We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delicious treat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cupcake

Cupcake
433 King St, Charleston, SC 29403-6232
843-853-8181
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 29 Coffee & Tea in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $4
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Cupcake’s locally-owned bakery churns out innovative concoctions using the finest all-natural ingredients, like real vanilla beans, sweet cream butter, fresh fruit & rich chocolate. We top them with our signature homemade icing, colorful sprinkles, Reese's, Andes candies, chocolate covered almonds, chocolate chips & more. Enjoy one of 9 daily favorites or try one of our 50 seasonal specials!
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A delicious treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

So yummy. If you're looking for the occasional diabetic coma, this is your spot. Lots of icing, yummy cake, can't really be beat.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    69
    33
    23
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good cupcakes, but too expensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

If you like cupcakes, you'll like these. Pretty expensive compared to others I've had. I like Gigi's out of Nashville much better. I heard that's coming here, but either way, it's not that this is a bad place at all. You're just paying King Street prices.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Cupcake's frosting-rich cupcakes are *delightful* in every sense. The shelves of prettily frosted cupcakes, the baking smell that greets you when you walk in the door, and most of all the taste... SO delicious! I can't stop my eyes from closing when I take those first few bites. Even the simplest flavors like vanilla are like taking a bite of childhood. I'm now gluten-free but before I was, the carrot cupcake was one of my favorites. (When I was a child, I never thought *any* kind of carrot cake would be even close to my favorite, but the cream cheese icing paired with the moist carrot cake is not to be missed.) Now that I can't eat gluten, I really appreciate Cupcake's gluten-free Tuesdays; the vanilla with chocolate is to die for. I've seen some people spoon off a bit of the frosting, but not me; I eat every last bit of cake *and* frosting. For me it's the combination that makes it heavenly. When my sister comes into town from Omaha, Cupcake is on her priority list; someone from my family has usually gotten her some of the Cupcake gift tokens and she's already juggling them in her hand soon after I greet her.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yummy and unique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The Carmel Macchiato cupcake was to die for! It tasted exactly like a Carmel macchiato from Starbucks!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Cupcakes, Not Enough Seats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stopped in for a quick dessert while in Charleston after hearing rave reviews about Cupcake. They serve two things: cupcakes and cake pops and both are tasty and filling. I had the red velvet and my girlfriend had the chocolate. Both are very rich and the icing is packed on.

It was worth the stop, we will do it again. Just wish they had a few more seats or a bench outside so that I could enjoy my sweet treat a little more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cupcake also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cupcake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cupcake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.