We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indigo Inn

Save Saved
You added Indigo Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Indigo Inn
1 Maiden Lane, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Connersville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Indigo Inn has charm as well as a great location for walking to the market, shops and restaurants. The staff is excellent showing southern hospitality at its finest. The rooms are quaint with comfortable beds, and the courtyard is the perfect place for eating the delicious breakfast. There is a large parking lot as you enter from the cobblestone alley. We truly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: No pool or restaurant with the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback; we look forward to seeing you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    125
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
77
192
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Helena Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Lovely little inn conveniently located. Rooms are charming and clean, staff is courteous, the wine and cheese in the evenings and morning breakfast are added treats. On-site parking is another plus as is the lovely courtyard. This is the second time I've stayed there and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Looking forward to serving you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Great Charlestown feel, perfect location, staff was friendly and room clean and comfy. Parking on site was convenient, and breakfast in the mornings was simple and delicious.
The decor in the room is classic South Carolina chic, and it makes you feel right at home. The bed was comfortable. I loved the peaceful garden at the center of the hotel. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel and would absolutely go back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and for allowing us to meet your lodging needs. We look forward to your future visits!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Based on other Tripadvisor reviews, we chose to stay here for an overnight in Charleston, and we made the right decision. Off-season rates were great. There was complimentary parking, and an easy walk to the sites in this eminently walkable city. Plus, the inn had plenty of Charleston charm, with courteous staff and a large center courtyard featuring bistro tables and fountains quietly burbling. It being just after Christmas, a red poinsettia on each table was a thoughtful yet subtle touch. Our (quiet and clean) room had a four-poster bed and other quaint furnishings, plus a spacious, updated bathroom. You could help yourself to breakfast, included in the price of the room, in the lobby: warm biscuits, "homemade" blueberry coffee cake, fresh fruit, cereal, etc. We liked being able to walk to a fine dinner at Cru and stroll across the street to the rustic and delightful O'Hara and Flynn Wine Bar. We'd be happy to return to Indigo Inn on our next visit to Charleston.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We appreciate your candor and the decision you made to lodge with us!!! Looking forward to seeing you again when you visit Charleston. Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

First stay and even though I knew the Limehouse's have high standards, this was more than I expected. My new place to stay.
The front desk welcomes you and is prepared for your visit. If you like English inns it will be a wonderful reminder of that country.
The rooms are decorated to standards you'd expected in a top Charleston Hotel. Attention to every detail.
Wine and cheese in the evening and the crab salad is worth being greedy about.
Friendly and respectful staff throughout.
Having your bed prepared for the evening with lovely chocolate mints on your bedside table are added touched not expected.
Wonderful soaps, luxury towels. Very good shower. It's all wonderful

Room Tip: Rooms that face the court yard, which in itself is a aesthetic delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Indigo Inn with us!!! We are pleased that our facitily, amenities and staff exceeded your expectations, we look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very good hotel with great staff and location right in the thick of things in Charleston. Very nice courtyard and lobby is cozy (but a bit dated). Nice free wine in the eve and the free breakfast is decent. Rooms are good sized but need a bit of updating. Overall a great place to stay and very good value. VERY dog friendly place.

Room Tip: Room 103 is right next to the fountain so you get some nice ambiance and bit of noise canceling
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenwich ct
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

First time to Charleston, last time to Indigo Inn. We chose the Indigo because it was pet friendly. Lets start with postives. Great location , on site parking ( although you are charged for it) and pretty courtyard. Now to the negatives. If you are 'lucky' enough to find yourself on the ground floor expect to hear the elevator ALL the time, expect to hear people up and down the METAL stairs , and expect to hear people walking by your room constantly. Please note I'm from NYC and am accustom to noise . This was ridiculous . Priced as the 'luxury hotel ' it claims to be but in reality nothing more than a mediocre hotel .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that you were less than pleased with the location of your room Had I known, I would have offered you a room on the other side of the courtyard, away from the elevator and stairs; or I could have found other hotel/inn accommodations for you in the Charleston Historic District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Address: 1 Maiden Lane, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.