We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cabell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cabell House
8 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Charlestowne)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 44 Charleston B&B and Inns
usa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This B&B is only about 100 yards from the Battery sea front and the most popular parts of the Historic District are within walking distance. The owner was very helpful and even let our daughter, who lives in Charleston, have breakfast for free one day. The breakfasts were excellent and the staff were very helpful. Be aware that this is an historic house -- if you are looking for modern air conditioning, elevators, huge parking lots, etc you need somewhere else. (Complaining that you have to park `in the dirt' is absurd -- parking is in a fairly narrow driveway.) There is an informal gathering with wine in late afternoon, which is a good way to meet other guests. We never saw any signs asking for donations. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    12
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
19
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a simply beautiful house in the most excellent location of Historic Charleston. Randy was wonderful and made us feel at home from the time we arrived to when we left. Take the time to talk to her and she will give you great tips on where to go (dinner at McCrady's was awesome!). This is the house she grew up in so it feels special and warm. Rachel did a wonderful job with our breakfast of eggs, bacon, grits, fresh berries and endless supply of coffee.We had to leave very very early the last day so didn't make it to breakfast, so the Keurig coffeemaker in the room was wonderful!
My husband left his phone on Randy's desk as we were in a hurry to meet our dinner reservation and who showed up at the restaurant with phone in hand? Randy! A most gracious hostess and sweet person. Thank you for making Charlie's 50th birthday celebration a success!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Reference the review given by "loumaryland", which we totally agree with! In addition, we'd like to comment on the "off street parking", which is off street, but also off the paved driveway, and in the dirt. You'd better hope that it's not raining! We echo all of the comments about the 3rd floor room! We actually had to ask Randy to move some of her personal clothing out of the closet in the adjoining room, so that we could have a place to hang our clothes! We have never stayed anywhere that had no closet space--or that had someone else's clothes, accessories, and a large shoe rack, filled with shoes, in the room that we were renting! The staircase to get to the 3rd floor was very narrow and winding. We do not believe there were any smoke detectors or emergency lights in the 3rd floor room or hallway, making it a very poor place to be in an emergency! Breakfast was disorganized, slow , and not worth the wait. We have never seen a "donations accepted box" for wine in any place where we have stayed before! Tacky! This was such a bad experience that we feel it will be a long time before we stay at any bed and breakfast again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed at many B&B's in the past, we have a lot of experiences as comparisons. Cabell House didn't quite meet our expectations.

We recently spent 4 nights in the "3rd floor walk-up". This area had just been converted to accommodate guests, but we felt it was not quite "ready for prime time"! Our first impression was the 3rd floor landing area, which was cluttered with the owner's personal belongings, and was still showing signs of renovation. As Randy, the owner, was taking us into the room she apologized for the debris on the floor. Unfortunately it remained on the floor our entire stay. Randy also made us aware that the room was not yet able to be locked, which made us feel somewhat uncomfortable, as we were out of our room most of each day. The bed was a Murphy style bed....not the most comfortable. There was an adjoining room with our accommodations, that contained the only closet for us to use. Unfortunately, that space also contained some of the owners clothes. Elsewhere in that room were more of her personal belongings. Other than a small make-up mirror in the bathroom, the only other mirror was in this adjoining room.

Although making the bed and changing the towels were done daily, we thought the rest of the housekeeping left a lot to be desired. We found an un-emptied garbage can under the sink, left from prior occupants. While not unattractive, we were surprised that the decor of our room was very modern, and not consistent with the rest of the house's period furnishings. A nice feature, though, was the kitchenette in the room.

Additionally the breakfasts did not meet our expectations. Other than a switch from bacon to sausage there was no variety from the eggs and grits served everyday. However, the fresh fruit with yogurt and granola was delicious, and the servers were very friendly.

Wine, both red and white, was always available, but we thought the "donations accepted box" was pretty tacky.

On the positive side, the house was in a great location, with a welcoming outside porch that we used a few times. We also enjoyed talking with Randy when she was there, about things to do and see.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Wonderful people and a great location within walking distance of all the major attractions of old Charleston. Our Flat-screen TV was quite tiney but served the pourpose with an above average selection of channels. An afternoon glass of wine on the wrap around porch was a genuine treat.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Searched B&B/hotel in old Charleston and were extremely lucky to stumble upon Cabell House - the most beautiful setting in old Charleston, extremely friendly and knowlegedable staff, great breakfast on the open porch, oldfashioned and cosy decor, beautiful room.
Only negative part was the loud child next door, but you meet them everywhere....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Visited The Cabell House for a short vacation. The house is nice. Yard
needs landscaping. Back yard area needs some TLC.

We stayed in the Randolph Room, which was a huge disappointment. This
room is tiny to say the least in comparison with all the other rooms.
It really should be priced much less. There is a small window unit AC
which keeps the room freezing if you are not careful with the
temperature setting. There is a closet which you can put your
belongings. This room does not have an in-the-room bathroom. Instead,
you have to walk out of your room and it is in the hall to the right.
It was a hassle to have to leave your room to go use the bathroom and
it was noisy for other guests in the middle of the night as the walls
are thin. There is a divider, which keeps the bathroom semi-private,
but this divider is very flimsy and a hassle to have to walk through
to get in and out of your room. I was afraid several times it would
fall. It was very difficult to maneuver my luggage around this
divider. It also sits caddie corner to another room, which if the
people in that room are not careful they could easily bump into this
divider. Building a wall would be a much better option. But, I
understand that the house is old and bathrooms were not included in
the original plans and most rooms have the bathroom added. But I wish
the owner would have disclosed to us that this is what we were being
booked for. We surly would have asked for a different room. Also,
there was a chair blocking us from using the top porch that was just
outside our room. The bed needs new pillows. The current ones are
terrible. There is a Keurig machine in the room, which is nice to have
coffee and tea whenever. It would have been nice to be able to sip my
coffee on the porch.

Top porch wasn't available as owner said because it was not prime
season, it wasn't ready. I expect that if I am paying to stay
somewhere all available amenities should be available, especially if
my room has the option to go outdoors to the porch. Downstairs porch
was open and nice. I do wish there were more tables for eating
breakfast outside.

I am glad breakfast was included, as it is with most BandB's, but
usually there is some variety day to day. One day the owner prepared
the meals, which were fruit, yogurt and granola then grits, eggs and
bacon. The second day the house help prepared the breakfast, and it
was much better. I did expect something nicer than a buffet style hot
breakfast, such as a quiche served at other places. But, reading other
reviews this seems to be an upgrade to what used to be offered. Either
way, it was satisfying.

There were way over ripe peaches available to eat. We were offered
water on several occasions. We were never offered wine or cheese, but
if we wanted wine we could take a glass but were encouraged to leave a
donation. We were to help ourselves to food/beverages in the
refrigerator. The fridge smelled bad and could have used a cleaning
out.

The location was very nice, close to the battery and about a 10-15
minute walk to other places nearby. The house is tucked into a
residential area so there are no a lot of tourists or noise. Parking
is also free, which is a bonus.

The owner was nice and informative and helpful.

I don't know if we would visit here again, as I feel there are nicer
BandB's around with better accommodations for the same value. If this
was our only option, we would not have an issue staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cabell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabell House

Also Known As:
The Cabell House Hotel Charleston
The Cabell House Hotel
Address: 8 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cabell House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Cabell House to your Saves list