We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Inexpensive room for Charleston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Suites from $189/Night
Ranked #31 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Charlotte
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice, Inexpensive room for Charleston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I traveled with my husband for business, our check in was very easy. We were given a suite with two double beds, when at time of booking I requested a king suite. I called the front desk and keys to a new room were brought promptly. I have listed my positives and negatives below:

Positives:
-Delicious made-to-order breakfast
-Spacious rooms w/ two tvs / sitting area / kitchen area
-Quiet rooms / were separated from hotel common area by living space
-Free WiFi
-Relaxing common area, with water fountain
-Comfy bed
-HOT running water (be careful)

Negatives:
-Small bathroom with no exhaust
-Cable went in and out
-All drains within rooms seemed to back up quickly (in kitchen, bathroom and bathtub)
-Charge for parking ($20 valet or $14 in neighboring garage) - but it is Charleston :)

All in all I enjoyed our stay and if I was able to get a decent price on a room again, we will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    243
    107
    46
    27
See reviews for
237
228
21
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

After reading some of these reviews I was a little worried. First things, first- I normally stay at hampton inns, but after reading the reviews of the hampton inn in charleston, we decided to stay right next door at the ES. If you read some of the previous reviews, you might be a little worried... These tripadvisor reviewers that gave negative feedback, well, they are looking for something to complain about. Yes, the rooms are small- compared to my house! You can not have 40 friends in you room comfortably, but if you are like me, and you only care about sleeping well, eating well, and being treated well- then no worries here. The beds are very comfortable, and even more important- fresh and clean! The room has a good size sitting area... The breakfast, well if you are used to the typical hotel breakfast- the breakfast here will blow you away!! It's fantastic. As for the staff, everyone was helpful, pleasant, the valet was very prompt. Great experience, great historic building, we will be back!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAITHERSBURG
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were pleased with the hotel and surrounding areas. We were celebrating our son's 40th birthday so a suite was a good option. Although the rooms were a little small, we found the property very interesting historically, and well situated to walk or take the free shuttle trolley around the city. Receptionist was friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast was more than adequate to keep us going until early dinner. We liked Charleston a lot and the hotel made the town even more pleasant.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the Marion Square gave us sunrise, sunset, and students playing ball in the winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for two nights (Fri-Sun).We were told that the holel was an old military academy building. Short remarks are as follows: receptionist during our check-in was fairly unfriendly, room/suite was furnished sparely and smelled, breakfast room was too small to accomodate all guests therefore they had second breakfast location set up in the atrium, which felt as if you are eating beiing on display from other guests walking to or from their rooms on balcony floors above and taking the elevators. Breakfast staff however was very quick and friendly. Fresh made omlettes and eggs were delicious. Interior of both elevators was being redone on Sunday morning despite heavy guest traffic. Overall, good location right at the beginnig of King Street with all its shopping, close to Aquariumand ferry port to Fort Summter, College of Charleston and a short walk (1 mile) to historic Charleston. Hotel and rooms left a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: As for the room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESsalescoordinator, Manager at Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We're so glad we had the privilege to serve you during your travels to Charleston and appreciate your feedback. It's nice to hear the location was convenient and I hope you were able to enjoy some of the historic attractions during your weekend visit. I'm terribly sorry to hear that our front office staff was anything less than welcoming or friendly and can assure you this has been addressed. I also regret that you felt a little uncomfortable with the separate breakfast areas and we're currently looking into space reconfiguration. Thank you again for sharing your suggestions with us. We hope that you will come back to see our true hospitality and let us know what you think of our improvements.

Kind regards,
Nora Sturgeon, Guest Services Manager
Nora.Sturgeon@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a great property if you are a history buff. The usual Embassy Suites perks (free breakfast, complimentary drinks in the evening) are offered. The one negative is room size, they are a little smaller than the average ES property, but not something that should keep you from staying. Walkable to King Street and several great area restaurants. The history of the building is a Civil War enthusiasts dream. It was first an armory and, in 1842, became the site of The Citadel, The Military College of SC. Cadets from the Citadel are credited with firing the first shots of the Civil War. It was captured by Union Troops during the Civial War. Some of the rooms have firing ports in the walls, which in itself is a gtreat feature. I highly recommend staying at this property

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Have stayed in other hotels in Charleston, and despite the other comments this location is a fairly easy walk from many attractions. Interesting history, and the staff was very accommodating. Rooms could use some sprucing up, but the bed was very comfortable. The bar area is pretty small considering how large the lobby is. Breakfast is your typical fare.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assiniboia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We just returned last week from a weeklong stay at the Embassy Suites in Charleston. I can't say enough about well we were treated. Our suite was large, very clean with real comfortable beds. The entire staff were so helpful and friendly. The staff we met at the evening social and breakfast were great! The social was a good time to mingle with the other guests as well.The complimentary breakfast was amazing. It was good to relax in the beautiful courtyard after a day of seeing the sights in and around Charleston. We would highly recommend the Embassy Suites and the tourist attractions of Charleston as a great vacation spot. The tourist info and trolly's are nearby.
Thank You from the 4 Canadian ladies in pink, who had to head back to the snow & cold .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston

Address: 337 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Charleston
#23 Family Hotel in Charleston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic landmark, within the walls of the original Citadel, the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is a grand restoration and is well located, adjacent to Marion Square, and walking distance to many major Charleston attractions including the College of Charleston, MUSC, fabulous restaurants and King Street shopping. Enjoy our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly Manager's reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holy City with warm, Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Historic Charleston Hotel Charleston
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.