We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but a noise problem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ansonborough Inn

Save Saved
You added Ansonborough Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ansonborough Inn
21 Hasell Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Champagne!
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
travelingcats14
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very nice but a noise problem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the Ansonborough Inn as part of a group cycling trip. We had a very nice room on the second floor overlooking the back street. Most rooms have high ceilings and are very bright and light. The windows do not open (which I usually prefer) but the temperature control in the room worked fine. Our room had a wet bar with a microwave and a small refrigerator which was a nice touch. Everything seemed clean. The location was good and it was great to have a store directly across the street in case you forgot something or wanted snacks. Breakfast was nothing special but certainly adequate. There is also a complimentary wine and cheese reception between 5 and 6 PM - nice touch. The lobby is welcoming and provides a good place to sit and relax outside your room. However, the noise made by people in the hotel lobby, in other rooms and from the street is quite loud and hard to ignore. I think part of this may be due to the lobby open to the ceiling. We felt fortunate to have a room facing the side street as we did not hear much street noise. I felt bad for the people with first floor rooms directly off the lobby, that may have been very bothered by noise. If you are not planning on sleeping late in the morning you will probably be ok but ask for a room on the second or third floors facing the side street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floors facing the side street where you will be less bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    107
    30
    19
    11
See reviews for
68
240
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I visited Charleston for the first time. We stayed at this inn for 4 nights and cannot say a single negative thing about it! Everyone that works there is extremely helpful, friendly, knowledgeable about the city and they all seem genuinely happy to work there! The breakfast was great, happy hour was delicious and so were the cookies!!! We stayed in the Premium Loft room which was way more room than we needed but it was a beautiful room with plenty of space to spread out. Location was fantastic as well!Thank you Ansonborough Inn! We hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Don't miss the happy hour- it's delish! Ask the frond desk for recommendations on restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Quite a nice little gem of a property within walking distance of everything but in a quiet area of Charleston. We had a Loft room which gave us and our teenagers lots of private space. Beautiful old-world charm with very high quality and excellent service. The breakfast buffet offered a good variety of fruit, cereals, yoghurts, pastries, breads, eggs, tea, coffee, juices. We had a small fridge and microwave in our room so stocked up on snacks from the grocery store across the street for our ever hungry teenagers. Lovely roof-top terrace and cozy English-style pub. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: The Premium Loft is great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Loved the atmosphere, rooms, staff...very charming, Chocked full of antiques and personality of old Charleston. Very close to market square and rates are quite reasonable for the high quality of the rooms.

Room Tip: Exective suites are well worth the upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that you liked so much about the Ansonborough Inn and that found us to be a good compliment to the city of Charleston. The executive suites are some of my favorite rooms, so its great to know that you liked your room choice and found our rates competitive! Thanks again for the great review on TripAdvisor--I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caswell Beach, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I spent the night at the Ansonborough Inn while in Charleston for business. The place is beautiful! From the front entrance to the bathroosm, everything was clean, well decorated, extremely well thought out and well cared for. The charm from the old warehouse, high ceilings, wooden beams was divine. Fireplaces here and there, wine and cheese at 5 pm, very nice breakfast in the morning. The staff was exceptional, always ready to help. Our room was beautiful - nothing like a traditional hotel room. We look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: We selected one of the smaller rooms, and it was still huge and beautiful! Had a "view" o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on TripAdvisor! It is wonderful to hear that your business trip turned into a memorable visit to the Ansonborough Inn. I am glad to know that you found the hotel beautiful in so many ways and that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope that you are able to come see us again soon. Thanks again for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I got engaged in Charleston in Battery Park and then we got married there 13 years ago. Every year on our anniversary weekend, we go back to Charleston to celebrate. We have stayed in many bed & breakfasts and hotels in the area over the years, but in 2008, we discovered Ansonborough Inn and we haven't stayed anywhere else since. The rooms & lobby are beautiful, the furnishings & amenities are elegant and the location is ideal. All of the restaurants that we like and the shopping district are within walking distance and it is right across the street from a grocery store and a Starbucks, which is convenient if you've forgotten anything or just feel like going to grab a latte first thing in the morning!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Wow! It is such a great feeling to hear that we have become a part of your Charleston anniversary celebrations. Thank you so much for choosing us year after year and for taking the time to share this in a TripAdvisor Review! I am so happy to know that you have enjoyed everything about the Ansonborough Inn. I can't wait to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful overnight stay here. We hadn't been in 20 years and it was as good or better than we remembered. Terrific room - huge and well furnished with a comfortable king bed, leather couch, 2 chairs, desk, flat screen TV and tons of room - and we had a small studio room!
We enjoyed the happy hour with free red or white wine, appetizers and the breakfast the following morning was great with hot and cold cereals, sausage on biscuits, fresh fruit, muffins and danishes etc.
We didn't have to check out till noon so we had time to check out the historic district and then we were told we could leave our car in their lot while we continued to check out the sites and take a wagon ride throught the Battery and surrounding area.
All staff we dealt with were very helpful and friendly.
It won't be 20 years before we return - maybe next year!
A great way to celebrate our 40th anniversary as it had been celebrating our 20th!

Room Tip: If you're looking for a hotel in the historic district that's easy to access and a great pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor! I am delighted to hear that you found the hotel to be as wonderful and charming as it was on your prior visit. It is great to know that everything about your stay was perfect and that you enjoyed the room, the breakfast, and the wine & cheese. Thanks again for the great review--I can't wait to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ansonborough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansonborough Inn

Address: 21 Hasell Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Ansonborough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansonborough Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ansonborough Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.