We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location,great breakfasts with polite southern service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Suites from $189/Night
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best location,great breakfasts with polite southern service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Full service suite hotel with an elegant lobby and courtyard which was at one time The Citadel Military College. The valet parking personnel. the bellman,the front desk attendants, the chefs and staff at breakfast were very kind and friendly. The housekeeping staff was very thorough and helpfull. The hotel is accross the street from the visitors center where you can book many different tours or if you prefer the Visitors Center is a trolly stop for three different routes covering the historic , shopping, and residential areas. You will enjoy your time at this suite hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    253
    114
    49
    28
See reviews for
257
237
22
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Pleasant, SC, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My stay at the Embassy Suites on Meeting St in Charleston was not enjoyable. When I checked into the Hotel, the lady at the front desk was rude, uniformed and not very helpful. The room was dirty and the microwave did not work. The location of the property is excellent, but I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Just returned from three nights at this hotel. Overall, a lovely experience. On the plus side--the location! Walkable to all parts of the central historic district but not in the thick of tourism (like the Doubletree). Also, the staff was extremely attentive, polite and helpful. Our TV went out (in the middle of the Oscars!) and they had an engineer to the room within minutes. Good breakfast. And, the ambiance of the lobby is quite charming.

The rooms, themselves are smaller (for an Embassy Suites) and quite dark. We had a "park view" but the window was small and hidden by our armoire (no closet). It was also expensive as hotels go but seemed to be average for Charleston.

That said, it was the perfect place for a girls' weekend in Charleston!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This embassy suites is cool because it is in the original Citadel and they kept some of the original structure- turrets, supporting columns etc. they have a nice big atrium with a fountain that I think was the cadets assembly area. The hotel was clean, which is my main criteria. The rooms could use an update (2 room suite with two TV's) , but they were comfortable and clean. Not luxurious, but fine. We were on the 2nd floor and you really could not see out the window, so the room was a little dark, but I think this was because they adapted the building. I was here for a conference and it served our needs well. Coffee/ tea maker in room with all the condiments. A complimentary breakfast with eggs and individually prepared omelets is offered as is complimentary early evening drinks and snacks. There are several good restaurants very close which worked well for us ( I would recommend Coast and Vincents, literally across the street on the side of the hotel). Cabs are easy to get and the rest of the city is accessible and frankly I think anywhere you go in Charleston, there are good restaurants (very rich food)!! A friendly and clean city!! Try the carriage ride, about an hour, but the drivers provide some nice historical background. Great art scene also. I would stay at the Embassy Suites again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This Embassy Suites has incredible staff, very welcoming and polite, always willing to help, and the facility, unique in its historic design, is a perfect location to enjoy Charleston, one of the finest cities in our country.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I want to say that the staff at this hotel made our stay on 02/20-23/2014 wonderful. Paulette and Kia at breakfast and Tibby at the bar were especially were so attentive and charming. The breakfast was terrific.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

A family wedding brought us to Charleston, SC for a first time visit. The Embassy Suites was located within walking distance to many things to see and do in Charleston. The hotel gave us a comfortable stay. Room was spacious and quiet (we were given a corner room). The cooked to order breakfast was very good. We also did enjoy lunch a couple times during the week, very nice and priced reasonable. The early evening reception was nice, snacks delicious and plentiful. All in all I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston

Address: 337 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#25 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic landmark, within the walls of the original Citadel, the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is a grand restoration and is well located, adjacent to Marion Square, and walking distance to many major Charleston attractions including the College of Charleston, MUSC, fabulous restaurants and King Street shopping. Enjoy our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly Manager's reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holy City with warm, Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Historic Charleston Hotel Charleston
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.