We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ansonborough Inn

Save Saved
You added Ansonborough Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ansonborough Inn
21 Hasell Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Champagne!
Ranked #12 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights her and we LOVED this place! it is rustic, classy and immaculate. We enjoyed our room, the light complimentary breakfast and the afternoon cheese and wine social. The staff were friendly and helpful and the Inn is within walking distance of all downtown attractions. Very nice place. Would love to visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    105
    30
    19
    11
See reviews for
66
236
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here March 26-29. From check in to check out the entire staff was as professional, courteous and helpful as I have ever encountered. The lobby is as beautiful as the pictures on their site. Breakfast, afternoon cookies and wine and cheese was good every day. Beds were very comfortable but most importantly, this place is clean!! Thank you Ansonborough Inn for helping to make a 30th anniversary trip very enjoyable for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We loved Charleston and especially the Ansonborough Inn. The location was great, as well as, the staff. The breakfast was more than adequate and the wine and cheese reception in the afternoon was a welcomed surprise after walking all day. The rooms are beautifully decorated and extremely quiet and clean. We can hardly wait for another trip to Charleston and the Ansonborough Inn!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelingcats14
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the Ansonborough Inn as part of a group cycling trip. We had a very nice room on the second floor overlooking the back street. Most rooms have high ceilings and are very bright and light. The windows do not open (which I usually prefer) but the temperature control in the room worked fine. Our room had a wet bar with a microwave and a small refrigerator which was a nice touch. Everything seemed clean. The location was good and it was great to have a store directly across the street in case you forgot something or wanted snacks. Breakfast was nothing special but certainly adequate. There is also a complimentary wine and cheese reception between 5 and 6 PM - nice touch. The lobby is welcoming and provides a good place to sit and relax outside your room. However, the noise made by people in the hotel lobby, in other rooms and from the street is quite loud and hard to ignore. I think part of this may be due to the lobby open to the ceiling. We felt fortunate to have a room facing the side street as we did not hear much street noise. I felt bad for the people with first floor rooms directly off the lobby, that may have been very bothered by noise. If you are not planning on sleeping late in the morning you will probably be ok but ask for a room on the second or third floors facing the side street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floors facing the side street where you will be less bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I visited Charleston for the first time. We stayed at this inn for 4 nights and cannot say a single negative thing about it! Everyone that works there is extremely helpful, friendly, knowledgeable about the city and they all seem genuinely happy to work there! The breakfast was great, happy hour was delicious and so were the cookies!!! We stayed in the Premium Loft room which was way more room than we needed but it was a beautiful room with plenty of space to spread out. Location was fantastic as well!Thank you Ansonborough Inn! We hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Don't miss the happy hour- it's delish! Ask the frond desk for recommendations on restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Quite a nice little gem of a property within walking distance of everything but in a quiet area of Charleston. We had a Loft room which gave us and our teenagers lots of private space. Beautiful old-world charm with very high quality and excellent service. The breakfast buffet offered a good variety of fruit, cereals, yoghurts, pastries, breads, eggs, tea, coffee, juices. We had a small fridge and microwave in our room so stocked up on snacks from the grocery store across the street for our ever hungry teenagers. Lovely roof-top terrace and cozy English-style pub. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: The Premium Loft is great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Loved the atmosphere, rooms, staff...very charming, Chocked full of antiques and personality of old Charleston. Very close to market square and rates are quite reasonable for the high quality of the rooms.

Room Tip: Exective suites are well worth the upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that you liked so much about the Ansonborough Inn and that found us to be a good compliment to the city of Charleston. The executive suites are some of my favorite rooms, so its great to know that you liked your room choice and found our rates competitive! Thanks again for the great review on TripAdvisor--I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ansonborough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansonborough Inn

Address: 21 Hasell Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#28 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Ansonborough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansonborough Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ansonborough Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.