We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fun weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a short weekend get away. The room was nice and the resturant had good food and excellent views. The only downside was the balconies were closed off. It would have been noce to be able to go out on the balcony. The rates were reasonable and the rooms were clean. Overall nice stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear amydee,
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! The views from the restaurant are fantastic! Housekeeping works very hard to make sure all the rooms are clean and up to our high standards. Thanks again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    225
    118
    60
    39
See reviews for
140
211
33
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Did not stay at hotel. We are locals and my cousin decided to bring us here for some late night drinks. Four if us came and the view was fantastic. Lights from the bridge and water view. Great drink prices. Lemon drop martinis were fantastic. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear E9,
Thanks for stopping by and enjoying a late night cocktail. Our "Lemon drop" Martinis are very tasty, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here right after Christmas. Comfortable beds and room had all the amenities. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The restaurant on the top floor has an excellent view (as the hotel's name suggests).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Murray5500,
Thanks for staying with us and I am glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I shall be as brief as a verbose Gemini can be.
I have visited the restaurant area high atop the Charleston Holiday Inn Riverview 3 times this past 30 days.
When visiting Historic Charleston, you simply MUST go there.
Bring your iPod camera, or your sketch pad or for that matter your bare canvas.
The views from there are the best elevated views attainable anywhere in the area to my knowledge
They have a Happy Hour that has wonderful finger food and make your own sandwich offerings that are just enough to keep you, till dinner time.
Happy Hour prices are incredibly reasonable.
If you join the Holiday Inn Diamond Club, they get unbelievably reasonable.
It is actually worth joining even if you are not staying there and will be in Charleston for just 2 days.
Behind the bar, usually, is a very nice and tall gent..whose name I don't know.
Then there is Miss Tamera (Rhymes with "camera")
This lovely lady is Customer Service personified. If only other places would hire her to teach how to raise their customer service to her epitome level,TripAdvisor would never ever ever receive another negative review for any place.
But I promised to be as brief as a verbose Gemini can be.
I wish I could comment on the restaurant food. I cannot since I have not eaten there.
However, if the Happy Hour food offerings are indicative of their dinner offerings you'll be happy
I have not stayed in their rooms.
I can say only, as well maintained as are the outside , the inside and all other areas, the rooms I must presume are wonderful, also.
Every associate with whom I have had contact goes above and beyond with what Americans now get as ??"Customer Service??".
I close, with a last tribute to Miss Tamera.
She is now in my "Hall of Customer Service Fame"
She should be in the Ambassador group for the USA.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Extraactor,
Thanks for your business and fantastic comments! You are 100% correct the views from the restaurant are amazing. Our Diamond Club program is a great local perk for you to save some extra money with all the discounts you will save on food and beverage. I will pass your comments to Tamera and let her know she is now a member of the “Hall of Customer Service Fame.” Thanks again for your repeat business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a few days at the end of November 2012. I really liked the hotel and it's unique rounded shape. The staff was very nice and the hotel was very clean. The only drawback to me was the very busy highways on each side of the hotel. But that was not a really big drawback to me because i really enjoyed my stay there. We were part of 5 couples that comprised the faith, Hope, and Love marriage retreat. We had reserved a private meeting area for the weekend and we really enjoyed our time there. The view from the resturant which was on the top floor was very impressive. I believe that it was probably the best view in the whole city. A picture postcard view. All in all, I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Cameron,
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and would return in the future. With the hotel being round it offers an amazing panoramic view of Charleston. Thanks again for you business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

New Year's Eve is probably the busiest time of the year so that does have to be considered however the staff here is hit or miss. - This is important because the lounge/restaurant is a strong selling point of this hotel. This hotel has one of the best views of the Charleston bay area (day or night) so although my husband and I are not "bar sitters" nor do we like to eat and frequent the same places over and over, just going to the top of the hotel to have coffee and dessert or a nightcap on a daily basis should have been a relaxing and enjoyable experience, it wasn't always so. In the 5 day/4 nights there the bar/lounge was terrible, they either need a customer service class or talking to by management, the restaurant staff was much more attentive and personable (you'll miss Kevin, he retired on NYE after 32+ years and was most gracious, congratulations!) ... The food was great! Excellent she-crab soup and the best roast beef sandwich with REAL au jus sauce! The same to say for the front desk, some could make your day or night just by the way they greeted you and a few would make you feel like you were an inconvenience.

The rooms are on the small side but were clean and though the hotel is approximately 40 years old, they are somewhat updated and again, the views are beautiful!

Hotel offers a shuttle to and from downtown Charleston a couple times a day which is great since street parking is metered, parking lots are costly and there is no free parking anywhere.

Sliding doors to the balconies are permanently locked (for the guests safety) and driving access to the hotel is quite confusing, a lot of one way streets and around the block enter/exit only entry ways - a little frustrating, and although there is complimentary coffee in the morning because there is a restaurant in the hotel there is no complimentary breakfast.

Overall, the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview is a nice hotel that is about 3 minutes from downtown historic Charleston. Lovely views with a restaurant on site and away from the tourist trap, just have patience with getting in and out of the hotel and "some" of their employees.

Room Tip: As for full bay or bridge view. All views are nice but some are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear lilladymo,
Thanks for your business and comments! We will miss Keith (Kevin) after 38 (32) years of dedicated service he has decided to retire which is well deserved. His commitment to the staff, hotel and Holiday Inn have been exemplary we are all very sad to see him retire. I know he would be happy to hear that you enjoyed his food especially his homemade She-Crab Soup. His predecessor will continue to serve the same food his loyal guests are used to with an emphasis on training and customer service. With being minutes from downtown our location is easy access without the cost of the Downtown properties or the parking fees that are charged. Our complimentary shuttle with take guest downtown every 2 hours starting at 7:30 am until 10:30 pm. Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Josh kindly checked us in on Christmas Eve after an 8 hour drive from Tampa Bay and he was so accommodating. Our lovely room, on the 11th floor, had a scenic view of the Ashley River and historic Charleston skyline. The room is very nicely appointed, well maintained, clean, with only one disappoint, no refrigerator. We were so appreciative of the convenience of The Harborview Restaurant and Lounge on the top floor which has the most delicious southern home cooked food and we thoroughly enjoyed our homemade southern cooking Christmas Dinner Buffet. The staff was so friendly and helpful and we most certainly would love to stay here in the future.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra cost to have a view of the river and downtown skyline..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Robbinstratton,
Thank you so much for your business! I will share your positive comments with Josh and the entire management team. The views from the 11th floor overlooking the “Ashley River” are breathtaking and they only get better when you go to the restaurant on the top floor of the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the – Southern Cooking from our restaurant. We look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.