We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Bakeshop

Sugar Bakeshop
591/2 Cannon Street, Charleston, SC 29403
843.579.2891
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 709 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Dessert, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Takeout
Durham, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Exquisite!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My sister demanded that I go by Sugar Bakeshop & try their goodies. I surrended to the ginger molasses, chocolate chip and M&M cookies. I also bought strawberry, German chocolate, caramel and coconut cupcakes. Absolutely, incredibly EXQUISITE...all of it!!! This vintage-themed shop is bubbling with personality & a staff that is genuinely friendly! All of which further supports why Sugar Bakeshop is a must - have when in Charleston!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    25
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland Park, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great cookies and cupcakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Very inventive flavor combinations. Frostings are very rich. Try the mini-cupcakes--just the right amount. Fresh strawbery frosting--delicious. Cupcakes with fresh fruit fillings.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Cupcakes with butter cream icing mmmm!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I travel to Charleston often and every time i do i have to come get some cupcakes here. They make there very own homemade butter cream icing that is so creamy and sweet and delicious that it melts in your mouth. I always get the cupcakes and i can never eat just one. I suggest that you go if you have never been trust me you will not regret it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
692 helpful votes 692 helpful votes
“Really Glad We Visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were staying at the Indigo Inn on Meeting Street and decided to walk to the Sugar Bakeshop to try some of their cupcakes. We've been to Charleston many many times, but had never visited this particular side of downtown. The walk looked a little daunting on the map, but actually it was very nice and about a 25 minute trek walking at maximum speed.

The cupcakes were astounding! We each tried one cupcake, and then came back the next day (again walking) for more. It's a fantastic little place and fits right in the historical downtown. Will be back on our next Charleston visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Butter cream...butter yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We tried the vanilla cupcake with butter cream icing and the almond coconut chocolate cupcake. My chocolate one was a little too sweet for me, but man was the vanilla butter cream good! You could tell both of them were fresh and homemade. This is an all out second to my favorite place in Tennessee. I plan on going back on subsequent trips and trying many more cupcakes.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Bakeshop also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sugar Bakeshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Bakeshop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.