We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #43 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel was clean and the room was big, but needed an update, I chose to stay in this hotel because it was cheaper than the ones in downtown charleston, and it looked like it had a nice view, it wasn't disappointing. The view from the restaurant was impressive, the food was ok, as was breakfast, alot of choice. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors should have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear CirencesterMaddy: Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview! We appreciate your compliments that the hotel was clean and that your room was big. Last year all rooms and public areas recieved a complete renovation. We are also glad you enjoyed the amazing views and look forward to having you stay with us again while visiting the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    205
    107
    57
    39
See reviews for
132
183
29
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Travelling with parents for 3 weeks across US. staff excellent, rooms very clean and big, just a bit dated. Restaurant was also just fine, nothing wowee. Breakfast was a bit of a free for all, but was well stocked.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear brammo: Hope you have enjoyed your travels ascross the U.S.! Also, we appreciate your compliments that the staff was excellent and that the rooms were clean and big. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conway, SC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was a really nice, clean and comfortable hotel. We loved the restaurant on the top floor. A wee bit costly, but worth it. The view of the river was fantastic. Watching the moon rise was beautiful and in the morning the sun rise was gorgeous. Our room was on the 7th floor. Nothing spectacular, but very comfortable and clean. I totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher floor, the better for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear sab867: Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. We appreciate your compliments and recommendation! Please visit us again when in the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This place had a great view and great location for anyone visiting Charleston. The hotel was nothing fancy, but it was clean, fairly priced, and had great views. The free breakfast buffet left a little to be desired. You might can find a hotel in downtown Charleston for around the same price but overall I was happy with my stay. Balcony doors do not open, don't expect to be able to use them.

Room Tip: River view and downtown view rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Matthewoak: Thank you for your compliment on our friendly staff and great views! We are known for our spectacular views of the Charleston cityscape and the Ashley River. Please visit us again on your next trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

If you have a higher floor, the views are great. 3rd and below you should get a discount for a terrible view. Nothing but a yellow wall to see here!
The staff is friendly, the rooms are dated and cramped.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hello Htfiremedic: Thank you for staying with us while visiting the Charleston area and for your compliment on our friendly staff! Also, all water view rooms start on the 3rd floor and go as high as the 14th floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We checked into our room on the 14th floor and found hair on the bathroom floor and in the sheets. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, hard as a rock really. There was loud noise through the wall half the night and early morning, we were told it was from the bathroom in the restaurant and lounge. We woke up early from all the banging in the walls to find 2 live roaches in the bathroom and no hot water. It was the last straw we went downstairs to let them know and was told we could shower in another room but there were no rooms available to switch til after check out. We were told it would be about an hour to switch so we just waited, 3 hours later they finally called and got us a new room so we could take a shower. Fortunately we were there for leisure and not business so we only had to put off our activities we had planned for the day. They gave us one mornings free breakfast which was decent and finally got us in a new room on the 5th floor. This room was far and above better than the other one but it didn't make up for all the trouble we had the first night. I would never stay there again the location wasn't that great and for the price you could find a place downtown. The star rating should be lowered if they can't even keep roaches and hair out of the rooms.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 14th floor there are pipes banging in the walls half the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear c0urtney00: Your comments have been researched and the hot water heater has been replaced. Thank you for staying with us and hope that you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I chose this property to host our guests for our wedding. We blocked off 10 rooms and also used the bar to host a cocktail party the night before the wedding. When it came time for my bridesmaids and I (bride) to check into our room, they told us they were full and had no room for us. When I gave them my confirmation number and pulled up the details through email, they said that room had been cancelled. This was the night before my wedding, after we had provided them with so much business. The customer service representative working at the hotel insisted her hands were tied and there was nothing she could do. The manager, who I later talked to, insisted the same thing. So did everyone I talked to on the corporate level. This is a great argument for giving business to local companies, where workers still have power to make problems right, and (usually) treat their patrons like human beings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hello jecunnin: Our goal is to achieve top rated customer service. Your comments have been acknowledged and researched to improve our customer service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.