We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Maldon, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Riverview Holiday Inn is situated in a great part of the city, with beautiful views overlooking the river. It is only a short taxi ride to the main attractions and there is a free hotel shuttle for those more patient amongst us.
The rooms are very comfortable and clean although the number of TV channels was a bit more limited than other hotels I have experienced. That said, who wants to sit in their room anyway.
The top floor restaurant offers great views or the area, especially at night with the lights flickering off the water. The dinner menu is quite good, with a distinct local flavour. The breakfast is a little less impressive but was still enjoyable.
For the smokers amongst us, sitting outside for a quick puff is a great way to meet locals and other tourists with a knowledge of the area who can point out attractions you might otherwise miss.
I will happily stay there when back in Charleston.

Room Tip: Get one high up and facing back towards the city to make the most of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Mark H.,
Thank you so much for your business! You are correct the hotel is centrally located to Downtown, Folly Beach and West Ashley. The Free shuttle to Downtown makes traveling to an unfamiliar area a breeze not to mention the cost of parking Downtown. The panoramic views from the hotel are amazing, you can see all of Downtown, The Ashley River and sometimes dolphins playing the water. Thanks again we hope to see you real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    246
    126
    66
    43
See reviews for
157
236
35
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great view of the inter-coastal area from our room, at the pool and from the top floor restaurant. I enjoyed a delicious dinner and drink at the restaurant during my stay. Customer service was great and I would definitely stay here again. It is a bit dated but I choose to overlook that for the beauty of the views and conveniences of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear shellyga,
Thanks for staying with us! The views from the guest rooms, restaurant/bar and pool are mesmerizing especially after a long day sightseeing. Our delicious Southern cooking in the restaurant offers many different options for breakfast, lunch and dinner - not to mention all of the adult beverage options. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Riverview for a couples weekend - we were a little worried about staying outside of the city but were very happy with our stay! The hotel has a shuttle that runs during the day/evening to downtown Charleston and drops off near the market. This saved a lot on cab fare. Although it stopped running at 9:00pm and we had to catch a cab back to the hotel, the cab ride was only around $12-$15 each time. The room was also very clean but the bathroom was a little smaller than normal hotel rooms.

The hotel bar and restaurant was a nice place to have a drink and appetizer before heading into the city. It has and absolutley GORGEOUS view of the river and the city. Although there was no continental breakfast (You could eat brunch in the restaurant) there was complementary coffee each morning, and there is a Waffle House next door.
Overall, we had a good stay.

Room Tip: Request a riverview room if possible - the views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear MadisonB.,
Thanks for the wonderful comments! Glad you enjoyed the Free shuttle to Downtown it starts at 7:30 am until 9:30 pm and the shuttle leaves the hotel every 2 hours on the half hour. The views from the restaurant /bar are GORGEOUS it’s a great place to meet for cocktails and appetizers before heading downtown. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

The only hotel on our trip of 11 different hotels that wouldn't let us check in early
Hotel had its own bus that took you in to Charleston which was an absolute charming place to visit we loved it
Had a great look through all the market which is huge and
we watched a cruise ship leave lol

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear netty70,
Please accept my apology that we were not able to check you in earlier than our normal time. Our hotel is always extremely busy and the staff does it’s best to accommodate every guest need in the future please contact the Front Desk prior to check-in so we can exceed you expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Good location, free shuttle to downtown every 2 hours to and from. Great coffee in the morning. Room was clean but carpet smelled damp. Some of the staff were kind and helpful while others were not. Exercise area was decent and I heard good things about the restaraunt on the top floor. Next to a waffle house which was great for breakfast. Right next to Rt 17 which made it easy to drive to plantation and other sites outside the city. Good price but they really need to work on customer service. Also, they never gave us enough towels and we had to ask for them every day for a week!! Don't know what that was about.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear sassanach_12,
Thank you for staying with us recently we truly appreciate your business! Our free coffee in the morning in the lobby is a wonderful way to start the day before you catch our free shuttle to the downtown shops and sightseeing monuments. We normally have 3 sets of plush terry towels for our guest to enjoy each and every day I will follow up with our Housekeeping Manager to make sure we are providing our valued guest the correct amount of terry. Thank you for bring this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here because of the ideal location, however, there is much room for improvement. The room was clean and comfortable, as was the king bed, but, the bathroom had no fan and became a steam bath, never mind no ventilation for toilet use. As mentioned by others, the balcony door is permanently locked, so, no fresh air. As far as the staff goes, some are totally distracted and others seem uninterested. Coffee service each morning was a nice feature, but, 3 out of 4 mornings, the pot was empty and staff seemed annoyed when asked for a refill which took 20 mins one morning. Overall, don't expect a luxury stay and expect to tend to yourself more.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear MarkOltedale,

Thank you for taking time to post a review about our hotel. We appreciate that you have considered our hotel to be in a great location.

However, I am sorry to hear about your recent experience and that our hotel has fallen short to some of your expectations. I have forwarded your feedback to our hotel management for proper action and fix to make you next stay better.

We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Hotel kind of slow getting rooms turned over.....never had to wait til 4 to check in before. I get that is the official check in time, but come on. Shuttle service starts @ 5:30 and runs every two hrs, not every 30 mins as I would led to believe when I booked.

Balcony is locked....can't use it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Susan W,

Thank you for taking time to post your review. I appreciate that you have chosen our hotel and we hope you had a comfortable stay. I am sorry to hear that our hotel has fallen short to some of your expectations. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience you may have had during your arrival. I have forwarded your concern to our hotel management for proper action to avoid any delays and trouble on your next check in.

Best regards,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#38 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.