We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Best Restaurant in Charleston!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pearlz Oyster Bar

Pearlz Oyster Bar
153 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2124 (Downtown)
843-577-5755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: The Original, Eclectic Little Oyster BarPearlz Oyster Bar is committed to serving only the best seafood South Carolina has to offer. Our Seafood Menu features an assorted mix of raw shellfish, local seafood, Lowcountry recipes, and regional favorites. Our raw bar offers a variety of oysters and fresh seasonal shellfish. We're also a part of the Sustainable Seafood Initiative, so eating at Pearlz is good for both the palate and the planet.A full-service bar serving the coldest beers and unique, refreshing cocktails, Pearlz has become a favorite happy hour meeting spot for both locals and visitors alike.Patrons looking for a nightcap and a bite to eat can order from our late night menu, which features several of Pearlz' signature dishes.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Absolute Best Restaurant in Charleston!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This restaurant is always the same... Excellent!! The staff is friendly, efficient, and always make you feel welcome. The food is top quality from the preparation to the presentation. We look forward to dining at Pearlz every time we're in Charlotte as we're never disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    264
    47
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Top of the Line Oyster Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

If you love oysters this is the place in town to go. You can get local oysters for a fair price and imports from other regions for a premium. The red rice is just fantastic and not to be missed. Ditto for the poached pear dessert.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting Pearlz Oyster Bar in Downtown Charleston. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the oysters as well as the dessert. We hope you travel back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good spot for steamed oysters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Good vibe- liked the community tables- Had a good time shucking our own oysters. Would not recommend this spot for families with small kids, but would for groups wanting a few drinks and some oysters

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere and shucking your oysters while visiting Pearlz on East Bay. We hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fun Place for Oysters and Cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I wanted to experience a few different restaurants while in Charleston so we had appetizers and cocktails at a couple different places. Because we love oysters, we had to try Pearlz and we weren't disappointed. We had a couple dozen fresh oysters and cocktails. The bar staff was busy but attentive and friendly. This is a casual place to sit at the bar and enjoy some good seafood.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for stopping by to enjoy some oysters and cocktails. We hope to have you back again the next time you are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“seafood and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

great bar atmosphere, fabulous food, and attentive service. try the red rice with any of the seafoods.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearlz Oyster Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Pearlz Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearlz Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.