We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Concord, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I were in Charleston with three teenage children recently. We reserved two rooms at the Holiday Inn because we had been to this restaurant/bar on a previous visit to Charleston and loved it. The view was fabulous, and when we called to make the reservation we were told that we could reserve adjoining rooms. Anyone traveling with teenagers knows how important this is. We were very upset when we checked in and we did not have an adjoining room. They did however switch things around to get us on the same floor, and gave us all free breakfast vouchers. (That saved us $50).

The rooms were dated, but pretty clean. The best part of this hotel is definitely the view from the restaurant. The (free) breakfast buffet was really good and worth another visit. We travel to Charleston on a regular basis because we have a daughter in College there. There are a lot of good hotels in the area, but I doubt we'll stay at this one again.

They did provide a shuttle to the downtown area which we used. That's an attractive extra for this area. Parking is often a hassle in the area and the shuttle there and a cab back was the way to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Ashleymeaves,
Thank you for your business. Glad you “Loved” the 360 degree views from the restaurant! Sorry we were not able to accommodate you with adjoining rooms but pleased with the Front Desk being able to put you on the same floor. The shuttle is a plus because parking downtown is expensive and limited.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    225
    118
    60
    39
See reviews for
140
211
33
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went to this hotel's top floor Sunday buffet last week to see if the food had improved any rom a previous visit. It is difficult to describe how horrible Sunday's experience was. The corn was apparently poured directly into the serving tray from the can. The green beans were raw and inedible. The first piece of chicken I selected was apparently a left over from the previous day. I am basing this on the second piece I selected as it appeared to have been more recently cooked in spite of being totally dried out meat. The roast beef offered at the carving station was raw...not rare...and was so tough the knife provided with the meal could not cut the meat, only tear it apart along sinew lines. It was too tough to chew. The macaroni and cheese was also apparently poured directly from the can into the serving tray, a tasteless concoction. The "cheese" was yellow watery soup. The peas and carrots were also a direct pouring from the institutional can into the serving tray and had a "canned" taste. I sent the general manager this same note and she said she would look into it and offered us coupons for a future visit. Based on our experience, I declined any future visits even for free.

Room Tip: my comments are about the restaurant. the hotel is in a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Gene K,
Thank you for your business. Our Management team, servers and cooks are sorry that you did not enjoy your food while participating in our Sunday Buffet. We will share your comments with the entire restaurant team so we can improve our buffet for future guest, thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Fantastic views, great service, awesome location! This hotel is a must see!! Highly recommend the restaurant/lounge! Complimentary downtown shuttle is a plus! My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend getaway at this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Kristie923,
Thank you for your wonderful comments! So happy that you and your husband enjoyed a weekend getaway at our location! We look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel for our first trip to Charleston because we wanted to be close to the beach and downtown, but hotel prices at either of those locations were just outside our price range. The Holiday Inn was the perfect spot for us. 10 min to multiple beaches and the shuttle service they provide to downtown Charleston meant no paying to park. The staff were helpful, friendly and full of good tips on where to go. We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Room 513 overlooked the pool and they keep the pool lights on all night so It's a little bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear jacbug04,
Thanks for choosing us! Our location as you said is, “Perfect!” We are only minutes to Folly Beach and Downtown and our complimentary shuttle to downtown makes the trip hassle free. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Happy Birthday to ME!! So hubby and I visited the rooftop restaurant after a harbor cruise for my birthday on July 25th. This was my second time dining. Once again I had the she-crab soup and chicken nachos. The nachos were too enormous to finish so I had to take them home. The soup, however, was devoured LOL! I LOVE she-crab soup. It had bits-n-pieces of REAL crab meat and the touch of sherry just gave it a little extra kick. My husband had the buffet which he enjoyed. All in all, another great visit. I love the view at night so the next time we go we'll probably go to view the holy city after dark while enjoying a refreshing beverage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We loved having our event upstairs. Some of our families have five people and it was so nice that everyone could leave and go downstairs whenever they felt like it. The view is unparalleled in Charleston. The free shuttle was one of the biggest benefits. Even though you're across the river from town, Their shuttle offers 7 stops. The hotel just across the river makes you pay $10 and only has one stop all the way up at the Aquarium! Parking in Charleston is a bear and it's free at the Riverview, so this is a perfect option. The bedding was super-comfortable and the bathroom vanity is granite. Our family of 29 was very happy that we had set us up there.

Room Tip: Ask for a View Room, but the hotel is round, so every room is good, but the ones that face town are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed the week of 4th of July. Location is centrally located between the Ashley River estates and the historic downtown area .We were on the 12th floor and had no issues with noise.Balcony doors do not open and really ruined viewing the fireworks. Also they closed the pool before the fireworks and ruined the view from that location.
Beds had great linens and we were very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.