We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!!! Truly baked with love!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cupcake

Cupcake
433 King St, Charleston, SC 29403-6232
843-853-8181
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $3 - $4
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Cupcake’s locally-owned bakery churns out innovative concoctions using the finest all-natural ingredients, like real vanilla beans, sweet cream butter, fresh fruit & rich chocolate. We top them with our signature homemade icing, colorful sprinkles, Reese's, Andes candies, chocolate covered almonds, chocolate chips & more. Enjoy one of 9 daily favorites or try one of our 50 seasonal specials!
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best!!! Truly baked with love!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Whenever I go to Charleston, this is the first stop on my list. I sit down have a cupcake and bring a dozen back to the hotel. I wish I could give everyone in the world this like cake o'bliss!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, Public Relations Manager at Cupcake, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a sweet review! We are so happy to hear we are the first stop on your visit to Charleston! We look forward to serving you again and hope you have a sweet day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    63
    33
    23
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I had teh Caramel Macchiato cupcake and it was amazing. Just the right size for a treat. I recommend visiting here and try one of the delicious cupcakes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, Public Relations Manager at Cupcake, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the Caramel Macchiato Cupcake! We hope you have a sweet day and look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We live in Charleston and consider "Cupcake" to be one of the many perks of the city. I get a red velvet "mega" and half a dozen assorted for my teenager's birthday every year and the girls all RAVE. These cupcakes are the best and the staff is great.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, Public Relations Manager at Cupcake, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your sweet review! Our mega cupcakes make the best birthday cakes! We are thrilled to hear your daughter enjoyed it so much!
We hope you have a sweet day and look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Perfect Treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stopped at Cupcake on a Friday afternoon for a quick treat after a day of shopping. The bakery was cute and the staff were very friendly. We were having a hard time deciding which flavors to order so the server gave us suggesting and descriptions of what was in each treat.

The cupcakes were moist and fresh. The cake to icing ration was a little bit much but I ate every bite!

I'd return again in a heart beat to try other flavors.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, Public Relations Manager at Cupcake, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your cupcake and experience! We hope you have a sweet day and look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, az
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“It Was Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had seen Cupcake Downsouth the previous day and it sounded familiar for some reason, but they were closed for a holiday break.
Our group of five, which included two teenagers, needed a treat after a grueling day of sightseeing.
Today was our chance! I like to sample cupcakes from all over and this being our first trip to Charleston, they got the vote. So in we went.
I always ask before taking photos in any establishment, and this was no exception. I have to say that I was taken aback by the response that I got, “it’s your cupcake”, with just a hint of attitude.
HMMM.
Not, ‘sure that’d be great’, or ‘do you write for …’, nothing.
I gotta tell ya', you never know who a customer may be… and so with that being said, I found their cupcakes simply average.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin C, Public Relations Manager at Cupcake, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and visit us while in Charleston. We appreciate your feedback and will address the situation to ensure that we are able to exceed your expectations.

We hope that you enjoyed your Cupcake! We hope you have a sweet day and look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cupcake also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cupcake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cupcake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.