We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1540 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-7845   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #27 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed a whole week. The staff were all very friendly and cheerful. The Mon-Fri breakfast lady is just wonderful, attentive, friendly and very helpful. The room was comfortable, quiet and clean although also very dark. The window did not let in much light. The situation was ideal for local travel. Everywhere was in easy reach.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Graham,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We really do appreciate the feedback.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. We strive to insure that every guests enjoys their visit with us as well as their time in Charleston. I have discussed your comments about the room being a little dark with our operations staff. We are looking into increasing the wattage of the bulbs used.

Thanks again for the feedback. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    181
    60
    33
    25
See reviews for
176
205
31
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stay at this hotel 3-4 times per year. I am from Charleston and we visit my parents often. The people at this hotel are great! From the front desk employees to wonderful Linda in the breakfast room, they are all so nice and friendly. They make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Darlene,

Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We really appreciate the feedback.

We share these reviews with our staff and I can tell you Linda was very excited that her name was mentioned. Thank you so much for recognizing her efforts.

Again, thanks for the comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Couldn't be more pleased with our most recent stay at the Sweetgrass; as much as we always, always relish getting back to Charleston, it's more affordable when we can book a room at the Sweetgrass. Well, big Shout-Out to Monique!

Room Tip: upstairs is quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear DMin,

Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We really appreciate that you took the time to review our property.

We are so happy that you enoyed your visit with us. We hope you'll stay again.

P.S. Monique says Hi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillus, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Ieesha at the front desk was wonderful, friendly, helpful and pleasant to deal with. Tonya, our room service attendant was efficient and friendly as well. Our pleasant experience stopped dead in it's tracts when we had to encounter the General Manager, Mr. Bill. He was rude and condensending, he repremanded hotel staff in front of us. He insinuated that we were not welcome because we had a specialty rate. He refused to allow us to extend our stay because he said that he only allowed two rooms per night at that rate. So we checked out and went to another hotel that was happy to accept our discounted rate.

All rooms are exterior access rooms, so you heard every door slam, every vehicle start up, maids carts rolling down the sidewalk. . . if you want to sleep ask for top floor in the back of the property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
I'd like to thank this guest for taking the time to share their opinion. We really do appreciate the feedback.

I was happy to read that Ieesha and Tonya were able to provide such wonderful service. As for their interaction with me, I cannot recall any recent interaction when a guest requested me to extend a "specialty rate".

In any event, thank you for the feedback. We really do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here over Thanksgiving and when I recently returned to Charleston I knew where I wanted to stay. Very conveniently located. Great value. Very clean. TERRIFIC STAFF !!!

I'm terrible with names, but the front counter staff ( Ieesha, 1st visit, Jana, 2nd visit, were fabulous !!! )

My new home away from home!

Everything was as good as it can get

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Bkingjay,

Thank you so much for posting such a wonderful review. We really do appreciate the feedback.

As we share these reviews with our staff, I am sure they will be excited to read them as I was. We are happy to be your new home away from home.

Thanks again for the review. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed 2 nights with another couple to visit our daughter & go on a Carnival cruise. Very nice place to stay. Excellent value, inexpensive. Clean, quite. Everything we could ask for. Very comfortable beds. Nice HD TV, however it appeared the TV service was not in HD????

Room Tip: Lower level rooms are nice for not having to carry luggage very far. You can park right in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Dave M,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. I hope you enjoyed your cruise as well.

We do not currently have an HD signal in our guest rooms, however, we are working with our local cable provider to make that happen in 2013.

Thanks so much for staying with us and for taking the time to post your comments. We hope we get to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn

Address: 1540 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-7845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.