We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical and Inexpensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Practical and Inexpensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a weekend trip to Charleston for a small getaway. We ended up picking a weekend that had a 5K and some other events that we were not aware of and found out that many of the hotel prices were raised. So in our efforts not to spend a small fortune we decided on the Holiday Inn Riverview. The hotel was pretty clean but is definitely an older hotel. The ceilings are very low in the hallway and would be a little bit harder for anyone who is above average hight. The elevators have a musky smell, but I can say upon entering the room it was clean and pretty large. They offer free room service, which we tried and had not complaints about. The location is really close to the center of Charleston where you can take part in tours or visit the market. The only thing about the location is the entrance and exit are right off a main hwy/road so it can be difficult to get in or out and is easy to miss. Overall the hotel is a good place to if you wont be spending much time in it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Mb2dgrillo,
Thanks for staying with us! Glad you enjoyed your room service while staying in the hotel. We are only moments from downtown and all the activities that you might be interested in doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    225
    118
    60
    39
See reviews for
140
211
33
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a nice hotel for the money as compared to the very pricey Charleston hotels. Nice, big rooms, friendly people and easy access to Charleston attractions. Got complimentary bucks for the dining room and found it a comfortable place with a lovely view and very good prime rib special. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view of the river and marshlands!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear dkwCharlotte,
We appreciate your business! Your right, Downtown hotel prices can be extremely expensive we want folks to enjoy Charleston so our prices are more reasonable. That way you have extra money to enjoy the shops and restaurants or even take a Charleston Tour. I will tell the chef that you enjoyed the Prime Rib Special. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We arrived to try and get across the road to the car park. That was fun. I had been looking forward to this hotel and was pleased to see that we had a balcony.

We checked in at the very small reception and found we were on the 12th Floor so I was looking forward to the view.

we went up into the room and I know that this is a round hotel and the rooms were going to be different but I was a bit disappointed. The bathroom was very small and the sink outside it. The room was a fair size and it was all clean. Then I opened the curtains to go out on the balcony and found that you can not go out and they are locked. I could only just see the nice view, the rest was of the car park. A little downhill from then on.

We went to the swimming pool which was freezing, extremely windy and very very noisy. We stayed for 30 mins.

We slept that night and it was comfortable and then we ventured to the 14th Floor for breakfast in the morning. We were greeted by the staff who were all chatting and at first I felt that I was interrupting. We were sat by the window and were asked for coffee juice etc and it was brought to us with water. The breakfast was not complimentary and I have to say on viewing it not worth the money paid.

All of the food had a sweet base and there was not a great deal of choice. Highly disappointed.

I have to say I was not impressed considering this was a Holiday Inn - I have stayed at far better Holiday Inn Express'

Really not up to standard and it was a shame as it was coming to the end of our holiday and it took the shine off a little.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Muke,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valley stream
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was our first visit to Charleston and the Holiday Inn Riverview. We choose this hotel because we had points in the Holiday Inn Priority Club program which this hotel accepts. They are actually the closet IC Hotel Group to downtown Charleston which accepts Priority Club points.

Many of the comments posted on here are valid - the property is old but it is renovated. The rooms are on the small side. As noted, it is also very difficult driving in and out of the hotel parking lot since it is located in the middle of US Highway 17.

What I would not agree with are negative comments regarding the staff. We found all of the staff at his hotel to helpful and friendly.

If you are looking for a reasonable priced hotel very close to Charleston go with this Holiday Inn. If you are looking for something 4 or 5 star, pay $100 more per night and stay at a boutique hotel in downtown Charleston.

Room Tip: High floor, river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Rich I,
Thank you so much for your business! We appreciate the loyalty of PC Reward members and value their business; therefore, we accept PC Points almost all the time. Our staff prides itself on always providing great “Southern Hospitality.” We look forward to your business in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here for the first time last month. I go every 6 months to MUSC for a checkup and now that I have found this hotel, will be staying here from now on. A little tricky entering and exiting parking lot, just have patience and use your blinker. Very clean room. Had a view of the downtown and river. With Hilton card (free sign up) rec'd 2 passes for breakfast. That's right, passes to go to the top floor at sunrise, sit by the windows, order your coffee, etc and help yourself to a great buffet breakfast. Normal cost is 8.00 without pass. Cloth napkins, nice silverward, service, etc.. After breakfast the shuttle was waiting for me. Took me to the front door and the medical building I was going to in 5 minutes! NO COST OF PARKING! Would have picked me up, but husband did that.
Great wonderful first impression. Looking forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear fun4us,
Thank you so much for your business! We are so glad you enjoyed your coffee and hot breakfast while watching the sunrise over the Holy City. The MUSC rate includes breakfast for two, complimentary parking and a shuttle ride to the hospital during your stay. We look forward to your next visit with us in the future, thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This round hotel really does have great views of Charleston. The rooms were well-appointed, a lot more space in the king than the double. Everything was clean and the wifi worked the whole time. Unfortunately, cannot say the same about the elevators. There was always one working, but in a hotel this size, that sometimes meant really long waits--even when both were working, the waits seemed very long. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. It was a bit frustrating, though, to wait till late afternoon for the room to be cleaned, especially as housekeeping was parked in the neighboring room watching tv for an hour. This was convenient with a car, but without I would have wanted to stay closer to the market area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear hippiechickinsing,
Thank you very much for your business! Our views of the Ashley River and downtown Charleston are spectacular especially from the restaurant. Our complimentary WIFI for every guest gives them the opportunity to check email, search the web or share photos on Facebook. Once you check in and park your car we have a complimentary shuttle that will transport you to downtown so you don’t have to worry about parking meters or costly parking garages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Beautiful from the outside...Thats where it ends!! bets were too soft. First of all for the price there should have been a continental breakfast offered instead a buffet which they charge $9.99 was offered..POWDERED EGGS!! thats about it a few pancakes!! My friends had NO HOT WATER in their room they were also woken up by trash pickup under their window. Very noisy worse HOTEL I ever stayed in. Could not wait to get home to write this review.

Room Tip: Never take advice from a honeymoon couple on a cruise!! LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear lalablue426,
Thank you for your comments. The Holiday Inn does have packages that include breakfast it’s a wonderful value especially if you are traveling with a family. The extensive breakfast buffet has: scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, grits, pancakes, toast, fruit, yogurt, Danishes, oatmeal and cereal. If you are not interested in the buffet we have a full breakfast menu that has a plethora of items to choose from. Thanks again for your comments, we will contact our trash removal company and adjust our pick up times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.