We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gennaro's Is A 5 Star Italian Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gennaro's Italian Ristorante

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gennaro's Italian Ristorante
8500 Dorchester Rd, Charleston, SC 29420-7301
(843) 760-9875
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gennaro's Italian Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #260 of 742 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Masonville, CO
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Gennaro's Is A 5 Star Italian Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I went with friends to Gennaro's for dinner last week and it couldn't have been better. You know the minute you walk in as the wonderful fragrance of their homemade sauce wafts through the air. Fresh baked crusty Italian bread is served right away with garlic infused olive oil for dipping, a serious clue of authenticity right out of the gate. My friends had pasta and lasagne, which I also tasted - outstanding and well above what most restaurants serve up. I had something I've never seen on any menu - whole grain Pasta Primavera with fresh vegetables lightly sauteed in olive oll and garlic. It was fabulous!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    29
    10
    2
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“REAL & EXCELLENT ITALIAN FOOD.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have eaten at restaurants all over the world. This restaurant is authentic italian food. The prices are good and they give you so much food you have trouble finishing it all. Try their veal parmegian and have a cannoli for dessert. Have eaten here many, many times!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“For an authentic Italian meal, look no further!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Gennaro's isn't much to look at from the outside, but don't let that steer you away. If you're looking for an authentic Italian meal with a great atmosphere, this is your place. The service is always wonderful, and the food is always excellent (and the portions are HUGE -- no one goes away hungry!). One of my favorite dishes is the veal Parmesan.

Don't miss live Jazz on Thursday nights -- one of the owners is part of the group!

I have been to Gennaro's on "dates" as well as with family and friends, and I have had an enjoyable experience each time. Highly, highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My wife and family have enjoyed this family owned restaurant since 1990's. Start off with the Bam Bam shrimp and then dive into the Special Tuna piccata or the menu item Chicken Bolognese. If you have room for dessert enjoy the turamisu. My wife and I normally split the items ordered since they are so tasty. Make reservations!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great little secret in North Charleston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Have been going there for years and almost always great food. Lately it has had a little too much salt do my taste, but still worthy of a visit. Personal favorites are Bam-Bam shrimp, and Chicken Bolognese. The wife loves anything they make "Diablo" style and they have some of the best pizza around. Give it a try if you like authentic Italian versus that stuff from the Olive Garden.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gennaro's Italian Ristorante also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Gennaro's Italian Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gennaro's Italian Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.