We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Dude? Get a Clue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kudu Coffee & Craft Beer

Kudu Coffee & Craft Beer
4 Vanderhorst Street, Charleston, SC 29403 (Formerly Kudu Coffee House)
843-853-7186
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 29 Coffee & Tea in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Bar, Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Kasilof, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really Dude? Get a Clue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Alaskans take their coffee drinks seriously ! IDK about you but I expected The guy at the register up at least know how many shots are in the lattes! He stated 2 in all sizes / I said Really???? Then he backpedalled and asked to find out 2 - 3 - 4 depending on size ! Parking was ridiculous - the WiFi was not working so after paying for parking I'm stuck looking stuff up on my phone - upside they can make an almond milk latte without burning it the courtyard is nice quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    36
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
falmouth, maine
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“funky and fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

we went twice. It was on our list from the get-go. Near College of Charleston. The usual funky clientele engrossed in their iPads, Mac's, or a group of students listening to a professor pontificate on something...
Coffee was very good. We went back 2 days later for craft beers. Very good but small selection. Good selection of food out of a deli case. worth a visit, worth a return visit.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Coffee, Friendly Staff, Cool Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I have had coffee all over the country, and I have to say that this place ranks towards the top. Their espresso is excellent. The menu is varied. And the prices are normal coffee-shop prices. But the atmosphere was incredible. We went on a perfect 75 degree day in February, and the doors were open allowing the amazing weather inside. Their outdoor seating is perfect, a lovely courtyard with lots of tables. And the staff was so nice to us; they genuinely welcomed us to Charleston.
If you love coffee and are in Charleston, you must go here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Local Coffee Shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My sisters and I stop at Kudu for an afternoon drink while we were visiting Charleston recently. The atmosphere was relaxing, and there were quite a few people there in the afternoon. There was a constant stream of guests in and out. The hot chai was delicious. One of my sisters tried the "dirty chai" with espresso, and thought it was interesting, but warned that it would only be for those who love espresso or strong coffee. Normal chai drinkers would likely have trouble finishing it. They have indoor and outdoor seating with a cute patio. We would definitely go back when we visit Charleston again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cool coffee place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great coffee in a great location in Charleston. The courtyard seating was perfect on a good day. Coffee was prepared with care. Beats SBUX any day..

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kudu Coffee & Craft Beer also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Kudu Coffee & Craft Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kudu Coffee & Craft Beer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.