We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pearlz Oyster Bar

Pearlz Oyster Bar
153 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
+1 843-577-5755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 709 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: The Original, Eclectic Little Oyster BarPearlz Oyster Bar is committed to serving only the best seafood South Carolina has to offer. Our Seafood Menu features an assorted mix of raw shellfish, local seafood, Lowcountry recipes, and regional favorites. Our raw bar offers a variety of oysters and fresh seasonal shellfish. We're also a part of the Sustainable Seafood Initiative, so eating at Pearlz is good for both the palate and the planet.A full-service bar serving the coldest beers and unique, refreshing cocktails, Pearlz has become a favorite happy hour meeting spot for both locals and visitors alike.Patrons looking for a nightcap and a bite to eat can order from our late night menu, which features several of Pearlz' signature dishes.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great staff and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Gone to Pearlz a couple times and sat at the bar with friends. The service was great, staff was friendly, and the oysters were oh oh so good. Really recommend this for some very good sea food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting Pearlz on East Bay. We hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    712
    315
    56
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great happy hour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Terrific happy hour stop at Pearlz off of Savannah Hwy. Great price on drinks and some of the best oysters EVER!!! So fresh and very very good! Great service as well, loved it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Pearlz in West Ashley. We are so glad you were able to enjoy Happy Hour with us. We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“My Kind of Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a great place to eat in Charleston. The food is great, the atmosphere is perfect for me, and I still miss the taste of the food. This is not a quiet, white tablecloth restaurant. It is fairly small and with the hardwood it is very loud. But, that's why I really like it.
Do not leave without taking the oyster shot. Seriously.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting Pearlz on East Bay. We are so glad to hear that it is your kind of place and that you enjoy the whole atmosphere plus the food. We can't wait to have you back to visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place for oysters, music, and drinks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I've been to Pearlz several times in the last few years and just visited last weekend. I am pleased to say that the place is consistently good. The oysters are excellent and they have a variety of other seafood available. The littleneck clams are terrific and I don't think I've had calamari like they make it here--delicious. Service is great and it is a fun place to meet friends. The raw bar is near the front so you can people watch or watch the shuck masters create a variety of delights. They make one hell of a tasty oyster shooter. It does get loud in there as with many other Charleston hangouts this popular. They have music during happy hour on some days so try getting there early.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting Pearlz on East Bay. We are so glad that you continue to visit us and always have a great experience. We look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“best happy hour value and atmosphere in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is the only place that I have found while visiting Charleston (via Columbia) that they remember my name. My buddy behind the oyster bar Nate has been there for many years and always remembers my preferences in oysters! Time after time. Thanks Buddy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for continuing to visit the Pearlz in Downtown Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearlz Oyster Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Pearlz Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearlz Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.