We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Bee Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #46 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night. The location was good with the free shuttle to Charleston nearby. Room was clean and well equipped. Complementary breakfast had a good selection and comfortable seating arrangements.

The manager and front desk staff was excellent. They printed detailed directions to both a restaurant and Patroit's Point.

On our next trip to Charleston, we would definitely stay at the Comfort Inn Charleston again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    105
    95
    56
    78
See reviews for
106
132
34
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This hotel is a little way from the Historic Centre, but the trolley stop is just outside. The room was clean and acceptable. Breakfast was dreadful, plastic plates and cutlery, the worst coffee I have ever been offered, and the food of the cheapest variety. The tables were dirty, guests having to clean them for themselves. There is a pool, of the concrete frying pan type, but there is nothing to commend this place.

Room Tip: Don't try
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Do not believe the terrible reviews of this hotel. My wife and I stayed for 4 nights . The room was clean and large , and the beds were comfortable. Parking could be a problem but there is parking under the bridge. We did not have a problem with parking..We stayed in room 608 .
Location was next to the free trolley and took about 20 minutes to get into town. Breakfast was ok.
Over-all would definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comforinn11, Director of Operations at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the Comfort Inn Charleston. We are so pleased that you not only enjoyed the 4 nights your stayed with us. While we all agree that the free trolley is a wonderful way to see Charleston I sincerely hope you saved your gas money and enjoyed a delicoius dinner. Please call us again on your next trip to Charleston we would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We called from another hotel in the area on Friday night after checking in and realizing we had made a bad hotel choice. The lady was friendly and helpful, I asked for the rates and she gave them to me, I explained the situation and she offered me a reduced rate. After ensuring we could get a refund on our second night we called back and were told that they were glad we called because they could give us a better rate. We were very excited! We checked in Saturday and were so happy to be in a beautiful, clean room were everything worked. We were only sad that we only got it for one night and Friday we had stayed in the scariest place. If I had to complain about anything it would be that the sink was in the room with the tub and toilet, but not a real problem as there were other mirrors in the room where someone could get ready while the other showered. So happy we found this hotel. Will check into using it on our next trip with the family...hope we can get good rates then too.

Room Tip: Floor 4 has the laundry so it smells good. I think any room would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comforinn11, Director of Operations at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
I have to say that being called a "life saver" is one of the nicest reviews we have read. It is always our pleasurer to make our guest happy. I am so glad that you were taken care of and were offere a reduced rate. I sincerely feel that your weekend was made better when you moved to the Comfort Inn Charleston. For this I want to say "thank you". You gave us the opportunity to serve you and hopefully for you to become a long time guest at the Comfort Inn Charleston. Please visit us again I am sure there is more to the city that you have not seen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in late April. If you don't want to drive into the busier parts of Charleston, it's location is ideal as the free trolley stops right near the front door! We used the free trolleys to access almost all the sights we wanted to see in Charleston. There are also several restaurants within walking distance as well as an extensive medical campus. The hotel was clean, roomy, and had a plentiful breakfast included. We would stay here again on another trip to Charleston.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooler, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

WOW! If you want your trip to include being put in a room you did not order and not being able to change it, being charged a half day rate to put your bags in the room before 3 PM and having the nasty woman manager yell and SWEAR at you for complaining about this the next morning when the front desk asks you how you enjoyed your stay, then THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU! Yes, we were put in the wrong room (2 beds instead of 1) and they could NOT change it despite the reservations we made several weeks prior, and yes, they wanted to charge us an extra half day for putting our bags in the room and YES the manager yelled "screw you" as we were leaving (although I yelled back at her on the way out and the lobby was full) because I told the front desk that our stay was horrible, the bathtub was dirty and I got NO sleep because my husband just had outpatient surgery and had trouble waking up so I stayed up all night to watch him instead of just being able to lay next to him with my hand on his belly to make sure he kept breathing. The only reason I gave 1 star is because there is no ZERO star rating. The witchy manager HAS TO GO!! We stayed at the Best Western 2 blocks away last week for another surgery and the stay could not have gone any smoother, we got the right room and everyone from the front desk to housekeeping were extremely friendly. DISCOMFORT INN CHARLESTON SC SUCKS!!!!!!!

Room Tip: you want a good stay, go somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We chose this hotel as it was close to the downtown historic area but not as pricey as the hotels in the historic area. Overall this was a good hotel with clean rooms, good beds and good staff service. They have the usual Comfort Inn continental breakfast which was good but you should get there early as it's a busy hotel and some foods can run out. If you want to go to the historic district I would recommend do not take the transit from the hotel but take a taxi instead. Taxis are affordable and get you where you want. Taking transit is quite slow, and need to transfer to another line from the one that picks you up.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston

Address: 144 Bee Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Comfort Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.