We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charleston Charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indigo Inn

Save Saved
You added Indigo Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Indigo Inn
1 Maiden Lane, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Charleston Charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Absolutely wonderful! Southern hospitality at its finest! Perfectly located to enjoy downtown historic Charleston, this beautiful Inn holds many charms: from the amazing, friendly, welcoming staff who make you feel like family, complimentary wine/cheese and delicious boiled peanuts in the evenings, continental breakfasts in the beautiful garden courtyard each morning that often featured homemade items and quiet, clean elegantly decorated rooms! It is a perfect place to enjoy Charleston. The Market is about 1 block away, King Street and Meeting Street have wonderful shops, and restaurants and we even waked to Battery Park to enjoy the old architecture and amazing gardens. Great location! The only time we got in the car was to go to the beach, which was also an easy drive. It was a perfect stay at the perfect place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the Indigo Inn and of Charleston!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    124
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
77
191
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sitka, Alaska, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Vacationing in Charleston SC was a last minute decision. I usually plan summer trips months in advance. Determined to find the perfect place to stay, I devoted myself to my computer. My family an I have specific needs that had to be met, which made it difficult. The most important thing to me was that it had to be "PET FRIENDLY", an accommodate 4 people. Having 2 teenage boys, a frig was a must have. I had to keep the cost at a low, but my husband has very high standards. You see my dilemma? After looking at hotel after hotel...I decided to type in B&Bs. The Indigo Inn was on my screen, loving what I saw, I called the number. The Inn was beautifully nested in the heart of Historic Downtown Charleston, giving us access to everything by walking. The staff was very warm an welcoming, attending to our every need. Our room was amazing, beautifully decorated. The highlight of the trip for my boys was the spectacular breakfast that was served every morning. The courtyard was an Eden of green plants, sculptures and a magnificent water fountain. In the evening, complimentary wines were served with fine cheeses an crackers. Anytime of the day you had access to tea, lemonade, an coffee. The home away from home touches of this Inn made what was just a good trip to Charleston, into a "GREAT UNFORGETABLE FAMILY VACATION" , that my family will always remember. Thanks Indigo Inn. :) Lucinda Burchett

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
And thank you, Mrs Burchette. We are pleased that the Indigo Inn met your family's specifications, and that you consider this to be your "Home Away from Home." We consider our guests to be family!!! We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a great hotel. Welcoming staff, clean rooms, wine/cheese in the pm and continental breakfast included in reasonable rate. Perfect location and a central atrium to hang out. All the amenities were beyond the typical and different than the chain hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!!! Come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Recently stayed at the Indigo Inn to attend a family wedding. Great Location, staff is kind, courteous and informative! Will definitely plan on another visit when we are next in the city. From Brian, Ignatius, Jerica and Margaret, we were made to feel as though we were family! Breakfast and wine/cheese in the p.m. more than expected. Location is perfect - close to the market, some wonderful restaurants, the Gibbes Museum.....all you could ask for a thoroughly enjoyable stay. A definite value...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to meet your lodging needs!!! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at Indigo Inn this last weekend and absolutely loved it! I have never been anywhere so accommodating! From the offer to make our reservations (which saved me some money) to check-out time, the personnel there (especially Margaret and Jerica) were just wonderful. The breakfast was far beyond the typical continental deal with breakfast potatoes, ham and biscuits, sausages, etc. and the wine and cheese bar was fabulous every afternoon with potato salad one day, barbecue one day, etc. The room was beautifully decorated in period pieces -- we had four adults in one room and were fine . . . the bathroom is small, but that was OK -- there was plenty of space for clothes in drawers as well as the closet, so we did fine. I would suggest a power strip if you have lots of "gadgets" as we had to alternate plugs for cell phone charging, etc. due to the fact that we had four people and limited available plugs. The courtyard was peaceful and quiet each morning for our breakfast and we hit that area again every afternoon for the wine and cheese bar . . .at one point, we asked if they knew where we could buy an umbrella and they even loaned us one . . . talk about service with a smile. We loved the old keys used to unlock the doors and always felt entirely safe . . .the location was wonderful -- right across the street from Hyman's seafood (which I would not recommend), FIG, Sticky Fingers, Sweet CeCe's and very close to the market and the area to take carriage rides. We walked to everything for two days and then got our car out for the third day to go to areas away from downtown. We would definitely stay there again! Just really can't say anything negative other than wishing we had a pool or hot tub, but, this is an old inn and that would totally ruin the true experience of being in this type of lodging in the middle of Historic Charleston. Stay here, you'll enjoy it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your wonderfully thorough review of the Indigo Inn and of Charleston!!! Hope you can join us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I have thoroughly enjoyed my stay here! The rooms are comfortable and cozy, and the location is excellent for walking to different things. It's in the heart of all the shopping and sightseeing!! I especially loved the breakfast and adorable courtyard seating. Will be sad to leave it tomorrow. Will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your time in Charleston!!! We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This inn was just right for our needs. Here's the deal. We were looking for a reasonably priced inn that accommodates families -- ie, couples with children. And we didn't want to stay in a "hotel". The Indigo Inn was the perfect place for us. The location is fantastic as it is on Meeting Street close to Market. Everything is within walking distance, which is great considering parking is difficult in Charleston. Parking is easy at the Indigo Inn. The Inn has a nice courtyard, relaxing to sit down at the end of the day to have a glass of wine and a bit of cheese. The rooms are a bit tight but adequate. The fact that our room had two queen beds was just the ticket for us. In my research, it appears to me that finding an inn with 2 queen beds is very difficult. Most have one bed in a room. The other option was a hotel, which I did not want. The staff was very nice. Breakfast in the AM was also adequate -- ham biscuits, pastries, yogurt, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, coffee, OJ, fruit. This is a fit particularly if you need to have more than two people to a room. Finally, the cost was reasonable. I plan to return to the Indigo Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, and we look forward to seeing you again when you are in Charleston!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Address: 1 Maiden Lane, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.