We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than your money's worth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1540 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-7845   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #29 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“More than your money's worth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night at this hotel. We unexpectedly needed a room at a very busy time of year (Easter, Spring Break, Family Circle Cup). We were very pleased that the reviews of the Best Western turned out to be accurate. I often opt for a higher end hotel because I don't want to risk a sleepless night on an uncomfortable mattress. The beds were comfy, room was clean, breakfast average with better than average coffee. We didn't need assistance from the staff, but check- in was quick and breakfast was well supplied. Great to have a frig and microwave in the room. Location is convenient to mall, restaurants, downtown, and 526. Considering the low availabilty of rooms at this time of year...we felt we got a good deal. The hotel was extremely quiet at night, but many people were up at 6 and noisy!! Like the Ford 250 diesel idling outside our room for more than 20 minutes while fellow workers conversed and called to one another. We were up...but if I had wanted to sleep, this review would probably look different.

Room Tip: Worht your while to mention it if you are hoping to sleep late
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear jcwtraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We really appreciate the opportunity to receive such honest feedback from our guests.

I am sorry you were disturbed by the idling truck and its owners. We try to minimize these types of incidents but sometimes people are just not considerate. I was happy to read that for the most part you enjoyed your visit with us despite this annoyance.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review. I hope you will visit with us during your next trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    168
    57
    31
    25
See reviews for
160
201
31
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here March 22 - 24, 2013. What was meant to be a pleasant ladies weekend away, turned into a damp flash-flood warning weekend, but the hotel and staff were a pleasant part.

The pool is beautiful and large, the Azaleas and landscaping on the property are beautiful. Continental breakfast was plentiful and included (to name a few) fresh fruit, cereals, coffee, tea, oatmeal, muffins and pastries, and hot fresh waffles.

The front desk staff was always pleasant, polite, and went out of their way to offer suggestions, etcetera. I WAS surprised at one point to hear the front desk clerk tell a lady there wasn't much going on in town this weekend that she knew of. There was the International Antique show, the Festival of Houses and Gardens that allows visitors a rare glimpse into private homes and gardens, that I knew of. Management should make an effort to keep staff informed and a little more excited about their beautiful city, so people don't miss all Charleston has to offer.

Room Tip: No actual restaurant, just continental breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Lisa S.,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of our property. We really appreciate the feedback we get on forums such as this.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Normally our clerks are very good at providing details of what's happening in Charleston. Based upon your comments we are now providing them with a weekly document so they can properly inform our guests. Thank you very much for your suggestion.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your experience. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

You couldn't ask for a more helpful and polite desk person than Ja'na. Her smile and pleasantness was such a comfort after a long drive. Didn't make me feel stupid for forgetting my toothbrush. We would stay there again because we had such a positive experience there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Pat K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at our property. We appreciate the feedback very much.

I was so happy to read that Ja'na was able to take such good care of you during your visit. We consider all of our associates gems; Ja'na is truly a diamond amongst those gems.

Again, thank you for your comments. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

,its FANTASTIC ,when you look out from your window its like looking at the Caribbean with trees bushes ,flowers ,the place is so clean and well kept, ladies on front desk are very nice with a welcoming( and ask me anything ) attitude,pool is the deepest I've ever seen in a hotel and very clean, they only had one computer terminel BUT they have a BIG(not sure how to explain it ) screen travel computer about 6 people at a time can see what is going on in Charleston for shows ,weather ,almost anything.Every thing about this hotel is fabulous .Down town go to BUBBA GUMPS restaurant its a fun place and reasonably priced also went to MERCERY PUB good food but its a sports bar( so of course noisy),we also went to a 50s show it was VERY GOOD . Because of all these good things i really enjoyed my stay in Charleston.Ill be back

Room Tip: i think all rooms here would be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Freda C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property. We really appreciate the feedback.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed you visit with us. Thank you so much for noticing our landscaping; our maintenance team works hard to keep it looing its best.

Again, thank you for your comments. We hope to see you the next time you visit Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed here a few weeks ago and it was a nice stay. My room was clean. It appears the room was recently upgraded and the furniture seemed outdated but I don’t think that really is a big deal. The location was pretty good as well. It was just a short drive to downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Suz14,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We always appreciate feedback from our guests.

I am sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your visit. We did recently upgrade the rooms; the furniture package is on our list of future projects.

Again, thank you for your comments. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend and the service was super!!!! I have never been to a hotel where the entire staff went above and beyond to ensure our comfort. One woman in particular Ms. Sheryl Chavis was the best. She was attentive very polite and made sure we knew everything we needed to know, she even suggested some places we should visit while we were in the city. While everyone was great Ms. Chavis seemed genuine. She deserves a raise lol!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Private P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our property. We really do appreciate the feedback.

It is always a pleasure to read that our associates have made a positive impact upon someone's experience. It is especially rewarding when a guest takes the time to recognize that associate by name. I am sure Sheryl will be very happy to see that she had such a positive effect upon your visit.

Again, thank you for your comments. We hope to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn

Address: 1540 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-7845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Charleston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.