We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been going here for years!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pearlz Oyster Bar

Pearlz Oyster Bar
153 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
+1 843-577-5755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 778 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: The Original, Eclectic Little Oyster BarPearlz Oyster Bar is committed to serving only the best seafood South Carolina has to offer. Our Seafood Menu features an assorted mix of raw shellfish, local seafood, Lowcountry recipes, and regional favorites. Our raw bar offers a variety of oysters and fresh seasonal shellfish. We're also a part of the Sustainable Seafood Initiative, so eating at Pearlz is good for both the palate and the planet.A full-service bar serving the coldest beers and unique, refreshing cocktails, Pearlz has become a favorite happy hour meeting spot for both locals and visitors alike.Patrons looking for a nightcap and a bite to eat can order from our late night menu, which features several of Pearlz' signature dishes.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Been going here for years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The oysters are great and so are the other appetizers. I usually go with friends and order a lot of smaller dishes. And they are always good and the service is very friendly.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for always being a loyal customer at Pearlz! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    314
    56
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey Bay
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Food, Drink and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed this to the point that we visited several times during our recent visit to Charleston. A great selection of oysters, that were fresh and delicious, either raw or Southern Fried. I had the low country shrimp and grits, which had a nice sauce on the grits. This was very good, and I am, in general, not a grits fan.
And don’t forget to try their craft beers, my favorite was the Red Ale....

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for joining us at Pearlz! We are happy to hear you could come back a few more times on your visit to Charleston. Hope you can make it back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Ending”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

What was one the most fun evenings in our 33 years of marriage, we ended our evening with a great round of oysters at Pearl. We hired a bike taxi to take us to different types if restaurants. We ended up at Pearlz for a cold beer and oysters. What a great place. The oysters were outstanding and the staff was terrific.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing to end your night with us at Pearlz! We are happy to hear you all had a great time. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Although we don't like oysters, the seafood menu here is diverse and we thoroughly enjoyed the meal. The fried shrimp were among the very best. The mahi mahi was excellent. Sides were tasty. We sat outside which added to the delightful meal. After the meal we walked in the restaurant and it was quite noisy so was again glad we had the opportunity to be outside. Service was timely and very friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank your for visiting us at Pearlz! We are glad you enjoyed your meal, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Oysters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I loved my oysters on the half-shell and yummy corn fritters. My husband enjoyed his swordfish gyro and delicious homemade BBQ chips. Can't wait to have the opportunity to visit again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks for visiting us at Pearlz! We can't wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearlz Oyster Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Pearlz Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearlz Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.