We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best family room in downtown Charleston!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ansonborough Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ansonborough Inn to your Saves list
Ansonborough Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Hasell Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best family room in downtown Charleston!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our secret spot in Charleston (well I gives not any more). The loft is the best family room in town. Jake, Ben and Carrie made our stay special. Very cool loft and industrial feel throughout. What a great place to celebrate our 10th anniversary vow renewal!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! I was so happy to hear that the tempermental weather cleared long enough for your ceremony! It is great to know that you and your family enjoyed your time with us--we all hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    122
    33
    19
    11
See reviews for
75
279
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife & I contemplated early retirement after staying here.
What a professionally run, pleasant inn! The staff was cordial, the atmosphere was stunning, and the location perfect.
We arrived early and our room was ready, permitting us to wander the streets of lovely Charleston earlier than we had hoped.
As my wife said to me after our arrival, "Honey, you done good!" Can't ask for better than that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review on TripAdvisor. It is great to know that you and your wife were pleased with our property and staff. I am glad to know that we were able to get you accommodated into your room before check in and that this gave you the opportunity to take advantage of your first day in Charleston! Thanks again for the great review--I hope to see you again you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was our first trip to Charleston and we stayed at the Ansonborough Inn for 5 nights. We loved it! I had asked for a quiet room and had a great one on the third floor. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever had at a hotel, the room was spacious with a nice couch and the bathroom was great. There was a little refrigerator in the room that we used for left over food so we could eat it for lunch the next day. The location was perfect on the edge of the historic district - close enough to walk but away from the noise and crowds. A Cruise ship docked while we were there and we could just see it from our window. The breakfast was very good with several choices - cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, a hot choice, hard eggs, toast juice, coffee and the best hot cinnamon rolls! We also enjoyed the afternoon wine and snack bar and taking it up on the roof terrace was a bonus. All in all everything was top notch with a friendly staff and should we get back to Charleston would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: They have so many different types of rooms that you should just tell them what you like and I Imagin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor! I am so glad to hear that we were part of a wonderful trip Charleston. It is great to know that absolutely everything about the Ansonborough Inn was exactly as you hoped for and that you were able to take the time to enjoy our many amenities. The Cinnamon Rolls are one of the newest additions to our continental breakfast, so I love hearing that they are a hit! Thanks again for the great review and I hope that we see you again on your SECOND trip to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastport, NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I recently spent four nights at the Ansonborough Inn and could not have had a better stay.We arrived nearly four hours before check in and our room was ready with a bottle of chilled champagne courtesy of a Trip Advisor coupon. The property is immaculate, well decorated and quite charming. Our room, a "spacious studio", was very comfortable with a small refrigerator and microwave as well as a nice leather couch. Every member of the staff was friendly, efficient and attentive. The breakfast room was always spotless, even when crowded with guests. The location of this Inn was perfect for us as we wanted a quiet location within walking distance of all the busy, loud parts of the city. A supermarket right next door proved to be very useful for a long weekend visit. Parking, usually an issue in any city, was convenient and worth the $12 per night. The best part is that the rates at this beautifully restored historic Inn were better than at some of the concrere box chain hotels which are not even near the historic district. We highly recommend the Ansonborough Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Ansonborough Inn and that everything about the hotel surpasssed your expectations! Thank you again for the terrific review--we can't wait to see you again you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I prefer small B&Bs but none was available for 3 days in Charleston this March. We decided to stay at the Ansonborough, which is a small boutique like hotel at the edge of the historic district. We were very pleased. The staff was warm and welcoming. The room was huge and comfortable, and the bathroom also big and clean. Breakfast was delicious, and there was wine, cheese and sweet goodies in the afternoon. Also, a small room with a computer for guests. Great parking lot across the street. The roof deck was very private and pleasant.
Although our room was on the first floor right opposite the front desk, it was extremely quiet.
The Ansonborough is not in the Center of the historic district but at the edge. A short walk to many wonderful signs and restaurants. We did not consider this a problem.
We loved the Ansonborough and will return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are larger - and not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a terrific review on TripAdvisor! I am delighted to hear that although you typically prefer smaller properties, you found the Ansonborough Inn to be to your liking. I am glad that you liked so much about the hotel, from the rooftop terrace to the complimentary offerings served in our hospitality suite. It is also wonderful to hear that the staff were able to help you with anything you needed. Thanks again for the great review on TripAdvisor--I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend. Everything was wonderful. The staff allowed us to check-in as soon as we arrived, and actually walked us to our room. All the staff was friendly and very helpful. The location and parking is great. We loved the wine and cheese hour. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for such a nice TripAdvisor Review. It is great to know that you enjoyed your time at the Ansonborough Inn and that you would recommend us to others. Thanks again for the great review and I hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a very good small hotel in the historic part of Charleston, very near the waterfront & good restaurants. Old building with high ceilings, exposed wooden beams, elegant appearance. Large rooms, exposed brick wall, comfortable sitting area; also a large bathroom & good shower. Extensive continental breakfast - great cinnamon buns! All in all, great location, very comfortable, if a bit on the pricey side. Minor knock for not having a cooked breakfast available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that we were part of an enjoyable visit to Charleston and that you found our location convenient and our rooms comfortable. Those Cinnamom Rolls that you mentioned are one of our newest breakfast items, so it is particulary great to know they are hit! Thanks again for the great review and we hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ansonborough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansonborough Inn

Address: 21 Hasell Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#22 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ansonborough Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotwire and Venere so you can book your Ansonborough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansonborough Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ansonborough Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.