We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYE in Charleston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #42 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Columbus, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“NYE in Charleston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

New Year's Eve is probably the busiest time of the year so that does have to be considered however the staff here is hit or miss. - This is important because the lounge/restaurant is a strong selling point of this hotel. This hotel has one of the best views of the Charleston bay area (day or night) so although my husband and I are not "bar sitters" nor do we like to eat and frequent the same places over and over, just going to the top of the hotel to have coffee and dessert or a nightcap on a daily basis should have been a relaxing and enjoyable experience, it wasn't always so. In the 5 day/4 nights there the bar/lounge was terrible, they either need a customer service class or talking to by management, the restaurant staff was much more attentive and personable (you'll miss Kevin, he retired on NYE after 32+ years and was most gracious, congratulations!) ... The food was great! Excellent she-crab soup and the best roast beef sandwich with REAL au jus sauce! The same to say for the front desk, some could make your day or night just by the way they greeted you and a few would make you feel like you were an inconvenience.

The rooms are on the small side but were clean and though the hotel is approximately 40 years old, they are somewhat updated and again, the views are beautiful!

Hotel offers a shuttle to and from downtown Charleston a couple times a day which is great since street parking is metered, parking lots are costly and there is no free parking anywhere.

Sliding doors to the balconies are permanently locked (for the guests safety) and driving access to the hotel is quite confusing, a lot of one way streets and around the block enter/exit only entry ways - a little frustrating, and although there is complimentary coffee in the morning because there is a restaurant in the hotel there is no complimentary breakfast.

Overall, the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview is a nice hotel that is about 3 minutes from downtown historic Charleston. Lovely views with a restaurant on site and away from the tourist trap, just have patience with getting in and out of the hotel and "some" of their employees.

Room Tip: As for full bay or bridge view. All views are nice but some are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear lilladymo,
Thanks for your business and comments! We will miss Keith (Kevin) after 38 (32) years of dedicated service he has decided to retire which is well deserved. His commitment to the staff, hotel and Holiday Inn have been exemplary we are all very sad to see him retire. I know he would be happy to hear that you enjoyed his food especially his homemade She-Crab Soup. His predecessor will continue to serve the same food his loyal guests are used to with an emphasis on training and customer service. With being minutes from downtown our location is easy access without the cost of the Downtown properties or the parking fees that are charged. Our complimentary shuttle with take guest downtown every 2 hours starting at 7:30 am until 10:30 pm. Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    176
    93
    50
    35
See reviews for
110
162
27
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Josh kindly checked us in on Christmas Eve after an 8 hour drive from Tampa Bay and he was so accommodating. Our lovely room, on the 11th floor, had a scenic view of the Ashley River and historic Charleston skyline. The room is very nicely appointed, well maintained, clean, with only one disappoint, no refrigerator. We were so appreciative of the convenience of The Harborview Restaurant and Lounge on the top floor which has the most delicious southern home cooked food and we thoroughly enjoyed our homemade southern cooking Christmas Dinner Buffet. The staff was so friendly and helpful and we most certainly would love to stay here in the future.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra cost to have a view of the river and downtown skyline..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Robbinstratton,
Thank you so much for your business! I will share your positive comments with Josh and the entire management team. The views from the 11th floor overlooking the “Ashley River” are breathtaking and they only get better when you go to the restaurant on the top floor of the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the – Southern Cooking from our restaurant. We look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel was clean and the room was big, but needed an update, I chose to stay in this hotel because it was cheaper than the ones in downtown charleston, and it looked like it had a nice view, it wasn't disappointing. The view from the restaurant was impressive, the food was ok, as was breakfast, alot of choice. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors should have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear CirencesterMaddy: Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview! We appreciate your compliments that the hotel was clean and that your room was big. Last year all rooms and public areas recieved a complete renovation. We are also glad you enjoyed the amazing views and look forward to having you stay with us again while visiting the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Travelling with parents for 3 weeks across US. staff excellent, rooms very clean and big, just a bit dated. Restaurant was also just fine, nothing wowee. Breakfast was a bit of a free for all, but was well stocked.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear brammo: Hope you have enjoyed your travels ascross the U.S.! Also, we appreciate your compliments that the staff was excellent and that the rooms were clean and big. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conway, SC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was a really nice, clean and comfortable hotel. We loved the restaurant on the top floor. A wee bit costly, but worth it. The view of the river was fantastic. Watching the moon rise was beautiful and in the morning the sun rise was gorgeous. Our room was on the 7th floor. Nothing spectacular, but very comfortable and clean. I totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher floor, the better for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear sab867: Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. We appreciate your compliments and recommendation! Please visit us again when in the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This place had a great view and great location for anyone visiting Charleston. The hotel was nothing fancy, but it was clean, fairly priced, and had great views. The free breakfast buffet left a little to be desired. You might can find a hotel in downtown Charleston for around the same price but overall I was happy with my stay. Balcony doors do not open, don't expect to be able to use them.

Room Tip: River view and downtown view rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Matthewoak: Thank you for your compliment on our friendly staff and great views! We are known for our spectacular views of the Charleston cityscape and the Ashley River. Please visit us again on your next trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

If you have a higher floor, the views are great. 3rd and below you should get a discount for a terrible view. Nothing but a yellow wall to see here!
The staff is friendly, the rooms are dated and cramped.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hello Htfiremedic: Thank you for staying with us while visiting the Charleston area and for your compliment on our friendly staff! Also, all water view rooms start on the 3rd floor and go as high as the 14th floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach three of South Carolinas most beautiful beaches are within 10 minutes of our hotel. Join us in the Harbor View Restaurant and Lounge for spectacular views and authentic Low Country cuisine.The 'Round' Holiday Inn is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's corporate and commercial centers as well as The Citadel, MUSC and the College of Charleston. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Riverview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.