We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ansonborough Inn

Save Saved
You added Ansonborough Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ansonborough Inn
21 Hasell Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ansonborough Inn this past weekend. It was our 7th or 8th trip to Charleston, but first time at this hotel. We will definitely make the Ansonborough our regular spot, and even choose it over staying at hotels where we can stay for free with points!

The photos speak for themselves -- the room is adorned with old-fashioned design, but includes the amenities experienced travelers have come to expect from a modern resort. We made our reservation the day before, and still had a lovely room -- the Palmetto Suite.

Location is perfect -- just a block or two off of the "main action" of Charleston, and the grocery store across the street is an added bonus.

I honestly can't get over the value. I imagine people pay twice or three times what we did for similar rooms at other hotels in Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am glad that even given the short notice of your booking you were able to experience one of my favorite rooms, the Palmetto Suite. As you may know, all of our rooms are different, but the Premium Plus rooms like you were in are some of the best in the hotel. It's great to know that you found our hotel comfortable and convenient and that you are looking forward to visiting us again. Thanks again for the TripAdvsior Review; I look forward to seeingyou in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    102
    29
    18
    10
See reviews for
60
221
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the lovely Ansonborough Inn for three nights recently. As mentioned in other reviews, the location is very good, but really most of the hotels in the actual historic area are. This is such an easily walkable area and part of what makes Charleston such a great city to visit.

I will also compliment the staff and their courtesy and willingness to anwer your questions and provide assistance. We are not "high maintenance" travelers but when in a new city, or one we hadn't visited in many years, it is so nice to feel you can inquire with just about any staff member and be given a polite and friendly response.

Our reservations were made at the last minute and, as such, our room was probably not one of the more desireable. It was a "street level" king room and, even though the traffic (both vehicle and foot) was literally right outside our door, the room was well sound-proofed and we were not terribly bothered during our sleep time. Should we return I would like to reserve a room on one of the upper floors however.

The continental breakfast was adequate and the evening wine and cheese very much appreciated after walking all around the penninsula all day. We were then able to enjoy our dinners fairly late and as a result did not have any trouble with our lack of reservations.

I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely hotel to just about anyone. If ultimate luxury is your desire you might be a little disappointed but for my money you can't go wrong here.

PEACE

Room Tip: try to avoid the street level rooms if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your TripAdvisor review. I am so glad to hear that you found our hotel comfortable and the staff approachable and accommodating. There is nothing better than hearing that our employees have contributed to a guest's positive experience at the Ansonborough Inn. It is also great to know that you found our hotel to be a good value. Thank you again for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor; I hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

