We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outskirts But Still In the City” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Bee Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #46 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
SC
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Outskirts But Still In the City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Nothing fancy but if you are spending most of your time traveling around the city, or are
visiting at the Veteran's Hospital or MUSC then the price and convenience of this hotel will work for you. The free city shuttle stops just outside on the corner. We made good use of it to travel downtown throughout our visit.

Room Tip: Upper floor avoids possible street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    93
    85
    51
    77
See reviews for
99
116
31
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed only one night while in transit to beach areas of SC. What prospective clients should know is that this hotel mainly serves persons visiting the nearby extensive hospital facilities. While you can get transit to historic areas, this is not really a tourist hotel. The breakfast facility seemed incredibly crowded and not especially well maintained. The typical guest was a member of an extended family visiting a patient - lots of seniors and little kids. The room facilities were as expected for a moderately priced hotel, and we found it to be clean and omfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poconos, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My sister and I spent only one night at this hotel. It appeared to be very clean. The staff was helpful and accommodating. I do have one suggestion, that upon check in it be made clear that the complimentary breakfast is no longer offered after 9:00am. We slept in after being out a little late in town the night before and came down for breakfast just after it was over. We would have made more of an effort to be there on time, if we had been informed. Otherwise, a great place for the $$, good location. We used the free trolley, which was convenient and we got to see a lot of the city that we otherwise would not have walked to. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is our 2nd time staying here. The first time, we didn't have any issues. This time, we were on a different floor and had some.
The Good: What a location! Super close to all the things we wanted to do. Easy in/out. Parking is crowded, but we always found a space. The lobby is beautiful. Rooms are recently renovated, and look very nice. Super-comfy beds. Decent water pressure. SUPER nice staff. Good continental breakfast with plenty of seating and options.
And, now the not-so good:
First of all, we were directly in front of the elevator/vending. We could hear the elevator "ding" in our room, and of course, could hear the ice in the vending. I just cranked up the white noise app on my phone and we were fine. But, if you are a light sleeper, I would ask for a room away from the elevator.
However, the 2nd problem, I couldn't fix. Sunday morning, we awakened to room temp water for our first shower, and by the time I got to shower, it was flat-out cold. I've never had that happen in a hotel. In the hotel's defense, we reported it when we checked out and were told we were the first people to mention it. She was on the phone before we even made it out the door, working to get someone in to fix it.
So, other than some minor issues, we are still going to use it as our base hotel for Charleston. I just hope the water is warm next time!

Room Tip: Not near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Nice rennovation of rooms. If you hate paying the typical $250 a night for a hotel not much closer or nicer, then this is a great deal. Add the free trolley and it is a winner.

(not sure why my review has to be 200 characters. I feel like I said what I wanted to say, but here you go Trip Advisor)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

If you're looking for a quick overnight hotel, this is it. Close to downtown. However, not alot of parking spaces and the continental breakfast isn't too great. They do offer free trolley service to the downtown areas which is highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

When we saw the hotel online it looked like a beautiful place. I wish I would have read the reviews before my mother made reservations. The fridge was barely cold & dirty with dead bugs on the bottom shelf. The bathroom was dirty & hair was everywhere ...there was no hot water and we let the water run for a hour. The desk clerk caught a attitude when I kept calling about the water. The location is great because of the hospital but I'd rather take the drive and find better personally. - Go at your own risk.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston

Address: 144 Bee Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Comfort Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.