We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a terrific location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Suites from $169/Night
Ranked #29 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a terrific location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was our first visit to Charleston and we choose this hotel because of its location. That turned out to be a great decision. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby and the Charleston Visitors' Center is just two blocks north. Start your visit there, then catch the free Dash trolley just outside and leave your car parked. The trolley has thre different routes which can take you most places a tourist is likely to go (the one exception is the Battery area which requires a fairly long walk from the trolley route, so you may want to drive for that part of your exploring). Now to the hotel itself: you'll get the usual Embassy Suites experience - two clean, comfortable rooms with a spacious bath and excellent bedding, a free cooked-to-order breakfast in the morning, and a manager's reception every evening with free drinks and snacks. The building itself, despite being the former Citadel, is no old hotel showing its age; it is instead kept up very well. I'm not sure when it was last renovated, but the look and feel are of a modern facility. There are a couple of things worth mentioning to enhance your stay. First, the restaurant and the lounge area where the evening reception takes place, are both too small to handle the number of people. There is an exterior area which absorbs some of the spillover, and some of those having breakfast carried their food to the lounge and sat at the bar to eat. But if you aren't fond of eating or drinking outdoors in the heat and humidity, arrive for breakfast before 8:30, and be sure to find a seat for the evening reception a few minutes before it begins at 5:30. Once we mastered those tricks, we enjoyed each of our several days here. Some other reviewers have commented on the friendliness of the hotel staff, but we didn't find that to be the case. Perhaps we expected a bit more southern hospitality, but most of those we met were more stoic and reserved than friendly. It did nothing to detract from the excellent service, but it seemed a bit odd, especially given the location.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the rear are likely to be quieter since they are farther from the elevators and most tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed review of your stay here! We hope that you will come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    277
    123
    52
    28
See reviews for
281
267
22
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Formerly The Citadel, the fortress exterior and interior brick walls lend a historical individuality tomEmbassy Suites located in downtown Charleston. Walking distance to most everything. Excellent location for the Spoleto Festival.

Inside the suites are two rooms deep, meaning the bedroom is not next to the hallway. This makes sleeping quiet and peaceful. We were between a few rooms of visiting teenaged dancers who were polite but young and sociable and in the hallway a lot spending time with each other. We had no problems resting and were thankful for it.

Breakfast buffet has later hours on weekend - appreciated. They serve individually made omelets efficiently. Offerings ample: hot bar, cold bar, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, baked goods and coffee -lots and lots of coffee ( for the earlier breakfast ending at 9:30 am - very welcome).

Small hotel pool area and hot tub.

5:30-7:30 pm free wine and light snacks.

A pair of cockatiels sang from their well-enriched cage in the entrance foyer. Nice touch.

Quirky pair of elevators. Always worked and came quickly. Oddly usually came to side opposite the one you were standing on.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren_Stutts, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback-very much appreciated. We hope you choose us as your home away from home the next time you're in Charleston. Thank you for taking the time to write such a candid review on our hotel property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We spent 3 days at this hotel. Had a wonderful time there. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Our suite was extremely nice. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the walls were very thick (there were kids in the next room & we couldn't hear a thing). The complimentary breakfast was superb. The omelet chef was wonderful and the buffet had almost anything I'd want.
The location of the hotel was within walking distance to stores, restaurants and one block from the tourist center. We'll definitely stay here next time we come to Charleston.
.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren_Stutts, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
We are extremely delighted to hear you had a "wonderful stay" and that you will "definitely stay" at our property next time you both come to Charleston. Thank you very much for all your kind remarks. Look forward to seeing you again next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I just spent 2 nights here on a short getaway trip. The hotel was nice, attractive and clean with a relaxed ambiance. However, I was extremely disappointed in the two uncomfortable, lopsided, too soft mattresses in our room both in need of replacement. Neither of us slept well both nights of our stay because of this. Also, room was dark and dingy. The view out of our north facing window left little to be desired. I can't help but think that as AAA members using a AAA rate for our stay that we were placed in the lousiest view room you could possibly be placed in! Our room view from the window literally was right smack in the middle of an alley overlooking several dumpsters! Another very disappointing note.... both nights of our stay the dumpsters were emptied by the local trash company at 3 a.m.!! The noice was quite loud and lasted for at least 15 minutes. I did complain to front desk about this on the day of our departure. I would consider a future stay here as we like the convenient location but we will be certain to request a park view room next time and hope that the mattress is better!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren_Stutts, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our historic property. We are pleased to read that you thought our hotel was "nice, attractive and clean with a relaxed ambiance." However, we sincerely apologize that you felt our beds were uncomfortable and that you were not placed in a quiet room with a view and experienced loud street noises. The management team is looking into refurbishing the hotel, including new beds and mattresses. With this in mind, we hope you consider staying with us shall you ever come back and visit Charleston again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel! We were in town for the Spoleto festival and had stayed here before. The location is great for the performances and there are a number of restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren_Stutts, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We appreciate your kind words. Thank you for staying at our hotel. Come back and stay with us again the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens WA, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Fairly easy commute back and forth to Boeing in North Charleston. Staying downtown offered more options for evening dining with just a short walk. The hotel and room met expectations for a Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren_Stutts, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Although there is an Embassy Suites in North Charleston right by your destination, we are thrilled that you chose to stay downtown at our Embassy Suites property. The historic downtown district does offer more restuarants, shopping, and evening activities than the North Charleston area. Thank you for taking the time to review our property, for we hope you recommend it to your friends and family and plan to stay with us again on your next venture to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We just returned from a 2 day stay at this hotel. What a positive, memorable experience! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Suite with view of park was extremenly nice. Very clean room, comfortable bed and pillows. Beautiful granite tops on vanity and wet bar. Microwave and fridge built into wet bar. Could not ask for anything better. Valet parking was great. Complimentary breakfast was superb. Friendly staff, great food. Location of hotel could not have been better. Within walking distance to many stores/restaurants. This is our hotel of choice and will stay again on our next visit to Charleston.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren_Stutts, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks! We are exceedingly happy that you all enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel is your "hotel of choice and will stay again on your next visit to Charleston." Look forward to seeing you soon! Hope you and your family have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston

Address: 337 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic landmark, within the walls of the original Citadel, the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is a grand restoration and is well located, adjacent to Marion Square, and walking distance to many major Charleston attractions including the College of Charleston, MUSC, fabulous restaurants and King Street shopping. Enjoy our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly Manager's reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holy City with warm, Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Historic Charleston Hotel Charleston
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.