We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, classy, convenient and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ansonborough Inn

Save Saved
You added Ansonborough Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ansonborough Inn
21 Hasell Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Champagne!
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
DC area
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming, classy, convenient and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful inn. I liked it because it was different from being in a chain hotel as it had its own personality, kind of nautical/pre-revolutionary with original oil paintings everywhere. The check in area is in an atrium lobby, but only 3 stories high, so not echo-ey. Lovely fireplace and couches for hanging out, and easy access to our room on the second floor. We did have a little noise the first night - someone with high heels walking back and forth in the room above ours, it seemed on bare wood floors, but didn't hear a peep the rest of the trip. Got a beautiful suite for our 4 day stay - after requesting to be moved from the first room we were shown, on noisy street level. Host couldn't be more accommodating and professional. Wine and cheese varied night to night - some nights better!, same for breakfast, but all nice touches, and something to look forward to. Deck on top of hotel looks promising, (adding a bar soon?) nice view of port and bridge to Mount Pleasant. Would definitely stay there again, but request a room off of the first floor, or at least away from the main roadway. Being next to high end grocery store a bonus!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    107
    30
    19
    11
See reviews for
68
240
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milw.Wi.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

We stayed 5 days and 4 nights. The staff was extremely courteous and made wise reccommendations for sights to see and other services we requested. We became addicted to the chocolate chip cookies available in the afternoon and the wine and cheese hour in the evening. The continental breakfast was repetitive but ample for the two of us. The location was within walking distance of so many sights; there was even a 24 hour grocerry store across the street for late night snacks. The rooftop terrace was nice for a quiet get-away to read or relax.
Our only complaints might be that house cleaning wasn't done til late in the afternoon when my husband wanted to sneak a nap. Also we could hear the TV from the room next to us as well as some conversation.... wasn't very sound proof but this wasn't a huge issue to us. Overall, the service, cleanliness and location are worth a return stay to us.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Stayed in one of the "junior suites". Great room. Clean and comfortable. A bit of noise early in the evening in this first-floor room, but perfectly quiet later. Walking distance to many attractions and eating places, with a tram stop about 1/2 block away. Drug store/market also 1/2 block away. A great adaptive reuse of an old paper warehouse.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

We had pictured a cozy bed and breakfast look and were charmed by a more sophisticated decor. The greeting from the woman at the front desk was very nice and our room welcoming and clean. We didn't have a view; we were in a first floor room under the stairway but had no problem with noise. We enjoyed the southern hospitality---cookies and tea during the day and the wine at night before we left to go out.

Speaking of going out---we enjoyed being able to walk and when we did need the car to go out of town it was easy parking in the near-by lot. We liked the breakfast as we aren't interested in the big eggs and bacon thing.

One day I found a very large crawling insect which I assume was a cockroach---and this Californian had never seen anything quite like it!!! I asked the front desk to spray and they called the exterminators right away and offered to change our rooms. We didn't need to do that as they were taking care of it and we liked our room and we also liked the professional and personal approach in handling the bug issue.
We would definitely stay again when in that part of the country.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

We went to Charleston for an early anniversary getaway and had a great stay. The inn is very unique being an old paper warehouse with original exposed wood beams. The rooms are good size with more exposed brick and wood beams. We were on the 3rd floor facing the docks and had no problems with noise. They were unloading cars all day and part of the evening but the activity did stop at a good time. It was actually fun to watch to be honest.

The rooms were clean as was the bathroom. Nothing extremely fancy but very nice. The overall look of the hotel is very charming, you wouldn't know it was a warehouse in a former life, they have made great renovations.

As far as location is concerned, we found it to be a good spot to tour the city as everything is in walking distance. The only thing that was a bit far was the battery but you can still do it. We walked to the aquarium area to catch the ferry to Ft. Sumter and walked to dinner at Magnolias just down the street. Always felt safe around the hotel at night. There is a Harris Teeter grocery store next door for convience. Also parking is convienent (even though it adds an extra $12 per day to your bill) we rarely needed the car for the two days we were there.

The only thing that was really lacking was the breakfast...it was OK but hey it comes with the room and we don't eat big breakfasts so it was ok for us. I could see some people opting to go out instead. The wine and cheese hour in the late afternoon was nice, again the wine was just OK. The pimento cheese spread was good.

It may not be the cheapest place in town but then again it is not the most expensive. We got a discounted rate for staying on a weekday in the off season. We would stay there again and probably will at somepoint. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coastal nc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

We had a last minute oppurtunity to spend a night in Charleston so we did not have a lot of time to research or shop for a place to stay. We happened upon the Ansborough Inn. What a wonderful surprise! It was a lovely suite. The bed was very comfortable. It was easy walking distance to the market area. We would defintely stay here on our next trip Charleston.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

I travelled to Charleston for a conference visit; this was my first time in the city. The Ansonborough Inn was a great value, and the staff was incredibly helpful.

The breakfasts are unbelievably good for a continetnal breakfast -much more than your usual pastry and donuts. The evening wine and cheese is NOT to be missed.

There were a few bumps in my visit - they had just renovated and opened a new wing, and the lock had a problem. The staff offered me every and anything I could want while I waited, and had the lock repaired quickly.

The location is convenient to so much, you won't even need the public transportation. Walking the city is easy and beautiful.

I'll be going to this conference for many years, and I plan on staying here for the foreseeable future.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ansonborough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansonborough Inn

Address: 21 Hasell Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Ansonborough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansonborough Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ansonborough Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.