We apologize, Robyn C, that you didn't have adequate space for your toiletries or lighting in the shower/toilet area, but we thank you for your feedback and recommendation, and we appreciate your constructive criticism!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

While planning precious vacation time, I did a lot of research on Charleston hotels. I initially bypassed Indigo's site because its facade seemed so plain and I wanted something that looked historic! Then I dug a little deeper and learned of the hotel being once a warehouse for the lucrative indigo industry. In reading nearly all the reviews, I'm struck by some folks who describe the hunt breakfast as being less than wonderful. I don't know what they normally eat, but my husband and I truly appreciated the variety and the free local paper which we enjoyed every morning in the blissful courtyard. Criticism of the lobby puzzles me: Who hangs out in the lobby? We thought it very intimate and welcoming after a day at the beach or taking in the beauty of downtown Charleston on foot, offering refreshing tea and lemonade. After dinner, we took many walks through the historic neighborhood and were amazed by the beauty of the architecture and attention to landscaping and flower boxes.Our room (on the 3rd floor) was very quiet and spacious enough. There was discreet turn-down service in the evening. Upon returning from our nightly walks, and seeing the familiar blue/green of the Indigo Inn, we said "We're home."

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
We feel privileged and honored that you found the Indigo Inn so welcoming, and we appreciate the fact that you did a thorough research of the property before making a commitment!!! Thank you for taking a chance, and we look forward to your return visits "home."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

All you could want to make your trip beautiful and smooth. Innkeepers know how to make you comfortable and to iron out the wrinkles in your schedule by making the right reservations, recommending parking options, and keeping you refreshed. My second year--planning for more.

Room Tip: With all the activities and the walking no need for fitness facilities or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We are so glad that you could join us again, Spoletovisitor, for another wonderful Spoleto season, and for a positive Indigo Inn experience. Looking forward to your future visits, and thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on a trip to the Southeast, Charleston being the most Southern stop. We stayed at two other B&B's as well as a chain hotel before the Indigo Inn, and my first impression was disappointing. The Indigo Inn could use some updating, especially the outdated front lobby. Our room was clean, but also dated and the bed was uncomfortably high --- I had to practically leap onto it. The Continental breakfast was adequate.
But what we did like was the courtyard --- a real perk to relax and sip on complimentary wine and other beverages offered in the late afternoon. Also, when I researched staying in Charleston I realized that accommodations can be very expensive, and while the Indigo Inn isn't cheap, it wasn't as pricey as other places I viewed -- and it was clean and in a decent location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
I am sorry that your stay at the Indigo Inn was less than perfect, Mary Beth G. We are in the process of renovating/updating our rooms, and we thank you for your feedback!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Address: 1 Maiden Lane, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.