We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cupcake

Cupcake
433 King St, Charleston, SC 29403-6232
843-853-8181
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 29 Coffee & Tea in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $4
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Cupcake’s locally-owned bakery churns out innovative concoctions using the finest all-natural ingredients, like real vanilla beans, sweet cream butter, fresh fruit & rich chocolate. We top them with our signature homemade icing, colorful sprinkles, Reese's, Andes candies, chocolate covered almonds, chocolate chips & more. Enjoy one of 9 daily favorites or try one of our 50 seasonal specials!
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sweet Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We enjoyed a lunch dessert here at Cupcake - it is a little place with a few tables - definitely adequate to sit and enjoy a cupcake and be on your way...to walk off that delicious goodie! There are standard flavor choices and special flavors baked for each day of the week. I had the salted caramel chocolate and my husband had carrot. I like to eat my cupcakes "sandwich style" but this was hard here because the cake was so moist - a good thing! The cupcakes were fresh and tasty. I have also visited the Mt. Pleasant location and had the French Toast cupcake- very yummy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    69
    33
    23
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I love baked goods of all sorts so I usually choose to try cupcakes when I travel. These cupcakes were great! One of the best icings I ever tasted and the cake had a good flavor. These do not take the spot of my favorite cupcakes because of their size. I prefer a larger one for that price. But if you are a cake lover, you should try. The vanilla ones were my favorite.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield il
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We went to Cupcake at least 3 times while on our 5 day vacation. They have a big variety, and about half of their menu they make every day and half of the menu varies daily. The cupcakes are on the smaller side, but they are reasonably priced and I didn't feel sick after eating them like I do with the larger cupcakes at other places.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Best Treat to End a Beautiful Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The cupcakes are made fresh daily, and natural ingredients! Our personal favourite is the Almond! Oh my a taste so delightful we could hardly wait for another trip to Charleston, as this is a must stop for all visitors! Last visit there was no Almond, so w tried the daily favs, lemon was bursting with freshness and beyond delightful, carrot (a good choice) and the red velvet was the best red velvet cupcake yet. As one who cooks and bakes with natural ingredients they are a delightful treat, just be sure to take a few to go! Location is ideal as we walked a few miles that day and earned our treats~ a definite thumbs up!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Mmmmm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

If you have a sweet tooth, this place is a must. The cupcakes are a bit pricey, but worth a try. There is a decent variety everyday. I had the cookies and cream and a simona, both were delicious.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cupcake also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cupcake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cupcake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.