We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ansonborough Inn

Save Saved
You added Ansonborough Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ansonborough Inn
21 Hasell Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Champagne!
Ranked #12 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Pasadena, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I visited Charleston for the first time. We stayed at this inn for 4 nights and cannot say a single negative thing about it! Everyone that works there is extremely helpful, friendly, knowledgeable about the city and they all seem genuinely happy to work there! The breakfast was great, happy hour was delicious and so were the cookies!!! We stayed in the Premium Loft room which was way more room than we needed but it was a beautiful room with plenty of space to spread out. Location was fantastic as well!Thank you Ansonborough Inn! We hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Don't miss the happy hour- it's delish! Ask the frond desk for recommendations on restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    105
    30
    19
    11
See reviews for
64
236
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Quite a nice little gem of a property within walking distance of everything but in a quiet area of Charleston. We had a Loft room which gave us and our teenagers lots of private space. Beautiful old-world charm with very high quality and excellent service. The breakfast buffet offered a good variety of fruit, cereals, yoghurts, pastries, breads, eggs, tea, coffee, juices. We had a small fridge and microwave in our room so stocked up on snacks from the grocery store across the street for our ever hungry teenagers. Lovely roof-top terrace and cozy English-style pub. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: The Premium Loft is great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Loved the atmosphere, rooms, staff...very charming, Chocked full of antiques and personality of old Charleston. Very close to market square and rates are quite reasonable for the high quality of the rooms.

Room Tip: Exective suites are well worth the upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that you liked so much about the Ansonborough Inn and that found us to be a good compliment to the city of Charleston. The executive suites are some of my favorite rooms, so its great to know that you liked your room choice and found our rates competitive! Thanks again for the great review on TripAdvisor--I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caswell Beach, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I spent the night at the Ansonborough Inn while in Charleston for business. The place is beautiful! From the front entrance to the bathroosm, everything was clean, well decorated, extremely well thought out and well cared for. The charm from the old warehouse, high ceilings, wooden beams was divine. Fireplaces here and there, wine and cheese at 5 pm, very nice breakfast in the morning. The staff was exceptional, always ready to help. Our room was beautiful - nothing like a traditional hotel room. We look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: We selected one of the smaller rooms, and it was still huge and beautiful! Had a "view" o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on TripAdvisor! It is wonderful to hear that your business trip turned into a memorable visit to the Ansonborough Inn. I am glad to know that you found the hotel beautiful in so many ways and that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope that you are able to come see us again soon. Thanks again for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I got engaged in Charleston in Battery Park and then we got married there 13 years ago. Every year on our anniversary weekend, we go back to Charleston to celebrate. We have stayed in many bed & breakfasts and hotels in the area over the years, but in 2008, we discovered Ansonborough Inn and we haven't stayed anywhere else since. The rooms & lobby are beautiful, the furnishings & amenities are elegant and the location is ideal. All of the restaurants that we like and the shopping district are within walking distance and it is right across the street from a grocery store and a Starbucks, which is convenient if you've forgotten anything or just feel like going to grab a latte first thing in the morning!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Wow! It is such a great feeling to hear that we have become a part of your Charleston anniversary celebrations. Thank you so much for choosing us year after year and for taking the time to share this in a TripAdvisor Review! I am so happy to know that you have enjoyed everything about the Ansonborough Inn. I can't wait to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful overnight stay here. We hadn't been in 20 years and it was as good or better than we remembered. Terrific room - huge and well furnished with a comfortable king bed, leather couch, 2 chairs, desk, flat screen TV and tons of room - and we had a small studio room!
We enjoyed the happy hour with free red or white wine, appetizers and the breakfast the following morning was great with hot and cold cereals, sausage on biscuits, fresh fruit, muffins and danishes etc.
We didn't have to check out till noon so we had time to check out the historic district and then we were told we could leave our car in their lot while we continued to check out the sites and take a wagon ride throught the Battery and surrounding area.
All staff we dealt with were very helpful and friendly.
It won't be 20 years before we return - maybe next year!
A great way to celebrate our 40th anniversary as it had been celebrating our 20th!

Room Tip: If you're looking for a hotel in the historic district that's easy to access and a great pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor! I am delighted to hear that you found the hotel to be as wonderful and charming as it was on your prior visit. It is great to know that everything about your stay was perfect and that you enjoyed the room, the breakfast, and the wine & cheese. Thanks again for the great review--I can't wait to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Know before you book. As other Trip Advisor reviewers have noted, the Ansonborough Inn is not a quiet property; noise carries everywhere. When we checked in I specifically asked for a quiet room because I am a very light sleeper. I was assured that the junior suite on the first floor would be quiet because it faced away from E. Bay Street. However, it overlooked the dumpster that was visited each morning; it is located by the back stairway to the upper floors; and it is located barely off the lobby. So we heard everything. Fortunately, when the Inn was completely booked for two of the four nights that we were there, the group that was there was considerate of the Inn and its residents, rather than a louder crowd that might be there for a celebratory weekend. And we got past the fact that the 2000 major renovation obviously didn't consider how sound travels as part of the project. However, there was an air freshener in the space--because more than half the time, the room and the hall outside smelled like a sewer. Something is seriously wrong (and other TA reviewers have noted the same thing). The breakfast was fine--simple and adequate. The lovely evening cocktail hour could seriously use a dry white and a dry red--not everyone drinks sugary sweet wines. Did there used to be bathrobes based on some reviews I read? Was there supposed to be some sort of AAA discount per the AAA guidebook, which the Inn said "oh no, it's season." (Perhaps an error on my part?) We enjoyed our stay at The Inn, which is well located and beautiful from the outside; inside, one should just know what to expect before booking.

Room Tip: insist on a quiet room. there are probably a few.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor--I am glad to hear that all-in-all you enjoyed your time at the Ansonborough Inn. I am, however, surprised to hear about the issues you encountered during your time with us. I sincerely wish that I had been given the opportunity to address them while you were here and accommodate you in a room more to your liking. Although most of our guests love our location, it does mean that the sounds associated with a city do occassionally occur outside our property. First floor junior suites are quiet rooms and we rarely receive complaints about them; our 24 hour staff ensures that the lobby is kept quiet even when a "louder crowd" might be here. AAA members always receive the lowest available rates, as you did for the nights that you stayed with us. Although our honeymoon-class rooms (Premium Plus and the Admiral Suite) have bathrobes provided, we could have certainly placed some in your room if we had only known that you would have liked them. Thanks again for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ansonborough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansonborough Inn

Address: 21 Hasell Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#14 Family Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#28 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Ansonborough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansonborough Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ansonborough Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.