We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely one night stay in historic charleston, South Carolina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Suites from $209/Night
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Maplewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely one night stay in historic charleston, South Carolina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the embassy suites, historic area of charleston. This was originally the citadel, turned into a hotel. Fun to stay in this building with so much history. As always the hotel is clean and the breakfasts great. Staff very helpful and in a great location. Rooms are a bit smaller than other embassy suites I have stayed in but you have your living room as well as a bedroom so not a problem. After all you can't change the size of an old fort. Pool area was lovely as well as the patio. we had breakfast and managers reception there. There is a shuttle that takes you to market st but you can walk it. King street is just thru the park. Shops and restaurants galore. Would definitely recommend this hotel as compared to others in the area for value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    254
    114
    50
    28
See reviews for
258
240
22
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We hosted family and friends attending our daughter's Charleston wedding at the Embassy Suites in historic downtown Charleston. From working with the sales office to set aside rooms for our wedding party to final check-out we experienced friendly and professional service provided in a timely manner. The attrium lobby has a variety of comfortable seating areas to relax with friends and the Farmer's Market that was running in the park next door on Saturday was a bonus. Look forward to staying here again on future visits to Charleston.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My two girlfriends and I could not have choosen a better place for our trip to Charleston during the House and Gardens Festival during 4/7/13 through 4/12/13. We arrived early and our room was ready. Everyone was very pleasant, helpful, and cheerful. We did not find anyone who acted like it was just a job to them. They all seemed very proud of their city also. The breakfast every morning had something for everyone. It was a joy to sit outside in the courtyard and enjoy the start of our day. During the managers reception we were able to unwind with a nice glass of wine. The cockatiel,Charlie, in the lobby was a great ambassador, and I am glad on our last day he had a new girlfriend. The free trolley stop was directly accross the street. The visitor center was about one block from the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Trip Advisor Charleston
My daughter and I just spent an amazing two days in Charleston, SC. We were there to meet two cousins and do some family history investigations. Everyone we met was extremely helpful and we found lots of wonderful information about our ancestor who had fought honorably in the American Revolution, served, without compensation, as acting minister at Beth Elohim for its first eighteen years until an official rabbi was hired, presided over the port of Charleston, and was a founder of the Supreme Masonic Temple. Portraits, murals, books, all preserved by the historic and proud citizens of Charleston were in abundance. Amazing! We are grateful.
The Embassy Suites Hotel in the historic district is the absolutely perfect, best place to stay not only because its location is excellent, right next to the College of Charleston’s beautiful campus and beside the free trolley tour bus that circles the city. Plus, there is a free buffet breakfast, featuring everything from grits and biscuits with gravy to bagels and Crispy Crème donuts and made to order eggs, all served by friendly, happy to help waiters. Additionally, there’s the free two-hour manager’s cocktail party with drinks and taste treats. The pretty and friendly bartender Randi hailed from our state of Maryland.
Before drinks and dinner, we enjoyed ourselves at the swimming pool and Jacuzzi tub and relaxed on the patio with accompanying classical music. The atmosphere at Embassy Suites is perfection because it is built upon the original Citadel building. From the exterior, the hotel architecture looks like a giant sandcastle fortress. Inside, arches and expansive lobbies are evidence of the hotel’s significant ancestry. All the help is as delightful as the pretty birds that sing in their cage by the registration desk where you’ll be greeted by friendly smiles and notice a basket of delicious chocolate macadamia nut cookies.
History is everywhere in Charleston and the concierge, Frank Bellany, knows all about it. Originally raised in Vermont, he happens to be the consummate Southern gentleman! From him, we learned both history and present- day knowledge. A former, maitre d’, in one of Charleston’s finest restaurants, he advised us on great places to eat in this city that is famous for its cuisine.
We had such a fabulous dinner at Hall’s Chop House that we went back for a very late lunch the next day at happy hour. Our greeting there on both occasions by Tommy and Billy Hall was a warm welcome. We were treated like long-time customers although they knew we were tourists and unlikely to ever be regular diners at their stunning and delicious establishment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

First the good. The staff at this hotel is fantastic and very helpful with anything needed. The complimentary breakfast is good and not what you would typically find at a hotel. The 2 hour open bar is also a nice touch though I didn't use it. The rooms have a nice set up with the kithcen and living room area. The location is also fantastic. Everything from the hotel is very accessible and easy to get to.
The negatives.... The noise travels though the rooms at all hours, doors slamming, people running...The cleanliness in the bathrooms is terrible. There was mold in the grout and silicone and it is obvious that the maids don't clean very thoroughly in between stays. I could see the old pencil marks on the tile walls from where the old curtain rods were hung which tells me it never gets a thorough wipe down. Also, there is no ventilation in the bathrooms so it stays wet and steamy hours after you shower. The old brick walls which are a nice touch in the rooms’ secret salt because the old mortar is lime based. So in my room there were piles of salt build up on the brick that if you touched would end up all over the floor. With a kid that touches everything it wasn't easy to keep him from this once he discovered it. And lastly the water lines were backwards in the sinks which wasn't a big deal, just a lack of care for maintenance.
I'm up in the air if I would stay here again. If they stayed on top of cleaning and maintenance it would be a fantastic place to stay. I just couldn't help but wonder how clean my room really was after staying there and sleeping in the sheets. Maybe I'm picky, I try not to be but i do construction for a living so I pick up on things that most people don't look for, I just can't help it.

Room Tip: Try and stay as high as you can in the hotel. The way the first floor is built the hallway on the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESsalescoordinator, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room and will work with our maintenance and housekeeping teams to ensure this does not happen again. We're also passing on your comments about the noise disruptions and working on future resolutions to minimize this issue. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Safe Travels,
Nora Sturgeon
nora.sturgeon@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had discounted rate from one of the online sites. Hotel is the old Citadel Academy and the structure from the original school was basically maintained. The staff - especially the young men working as valets who are all college students - were gracious without being obsequious. You get a real breakfast, including made to order omelets, fresh fruit, etc. I don't drink coffee, but my husband said the coffee was not very good. He opted for the Starbucks which is one block away. The wooden clothes hangers in the rooms are not attached to the hanging bar which I take to mean that the hotel expects a quality of guest who are not going to steal them. There is a complementary happy hour in the lobby with mixed drinks as well as beer and wine with cheese, crackers and vegetables and dip. Although the hotel was full, the lines for the breakfast and happy hour were very short to non-existent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Centrally located hotel. I was able to walk to King street shops and down to the Battery everyday easily.

While the rooms are large they are long and narrow and only the bedroom has a window so there isn't much light which created a drab atmosphere.

Breakfast buffet served hot items but with so many great brunch options and restsurants on Charleston I don't know that you'd want to waste a meal on an average breakfast.

Staff was friendly and helpful with basic requests like checking a bag and calling a cab.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESsalescoordinator, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed our hotel location and were able to visit many of the historic sites in our city. I'm sorry to hear that your room lighting created a dark atmosphere. We'll look into this and see what we can do. Come back and see us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Nora Sturgeon
Nora.Sturgeon@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston

Address: 337 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
#25 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic landmark, within the walls of the original Citadel, the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is a grand restoration and is well located, adjacent to Marion Square, and walking distance to many major Charleston attractions including the College of Charleston, MUSC, fabulous restaurants and King Street shopping. Enjoy our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly Manager's reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holy City with warm, Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Historic Charleston Hotel Charleston
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;