We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Suites from $189/Night
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
Stamford, CT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My family (with 2 and 4 yr old) just had a great 3 night stay at this hotel. Since we really need a suite hotel there were not many options but this met all of our needs. The room was spacious and clean- a little old, but that was OK. The building itself is really neat looking since it looks like a castle. The cooked to order breakfast was a big hit and eating in the courtyard was perfect and relaxing. The evening manager's reception was something we looked forward to each night and was the perfect touch to our vacation. Outdoor pool was well maintained and staff was extremely nice. Anything we requested (i.e. extra towels, plug for bathtub) was delivered within minutes. We found some good restaurants a couple blocks away so dinner each night was a breeze.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger and brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    267
    122
    51
    28
See reviews for
269
262
22
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Love this place, great location, good breakfast, great Managers reception, great room. We have been here 5 nights and have loved every minute.
P.S. The staff was outstanding each and everyone that we had contact with each day.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed here the weekend of the College's open house and picked this hotel because of its location and history. The open areas on the main floor have a lot of charm, but the rooms are in serious need of updating. The furniture is dated and in some cases you can find stains on the upholstery. I even founds stains on the upholstered chairs in the lobby sitting area. Also, the towel rack in our bathroom was beginning to pull away from the wall. The staff were friendly, and the lunch and breakfast from the in-house restaurant were good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Sueur, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Embassy Suites Historic Charleston was a great choice. This hotel was very comfortable. It's in a good location right on the free city trolly route. It's next to the city park where the farmer's market is held and is within walking distance of some very good restaurants. The included bountiful breakfast and the manager's reception make this hotel a value for downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stayed here in the last days of March of this year, a family of 4 with 2 adults and 2 children under 6. We wanted to be close to or in the historic center of Charleston, but also need our space when rooming with our kids on the road. The 1 bedroom suite, where we could close a door between us and our infant son while rooming with our 5-year-old in the other bed, worked well for us.

We found the hotel in general to be clean, and it had good and friendly service. The included breakfast was good and the drinks in the evening were a nice treat. Basically it was a step above a regular hotel chain, not a really luxurious 4 star hotel, but very good.

Couple of points: the breakfast got SUPER crowded, especially if you wanted the cooked option, so I went for plain cereal just to get finished and go. The pool area was nice, but we did see some kind of small rodent (rat from the neighboring park?) clamber over the wall and scoot across the patio area near the pool. A little disconcerting, but what can you do? People complained in other reviews about the dreariness or darkness of the interior, but I didn't feel this was a problem. I guess if you spend all your time in the hotel room it might be -- it is true that the interior rooms have no window, because they are all units ringing a central atrium. Anyway, this was one aspect we wondered about before our stay, but it was just fine. Location was great, walked or rode the tourist bus further into the heart of downtown the 2 days we were there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here April 8-11. Everyone was very nice the hotel was just as decribed. I did not see any issues with the rooms as other have stated. Our room was very clean. Breakfast was the usual Embassey Suites breakfast, very good lots of choices. We really enjoyed the location it's so close to lots of great places to eat and shop. Pool area is nice but I can only imagine it is crowded (chairs) during the summer since it was fairly full in April. I did not like paying extra for parking but I guess thats a given by staying in downtown.We would stay here again if going for the downtown area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The location is ideal in downtown Charleston. All the employees are gracious. The Complimentary breakfast, internet and managers cocktail hour are all nice touches. There is even a lady selling sweetgrass baskets in the lobby. The location is perfect if you plan on touring downtown Charleston. The rooms and the public spaces are all lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston

Address: 337 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
#23 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic landmark, within the walls of the original Citadel, the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is a grand restoration and is well located, adjacent to Marion Square, and walking distance to many major Charleston attractions including the College of Charleston, MUSC, fabulous restaurants and King Street shopping. Enjoy our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly Manager's reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holy City with warm, Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Historic Charleston Hotel Charleston
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Charleston - Historic Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.