We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh! Grit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pearlz Oyster Bar

Pearlz Oyster Bar
153 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2124 (Downtown)
843-577-5755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: The Original, Eclectic Little Oyster BarPearlz Oyster Bar is committed to serving only the best seafood South Carolina has to offer. Our Seafood Menu features an assorted mix of raw shellfish, local seafood, Lowcountry recipes, and regional favorites. Our raw bar offers a variety of oysters and fresh seasonal shellfish. We're also a part of the Sustainable Seafood Initiative, so eating at Pearlz is good for both the palate and the planet.A full-service bar serving the coldest beers and unique, refreshing cocktails, Pearlz has become a favorite happy hour meeting spot for both locals and visitors alike.Patrons looking for a nightcap and a bite to eat can order from our late night menu, which features several of Pearlz' signature dishes.
Mississauga
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Oh! Grit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Amazing grits. I heard shrimp and grits are traditional in this area, I tried my wife's order and loved them, then took them over. They are a little spicy which made them perfect.

It was a great experience.


Down them with a Yeungling.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Public Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We look forward to taking care of you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    268
    48
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Happy Hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Happy Hour specials are very good. Place is good for some fresh oysters and a cold beer. Had the crab fondue app was very good. Calamari and shrimp apps were very skimpy

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Public Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for writing a review, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to taking care of you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We got her just after happy hour started and found a spot at the bar in front of the person shucking the oysters a good thing as all the help had to pass by our drinks (1/2 price) came quickly >we had the fried oysters they were Super. Great place very friendly

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Public Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for writing a review! We look forward to taking care of you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misssiu@aol.com
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

If you are in Charleston you must try Pearlz restaurant! The food was simply delicious and a great value. The restaurant is a on the small side and you probaby will have to wait to be seated but it's worth it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Public Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We look forward to taking care of you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Awesome oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stopped for a few beers and oysters and peel and eat shrimp and the place was packed. Ended up ordering a fish sandwich that was exceptional too. Great service, fun people and the freshest seafood in Charleston!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Public Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for writing a review! We look forward to your next visit to Pearlz!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearlz Oyster Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Pearlz Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearlz Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.