We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A year later, still good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shi Ki

Shi Ki
334 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401
8437208568
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood, Asian fusion
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A year later, still good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Returned to Charleston and the Spoleto festival again this year. We chose to return to Shi Ki as we had such a good time there last festival. We were not disappointed! It is great fun to watch your meal being prepared for you, and the fresh tuna and salmon were just a delight. Everything is freshly prepared and there are so many choices! Everything we have had here has been fresh and good. We'll be back next Spoleto festival. Thanks for a really good meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Sushi in Charleston!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We've been to Shiki several times and are never disappointed. The family that owns this is fantastic and always offers great suggestions. We highly recommend the super crunch!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Top Contributor
677 reviews 677 reviews
482 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
“Great little Sushi hidden in a small strip mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Don't let the surroundings fool you. Don't turn away at the unassuming entrance. While the place is not fancy, it is ''home grown'' true to form Japanese dining. Misa greets us at the door (hostess and owner) and while it is cozy and small, a look around one realizes that at least one if not more tables are occupied by Orientals. So you think "Hmmm, if they eat here, it must be authentic"... mind at ease... you can order. Prices are fair, we have eaten here a number of times and are never disappointed.

My wife knows Misa rather well (Misa bought her home some 6 years ago). That aside we both rank Shi Ki up there when it comes to all the sushi restaurants we have visited over the years all over the country. We usually order the Miso soup and ginger dressing salad for starters. We just have to go for the Goyza as they do a real good number on at dish and they come out piping hot (temperature). Then we dine on a couple of sushi rolls and at least a double helping of the eel. While we don't imbibe, they have a pretty expansive Sake menu (for those that care to indulge).

Will be back 4 sure. Saleeby Score is an 8/10 (make it more formal and more comfortable seating, ambiance and it would shoot up to a 9/10 for this type of casual dining).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston,SC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“BEST sushi in Charleston, without question!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

There is no restaurant in Charleston that serves amazing, fresh sushi better than Shi Ki. It is a family-run restaurant and the ambiance is not like other night club/sushi restaurants in Charleston. The restaurant is next to a Rite Aid in a shopping center on East Bay St, so I don't believe it gets a ton of foot traffic, but it is SO worth the walk from the Market area downtown. Note that it is closed on Sunday.

We always start with the amazingly fresh Beef Tataki, and our favorite rolls are Iso Maki, the Super Crunch roll, and the Red Snapper. This place doesn't have a bunch of made-up rolls like other places, and I like that they retain the authenticity. Most of all, their ingredients are incredibly fresh. We are so spoiled to have found Shi Ki years ago, and I almost never eat sushi at any any other restaurant in Charleston. Once you go to Shi Ki, you can't go back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food away from crowds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Found this place on TA as we just finished a sunset cruise and did not want to go back downtown or on the water and wait wait wait to eat (even at 9pm) which is common in Charleston always. Found this place and my husband did not want to go in as it did not look busy. I said it will be good, TA community says so! So it was very slow but the place has very good fresh food and is super clean. We only had various rolls and soup but were pleased with food and service. Location is away from the hustle of downtown but yet very close. Will return next time I am in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shi Ki also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Shi Ki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shi Ki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.