We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cannonboro Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cannonboro Inn
Save Saved
You added Cannonboro Inn to your Saves list
184 Ashley Ave., Charleston, SC 29403   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This b&b was outstanding with fantastic food and service.free loan bikes to explore. It is a 10/20 min walk downtown.The b&b is full of character. The breakfast was very very good & the afternoon wine perfect before heading out for dinner.would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    49
    17
    9
    8
See reviews for
26
137
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

There was a group of 11 that stayed 2 nights. Inn was wonderful, the staff was very accommodating, but we never saw the same person twice, which was a little disconcerting. I felt the food was just alright, nothing special. Close to other restaurants which was nice, but we had to drive to be downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in April with a group of 11 total. My sister and I were in room 6 on the first floor with a private bath and it was very nice! The room was very quiet at night, the bed was comfortable and I would recommend it. Our group enjoyed the common sitting area and the afternoon wine, tea and snacks. (The cherry chocolate fudge was great!) Breakfasts were delicious! We really appreciated the staff who were helpful in making recommendations for nearby restaurants and trying to help us with taxis. The B&B is just outside the main historical area but it was easy to get there by car. Our only complaint would be the parking area which was a bit tight for the two minivans that we had for our group but we were able to manage. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose a room that is away from the street with a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We recently stayed at the Cannonboro Inn in April. The best parts of our stay: Nice downstairs living area, dining area and outdoor porch deck and small garden area; Great breakfasts, especially Susan's rum and sugar french toast; Nice evening wine, cheese and nuts "tea"; Barry, the owner, is outstanding - a great personality and his knowledge about Charleston and its environs is exceptional! The room we had was a little difficult - it was the smallest room located on the third floor, a walk up smaller than we were used to. Bathroom is outside the unit with a toilet and shower only, which is okay, but without its own wash basin - the hand sink is in your room - so after using the bathroom you need to open door to go to your room to wash your hands. On that floor, a larger room directly across from ours contained the cooling and heating thermostat for the entire floor - and because of their larger room size, the tenants there needed it to be warmer - which meant that with their setting, our room became quite warm. We needed a portable fan to keep reasonably comfortable, which was not available until the second night. Remember, heat rises, and this was only in April, not July or August! Also, at the time of our stay the cable TV did not work and needs to be replaced. The first night, no cable, the second night, we received only one channel. TV is not a big requirement for us, but beware in your choice of rooms. Room cost was okay relative to the other rooms in town at that time. It does take approximately 20 -30 minutes to walk from the inn to the best of the older downtown district. But there is a free trolley near by, if you can figure out the connections and wait period.

Room Tip: If you stay here, try for one of the larger rooms on the second floor with its own temperature contr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Cannonboro is a nice b&b but it is by no means exceptional (except for breakfast which is quite delicious). We booked here for the Bridge Run weekend (one of the busiest weekends of the year in Charleston) so prices were sky high, which is a shame because I think this would've been much more of a value had we not paid above $200 for the room. We chose Room 1, which I would not recommend. It is at the front of the house on the first floor so you can hear passers by and they can definitely see you if you leave the blinds open. The street outside- Ashley- is relatively quiet, but not quiet enough to prevent cars passing every hour of the night. Also, the blinds/curtains don't cover 2 side windows completely so the room is not dark- a huge bummer for my sleep patterns. Other than the specific room choice, the inn had fewer public spaces than I would prefer. No open porches or places to casually congregate and though the service is awesome (the lightbulbs died in our room and were completely changed in 30 minutes) I'm not sure it justifies the price. Also, the beds themselves were not remarkably comfortable. Could've used some mattress foam covers and new pillows. The inn is about a 15-20 minutes walk from downtown (which I totally wouldnt mind if it meant saving money)so I definitely think it wasn't worth what we paid. A friend stayed at the Ashley (the sister inn) down the street and it seemed a lot more open and friendlier. Maybe will check that out next visit depending on price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in late March. The public rooms are lovely. We stayed in a bedroom with a private bathroom outside of our room. That was not the best, but they provide bathrobes and it worked out ok. The staff were friendly and helpful. We used the free bikes on 2 days. That was great. It is a bit of a long walk to downtown but we did walk to and from dinner each evening. Parking in Charleston is challenging.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

It is difficult to judge a B&B with a series of pictures, but we when arrived and settled in we were definitely impressed. The breakfasts were delicious and the wait staff were polite and friendly. The afternoon wine, crackers and snacks were a perfect way to relax and chat with the other guests. The owner, Barry, was a wealth of knowledge and gave us great places to visit or fine eateries to dine. This is one B&B worth multiple visits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cannonboro Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannonboro Inn

Address: 184 Ashley Ave., Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorgeous historic inn (c. 1853) Located in the residential historic area of the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cannonboro Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cannonboro Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.