WE LOVE THIS INN! We have been to Charleston and the Ansonborough Inn so many times, it's like our second home! From the moment you step through their door, you will lack for nothing. Carrie, who has been their manager since the beginning of time, is gracious, knowledgeable and helpful. The inn is a short walk from the market and ALL things Charleston. There are dozens of restaurants & shops and Harris Teeter grocery is directly across the street. The rooms are clean, nicely appointed, comfortable and spacious. Because this is an old warehouse, the street noise can come inside, but does not detract from a great place to lay your head. The continental breakfast, wine & pimento cheese social, and complimentary coffee, tea & lemonade all day just add to make this an absolute favorite. The Ansonborough also has a full bar (just ask the front desk staff for a drink) and a newly renovated rooftop for a great view of Charleston.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
We love our regular guests!! There really is nothing better than getting to actually know our guests as they return again and again. (Of course having new faces become regular guests is pretty awesome, too!) I love hearing that we have continually exceeded your expectations and so appreciate that you took the time to let people know on TripAdvisor! Thank you so much for your continued support of the Ansonborough Inn and your glowing review. I can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We opted for the Ansonborough Inn rather than a B&B and we were NOT disappointed. The place is amazing....huge rooms, beautifully appointed and complimentary coffee, tea, lemonade all day, wine and cheese in the evening and continental breakfast. And the staff could not have been more accommodating. It was a great location - an easy walk to great shopping and places to eat - and a great value. We would highly recommend it, and stay there the next time we are in Charleston.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review! We know that there are many places to choose from when selecting a Charleston hotel, so it is great to know that you were happy with your decision to stay with us! There is nothing better than knowing we have been part of our guests' memorable vacation. We can't wait to see you in the future! Thank you again for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My kids have said when we go back to Charleston this is where they want to stay. Our room was bigger than 3 bedrooms in my house!!! A den and kitchenette , big bathroom and a living room plus 2 queen beds , high ceilings with wood beams and 2 chandeliers . The beds were great and the bed linens were comfy . Tea, Lemonade and cookies in the area downstairs most of the day and wine and cheese at 5 and breakfast in the am. Just 3 streets off Market , Three minute walk. Not the best view outside because you are close to the docking station for the cruise ships but you can walk outside and have Charleston in your face so view is not an issue. Everyone so friendly and nice. Seemed to be happy to be at work so they must treat the employees as well as they treat the guests. Price beat the Best Western and I am sure the room was twice as big as BW would have been. A lucky chance encounter finding this place I would say this is a place to stay especially if looking for a romantic time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on TripAdvsior! I am absolutely delighted to hear that every aspect of your time with us and in Charleston exceeded your expectations. It is also great to know that everyone at the hotel contributed to your positive experience. It really DOES make us happy when our guests enjoy staying with us. Thanks again for the TripAdvisor Review--we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My wife and I spent the first two nights of our honeymoon here before heading off to Ireland. We live in Mount Pleasant and wanted to spend a couple of nights downtown. We did some thorough searching before deciding on the Ansonborough Inn as it offered the best value when considering location, price, and quality of the room. We booked the Palmetto Suite (one of the preium plus rooms) and loved it. The room was clean on arrival and had high ceilings with exposed wood beams and large windows overlooking East Bay Street. The bathroom was spacious and my wife loved the deep tub. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning in the room worked well. Our room had a minfridge.

I was greeted warmly at the reception desk when I checked in and the front desk was incredibly helpful during out stay - booking pedicabs and allowing our guets a parking space while we went to dinner.

It is a short walk (just a couple of blocks to the Market) and there is a Harris Teeter within a one minute walk if you forget to pack something essential (or you want to get a six pack to put in the minifridge).

The roof top area is pretty sweet - providing a unique view of Charleston.

Room Tip: The Palmettor Suite (a preium plus room) was worth the splurge - especially if you are looking to ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Congratulations on your recent nuptials!! Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! It is always extra-meaningful when someone local chooses the Ansonborough Inn. I am so happy that everything about your time with us was pleasant and that we were a great beginning to your honeymoon. We hope to see you on your first anniversary! Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at this inn in Charleston, It is on E Bay just 3 blocks north of Market Street and best of all, one block north of an Irish pub (Darcy something...too many pints to recall its name). Our first room was terrible: ground floor facing the Harris Teeter store. As another reviewer had warned, garbage truck woke us up at 5 as it emptied the dumpsters there. So small, no place to hang clothes, But after a complaint to the front desk, they quickly agreed to move us to a. better room. The next 2 nights we were on the 3rd floor in a huge room. Very nice. There were stairs for easy access and an elevator. The feature we enjoyed most was the rooftop terrace that so many have commented on. We partied there every happy hour and then at night when we returned from touring the town. One sour note was that the night manager made us leave early the last 2 nights even though we were just sitting and talking and drinking wine. No yelling or jumping or screaming. there were 2 other guests who had blankets and appeared to be trying to sleep there so maybe that was the problem. It is not a sleeping area. The breakfast was fairly basic, Hampton Inn stuff so just OK. The coffee was out several times without being replenished during the day. One more small complaint: only mass produced beers at the bar. These days it is so easy to stock local brews (there are 3 breweries in Charleston) so management should keep a few of these around for those with discerning taste in beer. Altogether though we enjoyed this inn and will return.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Charleston. It is great to know that the staff was able to accommodate you into a room that you found more acceptable to your needs and that the rest of your time with us was proved to be pleasant. I love the idea about putting local brews in the pub, yours is the first request I've had, but there is no reason we couldn't try it. Thank you for the suggestion and thanks again for the TripAdvisor Review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ansonborough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansonborough Inn

Address: 21 Hasell Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Ansonborough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansonborough Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ansonborough Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.