We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pearlz Oyster Bar

Pearlz Oyster Bar
153 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2124 (Downtown)
843-577-5755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: The Original, Eclectic Little Oyster BarPearlz Oyster Bar is committed to serving only the best seafood South Carolina has to offer. Our Seafood Menu features an assorted mix of raw shellfish, local seafood, Lowcountry recipes, and regional favorites. Our raw bar offers a variety of oysters and fresh seasonal shellfish. We're also a part of the Sustainable Seafood Initiative, so eating at Pearlz is good for both the palate and the planet.A full-service bar serving the coldest beers and unique, refreshing cocktails, Pearlz has become a favorite happy hour meeting spot for both locals and visitors alike.Patrons looking for a nightcap and a bite to eat can order from our late night menu, which features several of Pearlz' signature dishes.
Perry, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a great place to have drinks and appetizers. We go her with 4 or 5 couples. Although I do not eat oysters, the others in our party feel they are exceptional here. And the fish tacos are a must.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    268
    48
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Vibrant Scene During Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went to Pearlz during happy hour. Fortunately, we arrived at the very beginning and were able to get a booth. it wasn't long before there was a wait for seats at the bar.

The oysters were fresh. The shuckers could hardly keep up with the demand. There were some pieces of shell in the oysters.

The house wines were too sweet for our taste. However, the wines are aligned with the tastes of the younger clientele.

The homemade chips were delicious. Cooked perfectly and well-seasoned.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Solid Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stopped by with my family of five around 6 PM and faced a 30 minute wait. We walked a few doors down to the brew-pub for libations and Pearlz texted us when the table was ready. The restaurant is extremely energetic, so don't expect to hold deep meaningful conversations. Our server seemed just a bit irritated to have to deal with kids, but she was otherwise accommodating. The real star of the show is the food. I had an oyster sampler appetizer that was top notch. The main dishes--from fish n' chips, to po' boy sandwich, to the fish tacos, to the mac n' cheese for my youngest--were all perfect. The prices were reasonable and the drinks refreshing. We will definitely come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
“Hospitality at Pearlz”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

On Sunday, 09/01/2013, my husband and I were looking for a nice place to eat, before we attended the Jazz Festival at North Charleston Coliseum Performing Arts. We ran across this site and read several reviews pertaining to Pearlz. We were pleased with the reviews and the many replies from the manager so we decided that we would eat there. We went to the one in West Ashley. We were extremely disappointed. We were totally ignored when we walked in the restaurant. There was one waitress serving customers, who refuse to acknowledge that were standing waiting to be acknowledge, a person came from the back (assume kitchen) that just look our way, but said nothing. We stood waiting for about 3 minutes and then walked out. The place did not have a crowd, there were no one else waiting to be seated, there were various choice of seating. I don't know if our kind was not welcome there, maybe it was the blue dress I wore, maybe I was too short or my husband was too tall for the place. I don't know. What I do know is that we will never attempt to eat at another Pearlz Restaurant or its affiliates. And would suggest to others to do the same.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for visiting us at Pearlz Oyster Bar and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience. We were pleased to hear that you decided to visit us following the jazz festival and it was great to hear that you came across a few positive reviews of our restaurant that helped make your decision easier. It was very unfortunate, however, to hear your comments on the lack of hospitality we displayed upon your arrival. We should always be attentive to the needs of our guests and we should always be aware when guests enter our restaurant. There is no excuse for this lack of hospitality and we will be addressing your comments with our entire staff. We appreciate the opportunity you have given us to correct this and we hope that you will be willing to give us another chance to serve you. Your recent experience is by no means a representation of the standards that we hold ourselves to. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great laid back atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for good food with a fun atmosphere. Pearlz delivered. It was great to be in a young scene with high energy, good food ( the swordfish gyro was amazing) and good service. The oysters looked amazing and so did their seafood platters. We would go back to try more of the yummy food we saw others order! The price was also very good. You won't break the bank here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearlz Oyster Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Pearlz Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearlz Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.